We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic home away from home!”
Review of The Seafarers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Seafarers
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic home away from home!”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We took our two year old to stay for a week at the Seafarers from the 3rd to the 10th August 2013.
We had originally booked a one bedroomed apartment at the Timbertop Aparthotel at 8, Victoria Park (the properties are owned by the same family) but upon arrival found we had been upgraded to the 2 bedroomed cottage at Seafarers, which was a great start to the holiday! This surprise was followed by a lovely welcome pack which included a bottle of wine, butters and jams, bread, millk, a selection of individual cereals and fruit. Washing up liquid, t-towels, washing up cloths, hand soap and a few dishwasher tablets were also provided.

There is use of wifi and a private car park included, which is very useful as the property is within a few minutes walk of the sea front.

This is a roomy cottage with one small double room (though still far more storage space than we could use) and a large twin bedroom which contained two wardrobes, two chests of drawers, a dressing table and still enough space to swing a couple of proverbial cats!

Both bedrooms had a digital TV and the 42 inch TV in the lounge, with DVD player and a selection of DVDs was a real treat! There was also plenty of space in the lounge with a 3-seater sofa and two comfy leather armchairs, coffee table and display cabinet containing a selection of paperbooks, ideal for holiday reading.
The kitchen was large and modern with a table and 4 chairs, a sideboard, lots of storage, a dishwasher, microwave, fridge freezer and every imaginable cooking utensil.
Again the bathroom was a proper family bathroom with an electric shower over the bath. The shower was lovely and hot, though not a "power shower" (which is only to be expected as the house is at the top of a steep hill).
The whole house was spottlessly clean, which for me is really important as I have often arrived at holiday homes only to start cleaning! The decor in the lounge and bedrooms isn't bang up to date (I think decorated about 10 years ago) but I believe there are plans to reurbish in the near future.

The owners of The Seafarers have achieved the perfect balance of being friendly, chatty and available when needed but not at all invasive. We had use of the washing mahine and tumble dryer on request which meant that we didn't go home with piles of dirty washing, very handy with a toddler! There was also a patio area with table and chairs outside the cottage, ideal for us on sunny afternoons when our son was having a nap.
We were so impressed that we have already made a provisional booking to return at the same time next year, but for two weeks this time as we were so comfortable!

Weston itself is ideal for young families, with entertainment for all weathers, including the Pier, water park (£1.50/child for the day and some of the best scones I've ever tasted!) and the lovely flat seafront promenade. We spent several days on the lovely man-made marine lake beach as, unlike the main beach at Weston, the tide doesn't go out!

A few recommendations for food:
Very good breakfast for £5.50 at Cove West, which is on the seafront, just opposite The Old Thatched Cottage restaurant. Also, it's sister restaurant (the glass fronted building which can be seen from the marine lake) serves excellent food, including the "Mac bap" made famous by Hugh Fearnley-Wittingstall).We had 2 great meals and several ice creams at Tutto which is the rotundra restaurant in between the fountain and the Big Wheel on the seafront: excellent italian food and service at a reasonable price. And of course, no trip to Weston would be complete without a visit to Papa's on Waterloo Street for the best fish and chips in town. See separate reviews for more detail on each of these.

Room Tip: The cottage we stayed in was 12C, Victori
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Loved it. Exceptional from start to finish. Warm welcome. Great starter pack - lovely surprise! This is a home from home. Was in the area with work and wanted more than a room in a B&B or hotel. Was allocated a flat at the top - roomy bedroom, homely living room, well equipped kitchen and snug bathroom! What more could you ask for - oh, sea views? Check! What a bonus! Definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackwater42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013 via mobile

Having stayed in many hotels with work, it was a pleasant change to stay at an affordable alternative offering self catering facilities with great accommodation and within easy reach of the town and sea front.
I found the owners of the Seafarers to be flexible and very accommodating with a good range of rooms to suit every need either for the long term or short break
I would recommend the Seafarers to anyone and hope to be back in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markbrads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frannyday12, Owner at The Seafarers, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Mark - Thank you for your comments and review. It was a pleasure to meet you and provide accommodation for you whilst you were working in the area. We always try to offer value & comfort for the prices that we charge in this highly competitive market. As you know Seafarers is not the traditional B & B or hotel and we offer that extra bit of space and home comforts which makes life for those working away from home as comfy as possible. Hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rosita
The Rosita
#1 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kensington Court Holiday Apartments
Kensington Court Holiday Apartme...
#1 of 17 in Weston-super-Mare
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Victoria Lodge
Victoria Lodge
#13 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#2 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seafarers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seafarers

Property: The Seafarers
Address: 12 Victoria Park, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2HZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Weston-super-Mare
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seafarers 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Seafarers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing