We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“HAPPY DAYS” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Highlea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highlea Hotel
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“HAPPY DAYS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Went to Highlea hotel with my Mam and my Twin girls for bank Hols in May Loverly Clean and tidy rooms en-suite showers in all rooms. Nice big sitting room with Big TV and comfy seats Mini BAR also but was never open other than that it was a bril Hotel and the staff could not do enough for you, and to top it off the breakfast was great with cereals and English to follow,We stayed for 2 nights and will def com back again WELL DONE

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    27
    17
    1
    4
See reviews for
19
27
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at Highlea for Easter this year, had a pleasant ground floor double room with en-suite shower etc, the breakfasts were lovely, choices of cereal, and a lovely fried breakfast to follow, we had a problem with our mattress, but had a chat with the owner and he changed it straight away, the hot water was a bit of an issue on a couple of occasions over the w/end, i think because there was a lot of people wanting showers at the same time, again the owner came in and boosted the boiler :)
A little distance from the sea front, lovely view from the communal lounge with a huge TV on the wall,
only difficulty that if you don't want to pay for parking, you can park up the hill after off-loading your luggage, but it is a steep hill, not good if you are infirm or disabled.
A lovely w/end away.

Room Tip: We had room 3, ground floor, window out to the road, but didn't disturb us, the hotel is like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wantage, Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

Upon arrival the first thing you notice is there is a car park roughly 2mins away (more like 1min if you walk fast!). Costs £5.50 for 24hours.

The hotel is a guest house which is fine. It states the reception is around the corner which is a little deceiving because it is on the side. Depends on how you read it but I was tired! Sad excuse I know :) You have to ring the bell to get their attention to initially let you in.

First appearances it's quaint and nice. There is a sitting area with a small bar. Didn't see the bar open though but we did leave in the early evening around half seven but thought it may have been open by then?!

The room was on the small side but this is a guest house. Adequate for our stay. Bed was lovely and comfortable. Bathroom was a little small. If you sit on the toilet you have a sliding door to close and I am claustrophobic and my nose was literally against the door. Apart from this it's fine. Plenty of tea and coffee, just a shame no biccies.

You have a key to open the main door which also opens an inner door. Be careful if you have problems bending down as the lock is around knee height on the inner door. A separate key for your room.

Breakfast, you had to go down some stairs to the breakfast room and again if you have difficulty with stairs then maybe this isn't for you. However well worth the stairs as the breakfast was freshly made. Sausage, egg, mushrooms, fried bread, beans, tomato. Can't remember seeing bacon but there must have been. Juices, tea and coffee. Toast. Plus cereal if you require. Then bless him he asks if he can get us anything else!

It may sound as though I have critised this guest house/hotel but quite the contrary. I would come back here in a heart beat. I just wanted to highlight the potential issues to someone who has some difficulties.

One last word - Slight steep hill to hotel from Car Park. Be careful as there is a cross junction where the guest house sits.

Enjoy - We certainly did.

Room Tip: If you struggle with stairs ask for one of the rooms on the ground floor. Rooms 1 - 3 I believe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

My friend and I stayed for 1 night at the Highlea Hotel. My friend had a twin room which she found very comfortable. I had a double room which was very clean and had a seaview but the downside was that only 1 bedside light could be plugged in which was not much good and the television had a buzzing noise that was very irritating.
The breakfast was good and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Right near to the beach. Room was pleasant and clean. Cooked breakfast was very good. We were visiting family in the town. The proprietor was happy for them to come and join us for breakfast. Only downside was the slow wifi.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deborahtosler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Highlea Hotel and found it to be an ideal place for a weekend away.
Both the owners were extremely friendly and helpful and as soon as we arrived we felt it very welcome.

We requested a sea view and found ourselves in a fairly small room on the 2nd floor with a window opening towards the sea. The room itself and the en suite were in good condition and everything was spotlessly clean. We had everything that we needed in terms of tea/coffee making, TV and WiFi and the bathroom was very convenient.

In terms of location, the hotel is only a short walk from the sea front and maybe 10mins from the town centre which you can access through Grove Park. There is free street parking just up the hill but this may become busy in season.

Breakfast was full English and the restaurant area was very clean and a nice place to enjoy a meal. Whilst we didn't use the bar/lounge area it has character and like the rest of the hotel is well maintained and has character.

The Highlea is what all small hotels should be and what some sadly aren't and we would not hesitate to stay there again. The prices are good for this type of accommodation and you would have to be very fussy to find much wrong with the place.

Room Tip: For the less agile a ground or 1st floor room - try for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Budfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

we stayed here for 1 night last weekend, a great little b n b, they even put a girlie duvet cover on my little girls bed and she had plastic cuttlery at breakfast, very clean, excellent breakfast and friendly staff. we will definatly use it again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Florence Guest House
Florence Guest House
#7 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Hotel
#2 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#18 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlea Hotel

Property: Highlea Hotel
Address: 15 Upper Church Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Highlea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family-run bed & breakfast located only 100 yards from the sea front, very clean & friendly. Weston super mare hotels association awarded gold commended. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highlea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing