We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly The Monaco but its sister hotel next door. The Midland”
Review of The Monaco

The Monaco
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Monaco
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Midland is an ok Hotel .Plenty of hot water, maids in each day. But what lets this hotel down is the food. Dinner is served at 6pm . If you are later you will not be served even if you have paid for the meal within your holiday package as a group of walkers realised when they turn't up ten minutes late and were told the Dinner was set at 6pm. There is a menu but not all meals on the menu are served. Food is on smaller plates. One dinne for was for Breast of chicken with veg . What actually arrived was half Jacket potato, one head of broccoli and a tablespoon of peas. The chicken was three pieces chopped and no bigger than my little finger. The menu states full English breakfast . One sausage, one small piece of bacon,half tomarto and a fried egg on a half slice of fried bread. I did actually ask for the fried bread to be removed and an extra sausage .What I got was the extra sausage, the fried bread removed ,but the bacon was removed as well.! If your on a diet this is the hotel to go to. By the way the Midland and the Monaco are owned by the same people.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

Me and the hubby stayed here for a last minute two night break. They had no rooms available but offered us the 'Monaco flat' situated in the hotel on the first floor. It sleeps four and was a set price of £75 per night (high season), there is no mention of this accommodation on their website, which I was informed is to be updated.

We arrived at 1.30pm to a very warm welcome, the hotel does have limited parking spaces, however, there is a large car park at the rear of the property which only charges £5.50 for 24hrs.

The flat comprised of five rooms:-

The Bathroom - recently refurbished to a high standard, full size bath with powerful shower over, sink, W.C, wall cabinet and large towel rail.

The Kitchen - Full size sink unit, fridge/freezer, microwave together with all the essential crockery/cutlery, cleaning products, tea/coffee/sugar etc.

Bedroom 1 - Very comfortable double bed, with crisp white linen, bedside drawers and a small wardrobe. Not the biggest of rooms but completely adequate.

Bedroom 2 - Large bunk beds and a small wardrobe/drawer unit.

Lounge - Two sofa's, nest of tables, small dining table and plasma TV.

The whole flat was spotlessly clean, and more than enough towels provided for our stay.

The Monaco is managed by the same people as The Midland Hotel next door, who are very accommodating and friendly, you are welcome to take advantage of the entertainment at either hotel. The Midland has nightly singers and the Monaco has Karaoke a couple of times a week, we found all the other guests very pleasant.

We would definitely choose the flat again, it was nice to return to comfortable accommodation, being able to relax at leisure in your own lounge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kazerooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My husband and I returned to the Monaco for a three night stay. It has been eight years since we last stayed at the Monaco. All I can say is I have never had such A BRILLIANT TIME. The welcome we received was fantastic. Everybody was so friendly and accommodating. I cannot fault anything. The accommodation and food was excellent, And the entertainment was OUTSTANDING. WE WILL BE BACK!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

another fantastic weekend by the sea and a truly fab stay in a clean comfortable hotel with smashing breakfast and the staff are very friendly and attentive , entertainment was fab , brill place if you got kids or not, WILL DEFINITELY BE BACK , ruth w

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Last week we went to the Midland Hotel which is sister to the Monaco. On arrival we we were met by the owners, two great guys, We were with a coach party for Valentine's week which also coincided with our 10th wedding Anniversary. The food and entertainment was first class, the rooms are standard but WHO lives in their room all day, anything you required was done for you as soon as possible. On Valentine's Night, it was party time and everyone had a fantastic night, champagne with dinner, every lady had a red rose, and the anniversary couples also were presented with a large box of chocolates. We enjoyed our holiday that much as we have booked up to spend Christmas there. Many thanks to David, Keith & Gail for a wonderful week.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berniethebolt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Stayed for two nights carnival wekend. Was shocked at the room, sink in bedroom, dated and the wardrobe door would not shut and kept swinging fully open. Wall lights unusable. Net curtain filthy.No lift to rooms. Unable to find any parking space.The balcony was large but communal, and looked very tired, with a work-mate lying about for some reason. Could not fault the wonderful view however.
The owner was a lovely, friendly man who couldn't do enough for you at breakfast time. The karaoke bar directly below the bedroom ensured that going to bed before 1.30am was pointless. Radiator in the room vibrates with the noise, and then the vacuum cleaner wakes you up at about 7.00. On the plus side, owner compensated us with a free drink, and was pleasant throughout our stay. Also, bed very comfy and rooms are warm. Breakfast very good.
Good place to stay if you are a party reveller, but could do with a complete makeover.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Stopped this weekend 9-11 November 2012, at the Midland, could of been better, parking very limited even though arrived at 1.50p.m., no parking spaces, yet rooms not ready, had to wait about 10 mins, yet a man arrived at 5.00p.m. he got a space so cost us another £11.00 to stop for two nights already. Favouritisim or what. When first booked asked for a balcony room told aiways fully booked and asked if any cancellations likely, told no as all paid for yet when we got there found out somebody had cancelled yet instead of being offering it, it was given to friends, obviously who you know not what you know? Breakfast was ok but really at 9.00a.m. in the morning, no deviations was a bit much, you're supposed to be on holiday, not getting up at 8.00a.m. to make sure you don't miss breakfast, really. Served on a tea plate really!!!!!!!!!!!! so very basic, tomatoes 2 days running, again no variation. Room was okay but very basic and compact and beju, although very warm at nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marion r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
4.1 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
1,566 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Engine Shed
The Engine Shed
#1 of 1 in St Georges
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
943 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare Ea...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
860 reviews
1.9 mi away
Pontins Sand Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monaco

Address: 38 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing