We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Dear !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh Dear !”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My wife and I made our 8th visit to The Grand Atlantic on 22nd -25th June 2012 occupying rooms 124 and 208.
Shearings have presumably noted the favourable comments about the Car park so have added a £5/night charge for the prime slots in front of the entrance.
The entrance to the hotel is up 9 steep steps through a very heavy double door leading to a small revolving door so access for the disabled is tricky. There is a lift adjacent to the entrance for the disabled or elderly who make up at least 80% of the guests but unfortunately it was U/S
The reception area has a beige and brown theme relieved partially by the low energy light bulbs and the smiles of the Reception Staff.
The lift to all floors will hold two couples in very close proximity and as it has a tendency to overshoot the desired floors there is every encouragement to make new friends very quickly.
The dining room is beautifully decorated but again encourages the making of new friends as most table are about 6 inches from fellow diners. The table d'hote menu (£19+) is adequate and good value for money as part of a package though Cheese and Biscuits instead of dessert adds another £2.50 and chips instead of potatoes incurs a similar levy
Single rooms are charged for at a varying rate depending on the time of year but there is always a £5/night supplement plus another £6/night for a sea view which 208 has.
Room 124 was nicely decorated and furnished and a reasonable size.. It had a dressing table with three large drawers and its own chair and a mirror, It also had a chest of drawers with more large drawers and a wardrobe with storage shelves.. The ensuite bathroom was very modern with a window. As it was on the side of the building the bedroom would have had a view of half the seafront if the window had been clean enough. Shearings have not, so far, imposed a £3/night supplement.
The bathroom also had a loose broken bath panel which someone had attempted to repair, unsuccessfully, with masking tape. The excellent power shower had lifted the tiles on the window sill and the only part of the heated towel rail connected to the electricity supply was the pilot light. The bedroom door knob broke a long time ago but it still dangles as a reminder of past glories and has been joined by a modern cylinder lock.
Room 208 could best be described as very cramped. No dressing table with a mirror. so no need for a chair. No chest of drawers and no wardrobe with shelves. The bed's basic duvet had no bedcover. The bathroom is internal so has no window. The bedroom's sea view window had been sealed with masking tape so couldn't be opened and the lighting is inadequate. But it's not all bad....there is a trouser press ! !

Would we recommend this hotel to friends ?.....NO
Will we go again ? I say NO but my wife says YES so the answer is PROBABLY.
Will Shearings blacklist me.? Who knows ?

Room Tip: If you need perfect single rooms try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrumpyGp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Hi Grumpygp

thank you for your comprehensive and honest review, I have taken your comments on board and will look at what can be actioned ASAP, also it was encouraging to read some positive comments regarding staff, food and room decor. All-in-all we do try and represent great value for money.

wayne & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    206
    156
    72
    37
See reviews for
75
356
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Returned again to the Grand Atlantic, stayed in the same room, paid extra for a superior room, 101 is a turret room and as before was well furnished,very comfortable bed,superb views of the sea,beach and pier. This hotel is good value, pay a bit extra for the up rated rooms and enjoy it. Food and service was again very good, yes the optional meals are a little expensive, but worth it I think, and of course you don't have to go that way.We also had snack lunches, about £4 for a very nice sandwich (freshly made) with salad and crisps,hotel benefits with snack bar prices, no complaint. The reception staff are all very polite and helpful, on this occasion as before our room was clean and well serviced. I understand from comments made by others that some of the rooms do need up grading and may have basic faults, so suggest you check out the room before accepting it. We will be back again, even with the extras its still good value.They have now introduced a £5 day fee for reserved parking, we booked this, but there was space in the main car park,so only do this at high season if you feel the need.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Hello AmigoWarwickshire,

It was great to welcome you back to the grand atlantic for another weekend break and to see that everything was to your satisfaction and leaving praise for our superior rooms with great views, food, service and bar lunches which we feel represent great value for money. I will be sure to pass on your review to the staff and we look forward to welcoming you again.

regards

Wayne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I took my mother to Weston for 4 nights - I have taken her to other hotels and a single supplement always meant double room for single occupancy. At Grand Atlantic I was given a very small single room, my mother had a large broom cupboard!! I am still trying to get the supplement money back. I was told by the hotel it costs the same wages for a cleaner to do a single room as a double!!! I'm still trying to work that one out. If you pay a single supplement for single occupancy, make sure you state you expect a double. Problem is they are part of a coach company touring hotel and I think they always get priority. Also restaurant only takes dinner booking up to 7.30 p.m. and by 8.30 pm. had emptied and was closed. We had a 7.30 p.m. booking - staff were busy laying tables for breakfast. However, the breakfast is cooked to order and so was hot and fresh, although fruit and yoghurt were on menu but you had to ask for it and they did not do natural yoghurt. I would say however that staff were very helpful and friendly. It's an old fashioned hotel in bad way, they need to look at how hotels are run on the Continent.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glosangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Glosangela,

Thanks you for taking the time to post a review and leaving praise for the friendly and helpful staff. However im sorry that you did not understand the company policy of a single room supplement.

regards

wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Our view of the Grand Atlantic was rather mixed. Good points first. The staff were very
helpful and attentive. The meals were about what we would have expected for the price, and the hotel was reasonably comfortable.
For those of you who remember the film “Psycho” and the Norman Bates Motel, well this is it on a much larger scale. The first thing I did when we arrived was to use the provided shower gel to clean the window in our room. this was supposed to have a sea view, but it took me nearly an hour of cleaning to see it. The window was in two sections and the upper section was full of water between the glazing. So to appreciate the view, we had to kneel on the floor to see it. The toilet overflowed constantly and although the maintenance man tried to fix it it continued to be a problem. This hotel is old and tired, keeping up with fixing the faults must be a nightmare, and I would be surprised if the hotel employed a cleaner.There are bits falling off everywhere you look. We had a room on the fourth floor but found it quicker to use the stairs as the one tiny lift was constantly in use, and was the slowest we had ever
experienced. So, would we recommend it. No.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
John R,

Thank you for your review and praise for the food and helpful staff, and im sorry to read about your personal negative thoughts which obviously do not reflect the whole hotel, nor the many repeat customers.

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

chippenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Well, we had an experience for the day. My friend and I went to Weston for the day, unknown to us, Weston Super Mare's beach is full of mud. 3 children decided it would be fun to have a mud bath.....not wise at the time because afterwards they were all very cold, the showers on the beach didn't remove the mud. Our only hope was to find a warm shower, firstly to get the mud off and secondly warm up 3 cold children. No warm showers were available, so we entered the Grand Atlantic for their help. To our astonishment, they understood exactly our problem and offered a room with a shower where the children could wash of their expereince.

We thank the Grand Atlantic for being extremely helpful, understanding in a dire situation.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Hi Tracey R,

Many thanks for your review following your day trip to WSM and following your beach experience I'm glad we could come to your rescue, I have passed on your review to Vanessa (reception Manager) who gladly looked after you.

regards
wayne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Ok so the hotel has its good points so ill start with those, The breakfast was lovely, It was especially nice to have your own pot of tea on the table and be able to order something specific when it comes to the cooked breakfast, The sea view in our room was lovely and thats about as far as the good points go.

The room was comfortable but abit old fashioned and there were basic cleaning issues for example our shower curtain had spots of blood on that could quite easilly have been wiped off, The wall behind the loo had brown splash marks which you can guess what that was, The headboard, hairdryer, table with the kettle and picture frames had at least a fortnight of dust on. Also while we were waiting for breakfast on the saturday morning we heard another couple complain about their mattress, they were told it would be replaced which we were impressed with, Until the old mattress was dumped outside of our room for the duration of our stay. Said mattress was covered in stains which didnt leave us with much confidence about ours.

The food was generally lovely, The only gripe we had was that it took us 25 minutes to get through 3 courses as we had barely finished our starters when the plate was taken away and replaced straight away with our mains, Breakfast was the same, My partner had his plate taken away before he had even finished! There are too many staff in the dining room which is blatently odvious as at least 3 of them stood and looked out of the window for the duration of our meal, We never saw anybody delegate the staff or give them things to do.

The staff were very polite and helpful but it wouldnt hurt to smile occasionally, Particularly a couple of the male dining room staff who didnt smile once despite us smileing and saying good morning to them. Also we liked to come and go alot and having to hand the key in and ask for it back every time we went out we felt like we were being a nuisense to the staff at the desk who were odviously very busy.

There was also some sort of event going on while we were here and found it quite intimidating trying to get in or out of the building when there were 20 rather loud people all sat in the doorway.

On the whole the hotel is really nice and has been done up to a high standard, However when you have basic issues with cleaning and service it dosent make any difference whatsoever, It says on the hotel's website this hotel is for couples and families, That couldnt be further from the truth, The hotel is for the over 50s and if you are younger then that or have children you WILL feel completely out of place, We had a lovely time in weston but by sunday morning were desperate to come home, If the room wasnt paid for already we would have bailed out on saturday and gone home, It left a very bad taste in our mouths.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lexi8776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
lexi8776,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay and the positive points from your stay (room, food & service) and i have passed on your cleanliness comments to the housekeeper to investigate as this is not our usual standard regarding your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

let me start by saying that the Grand Atlantic gives excellent value for money, very clean, fresh towels every day, and average meals for a 3 star hotel, the reception staff try hard to sort out your problems.
Now comes the warning, avoid room 118 like the plague, it overlooks the kitchen roof where a large extractor fan rattles your windows, the reception staff made sure the main fan was turned off at 10 pm , but there was another unit which was on for 24hrs a day, which could not be identified, which gave a vibration thro the bed pillows all night, there was no other room available so we had to stick it out for 3 nights.
The hotel was used by American airmen during the war and we wondered if it was part of the softning up procedure for captured enemy pilots!! incidently there is no air conditioning so it wasn't the ac unit.

Room Tip: book a sea view room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank redrobin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
617 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing