We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“appalling”
Review of The Monaco

The Monaco
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Monaco
Reviewed 2 July 2014

on arriving there was no computer system to check us in and although the lady behind the bar was friendly and helpful, she wrote our receipt on the back of a used envelope!. hotel is 'dated' with limited parking but there is a public carpark out the back that charges #5.50 for 24hrs. the place is said to be smoke free - yet there was a smell of smoke throughout the hotel. we got to our rooms to find heavily urine stained bed which went through to carpet below. the bed was replaced on complaint but couldn't get the smell out of the carpet. the rooms were advertised as refurbished last month but they smelt musty, were unclean, stained carpets, fag burns in beds and carpets, cracks in ceilings, paint from skirting boards on floor, showers dribbled out and stopped completely when you turn a tap on, lights weren't working, none of the tvs worked, and one of our rooms had no lock so we had to complain (yet again) and they did come and fix it at midnight - we needed the lock to prevent one of the residents from keep on walking into our hotel room! yes he was friendly but felt he overstayed his welcome and was hitting on me and my friend when we had our 'children' there. the breakfast was only a half hour slot from 8.30-9.30 am which we missed due to being up late the night before waiting for our lock to be fixed - the owner did offer us a refund for the breakfast but the next morning after we had missed breakfast, it was kind of the last straw to be honest so we asked for a refund where we were told to leave by the very unhelpful woman on reception! she wasn't there the day before and keith and team did try and rectify all the mistakes and even offered us a 'free drink' but when this lady arrived - boom - told us to bugger off basically!! very very rude, unhelpful and shocking behavior - refused to give our money back if we put a bad review on trip advisor or anywhere else! we had to drive home as had nowhere else to stay :( - this hotel should not have needed to rectify any mistakes as they shouldn't have been there in the first place!!! avoid if you have kids!!!!

Room Tip: choose none of them
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Jenny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for The Monaco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Terrible . Run down, Dirty, never been updated. Almost unusable Bathroom if you could call it that. Stains on walls, broken toilet, dangerous stairs, Horrible Breakfast smells. I appreciate its relatively cheap however Travelodge's are cheap but to a good standard. Only positive is at breakfast the staff were lovely. Never again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed at the sister hotel the midland.on the 12 /05/14.with national holidays for five days.
When you first arrive at the hotel they tell you to leave your cases and somebody will take them to your room, it take about five to ten mins to be given your room key,prior to this you will get a key
Card to open the main door of the hotel which is five pound deposit and you get this back at the end of your stay.Staff very pleasant , hotel is a bit dated but clean, bed room on the small side
but was not a problem, bathroom was small and so was the shower but we managed.
Food at the hotel was brilliant ,enjoyed all the meals ,at breakfast plenty of toast tea and coffee. Entertainment was average , we will definitely go back again .
Well done the Midland Hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor room was a bit on the small side but great sea view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Been to the Monaco bout five times now the staff are very friendly and welcoming the rooms are average but very clean the breakfast is good value for money and the entertainment is great I go there with my daughter who has epilepsy and if my daughter is I'll while we are there I find the staff very help full and they carnt help us enough

Room Tip: Very good value for money
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just got back from a brilliant 2 days stay at the Monaco Hotel. Keith and staff can not do enough for you . Rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast was great don't know how some people can fault it. Entertainment was fantastic we had so much fun, the singer Billy Mac was on Easter Sunday afternoon everyone including children had a fantastic time. Keith was hilarious dressing up so funny, good time was had by all. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

we first went to midland hotel 3years ago ,we found the welcome was fabulous the staff r so friendly they cant do enough for you .rooms were clean and very comfortable.food was excellent with plenty of choices . we book our next holiday as we leave one fantastic .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGIEgrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My husband and I just wanted a few nights away and we have stayed at the Monaco several times before and we went back there. We have always had a very warm welcome, clean and comfortable rooms and fantastic breakfasts. Nothing is ever too much trouble. We have also stayed at the midland next door and had the same experience. The views are awesome. I think some people would always find fault with something no matter how good others find it. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
339 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kensington Court Holiday Apartments
Kensington Court Holiday Apartme...
#1 of 19 in Weston-super-Mare
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Welbeck Hotel
Welbeck Hotel
#34 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Engine Shed
The Engine Shed
#1 of 1 in St Georges
11 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moorlands Country Guesthouse
6.1 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Monaco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Monaco

Address: 38 Knightstone Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing