We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We were on a self drive two day stay in an upper floor, rear facing, large comfortable clean room with great inland views.
The refurbished dining room was quite spectacular, with efficient staff who served us with adequate, if not basically presented food.
The talented vocal entertainers in the lounge bar tried to keep the party going, but deserved far more support from the unappreciative guests.
Loads of parking
Quite good value

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KRS60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2011

o Thank you for taking the time to leave us a good review with positive comments regarding our dining room, I will pass on your review to Julie who runs the restaurant and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (642)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

578 - 584 of 642 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2011

My wife and I stayed on a four night break (self drive) at this hotel and really enjoyed it. We have in the past had a one very bad stay at another hotel but also had a few good experiences with Shearings and this hotel will be visited again and again. The food was value for money with every request met and that went for everything else also. Being a disabled person (walking mobility) my requests never fell on deaf ears. Thanks to ALL THE STAFF and we will see you again.

Room Tip: All rooms viewed appeared o\k
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank COTSWOLDKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2011

"Thanks again for leaving such a positive review, I will be pleased to pass on your comments to all the staff and we will look forward to greeting you again in Weston super Mare soon"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I booked a 5 day stay at The Grand Atlantic Hotel in Weston Super Mare with the “Coast and Country” all inclusive self drive section of the Shearings Holiday group in May 2011 at a total cost of £185.00 including single supplement.

The hotel is conveniently situated right on the front overlooking the sea and is within a five minute walk to the newly rebuilt Grand Pier and just a few more minutes to the shopping area of Weston.

There is a luggage and personnel elevator that takes you from the front of the hotel right up to the reception area so you don’t even have to walk up the few outside steps to the hotel reception.

On arrival the staff could not do enough for me and even upgraded my room to a sea view at no extra charge. The original room was fine but I enquired on the off-chance
If there was a sea view room available and they duly obliged. They found me a lovely sea view room close to the lift on the fourth floor. The room was spacious, very clean and had a large bathroom with bath and shower, flat-screen TV, a small armchair and a comfortable single bed. The room overlooked the sea front and I could see for miles either side of my window.
I had booked an all inclusive deal which included a free morning paper, bed breakfast and evening meal with a glass of wine with dinner and free bar from 7.30pm -11.00pm. The food was excellent quality and a wide choice both at breakfast and at dinner, the service was fast and very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, the dining room had obviously had some renovation and was smart and clean. The reception area has plenty of seating and tables for having coffee or relaxing with a paper plus there are two front facing comfortable lounge areas overlooking the promenade and sea.

The whole hotel was very clean and crisp and there was obvious evidence of recent refurbishment and redecoration. Plenty of room on the hotel car park and if you don’t want to use your car you can book onto the coach excursions for a small charge. Naturally if you do the coach holiday then the tours are included in the holiday price.

I go away between five or six times a year and I will definitely return to this hotel as one of my 5 day breaks next year.

I have read a lot of negative reviews about this hotel but I have to say I have a problem thinking that they are referring to the same establishment. In fact I have paid a lot more money and stayed in far worse hotels. For the money I paid
For this holiday it was a bargain and better than most. Handy for Wells, Bath, Minehead and Burnham on Sea.

Room Tip: Ask politely and they will help if they can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank BrunoLancashireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review with lots of positive points regarding the superb quality of food we offer and the cleanliness of the hotel. It is really rewarding for myself and all the staff when they read these reviews and we pride ourselves to provide the best possible customer service standards. We look forward to seeing you back in Weston soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

Very convenient location for the Grand Pier and the town centre. It has a large free car park at the rear and has recently been refurbished and the rooms are very clean, if a little small. The TV in the room was probably the worst feature being very old fashioned with only the five main terrestial channels. The room was very warm, as it needed to be in February.
The food was perfectly acceptable and served quickly by the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ww33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of our hotel in Weston super Mare, It is always great to hear that that the good food we offer is well served by pleasant staff. Your only one negative point regarding the small TV’s has now been fully addressed within every bedroom at the hotel, many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

recently returned from a stay at this hotel
food bland breakfast always lukewarm
packed lunch dreadful bread stale <even birds left it!!!>

if this is meant to be a flagship hotel of the group then god help the rest
most of the staff work hard apart from the large lady on reception SHE SHOULD NOT REPEAT NOT BE IN THE PUBLIC EYE. SHE NEVER STANDS UP OFF HER CHAIR TO TALK TO GUESTS AND IS ALWAYS RUDE AND THINKS SHE IS RIGHT

apart from that rooms just passable as we are walkers we didnt spend alot of time in hotel rooms

entertainment poor also

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wakey66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

A bit confused by this hotel.Communal areas such as bar, reception, dining room and toilets are spotless but rooms are a different story. Do not go here if you dislike dusty bedrooms and dirty mouldy bathrooms!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thesuecash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

This hotel is straight out of the sixty's, creaking floors, no heating in our room 313 we were given 2 electric fires for warmth, no ventilation in the toilet with tiles falling of the walls, the lift did not work for 3 days of our 5 day stay, book early for dinner seating if not every thing is over cooked and microwaved, the staff in general are very good except in the bar maybe its because we where all inclusive but an occasional smile would have been nice, on the plus side the hotel is clean and in a good location and every room does have a trouser press!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greendoor0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Thank you for taking some time out to leave us a review even though there was a few minor issues we did not get right on this occasion, however it was encouraging to see that on a positive note the hotel cleanliness and our location of our hotel was great.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
868 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#6 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
460 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £50 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing