We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fab time”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My partner and I have recently returned from a five day break to Weston-super-mare where we stayed at the Grand Atlantic Hotel. The hotel staff were so helpful, courteous and friendly, the hotel was lovely and warm and the restaurant was superb (the Thai curry was one of the best I have ever had) plus there was an excellent choice to suit all tastes. The breakfast menu was also extensive and very good. Our room was fine though the bathroom was in need of an update, however it was very clean so it's not a complaint but an observation. We would definitely return without hesitation. A superb relaxing, value for money break.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heatherkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Hi Heatherkaren,

Thank you for your recent review of your mid-week stay with us and nice to see the food, service and staff being praised once again for there great service we aim to offer and we look forward to welcoming you again in weston.

regards

wayne & the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    214
    162
    77
    42
See reviews for
78
374
26
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a 5 day break at this hotel with Shearings. We ariived with John, our driver, to a very imposing frontage to a well kept exterior. As we entered we were met with a very friendly welcome and the check in was organized and speedy.

Were were given a requested room on the top (4th) floor. We were VERY surprised to see we had a front sea veiw room. That was really appreciated as we usually have rooms in hotels facing the rear without the upgrade.

The room was clean and nicely decorated. The ensuite was a bit tired but very clean and loads of hot water. It was one of the quietest rooms we have ever had.

We were so impressed with the dinning room and the speed and quality of the service and food we made that known to the hotels management.

Indeed, every member of staff we encountered was very friendy and always gave big smile.

Another bonus was the £25 per person voucher to be spent in the bar. So cocktails was the order of the day before the excellent dinner.

I cannot comment on the lift as we always use the stairs in hotels for added excercise. (But we did notice it was very small and slow.)

Thank you all at the Grand, it was a great stay with you and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steamhead45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Hi there,

Many thanks for leaving the team a great review following your stay with us last week on your mid-week break, it was good to hear your comments personally at the reception desk and great to see it followed up by your review, I will be sure to show Julie ( the restaurant manageress) and the dining room staff your comments and we hope to see you again soon in Weston- super-mare. Once again many thanks.

Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Horrible horrible food, prison atmosphere in the dining room. Urine stained chairs and sofas including those in my room I asked to be removed and were'nt. Dirty carpets, lumpy bed caused horrible back spasms. Mysterious bites on back. Dirty bathroom and tub. Soap, water, bleach are cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katiee774_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 November 2012
Katiiee77412,

Thank you for your review, however I completely disagree with your comment regarding our food resembling prison food as you will see from many previous comments which praise our food, I hope you find a better matched hotel chain for your needs next time you visit the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We have just had a 4 day break at the Grand Atlantic Hotel WSM. We found it a poor quality experience from start to finish.Our room was adequate, the furniture was new but the paper was peeling of the walls, and the windows were filthy. The food in the dining room was abysmal. Breakfast was very small,only 11 beans on the plate(portion control gone mad).Dinner at night was laughable, poor quality food and not enough vegetables for 3 adults. The wine we ordered from the bar was always warm. The staff were acceptable some more than others. Altogether it was a forgettable week. But you only get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank albinbraunton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Albinbraunton,

Thank you for your review, It is sad to read that you had the time to count the "apparent 11beans" on your plate, a quick word with your waiter(ess) should you have needed more food would have been rectified. Maybe your £25.00 per person in house credit that you used was worth a positive mention???

Regards
Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

Once again had a Cabaret Weekend break at the Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare which was enjoyable and value for money. This time was a Rock and Roll show, and have to admit the artistes were excellent.
The hotel itself continues to provide excellent service, with staff who are dedicated to providing a caring approach to its guests. This applies from Front of House (reception) staff to housekeepers.
Despite the sudden fall in temperatures, the hotel was reasonably warm at ALL times, and supplementary (portable) heating was provided just in case !
Booked again for next month, along with another booking early season 2013
Also have to add the promenade has been modernised, and further developments are imminent.
The Grand Atlantic is close to the town centre facing the seafront, and has adequate parking facilities.

Room Tip: The front of the hotel enjoys sea views with brilliant sunsets across the Bristol channel. There a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoddersJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
Hi RoddersJ

Thanks for leaving us a another great review following your last visit with us, it is always good to read that our staff, service and location are being recognised. And our cabaret on our cabaret weekends are really popular .

Regards

Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Made welcome from the time we got there, staff could not do enough for us they were very friendly. Our room was lovely and clean.. The food was great the waiting staff was very quick and friendly. All through the 5 days of our stay the standards never dropped. This was our 2nd stay having stayed there 4 years earlier. I would recommend staying here as we shall be back .Thank you for a great holiday and pleasent memeries.. Being a disabled male the staff help with carrying cases to our room and at the end of the stay down to the car. (mr & mrs D west) 22nd - 26th oct 2012

Room Tip: room 101 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daglin_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Roddersj,

Thank you for leaving us a review from your recent Rock & Roll cabaret weekend, it is great to see that everything that we aim to offer met your expectations and the visiting cabaret over the weekend was received very well. it is always good to see that our great staff and the service they continually offer are recognised, along with our revourable location and the great value for money breaks we offer.
we look forward to seeing you back again in Weston-super-Mare

regards

Wayne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

What a lovely weekend we have just had, we booked a Shearings Cabaret weekend. From the moment we arrived we new what to expect, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the Hotel was very clean the lifts to the room are very small but that is to be expected as the Hotel is very old and has a very lived in feeling (old fashioned) which is what we love about this Hotel.
The food was nice we were on a half board tariff, breakfast was also very good. The only downfall was the prices of drinks at the bar which were very expensive.

Room Tip: Definatly book a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casperMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Caspermiltonkeynes,

Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave a great review from your weekend visit with us last weekend, our cabaret weekends do prove to be very popular and offer a great value for money break, it was also nice to see that our food, service and staff being praised for the standards we offer on a daily basis. And that the overall weekend break met with your satisfaction. The staff really appreciate these great reviews
Many thanks
Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
360 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#16 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
152 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing