We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More in sorrow than in anger”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“More in sorrow than in anger”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My wife and I last stayed here on 22-25 June 2012 and this year was our 9th visit. I decided that last year would be our last but my wife decided otherwise The comments I made then unfortunately still apply as NOTHING has been done to rectify any of the defects..

We had the same rooms,124 and 208 and the rooms still had the same problems.
Room 124 still had a broken bath panel, loose tiles, u/s heated towel rail and useless door knob and the window was still filthy. There were two additions. The chair now has the stuffing hanging out underneath and the basin plug is no longer connected to the chain.
Room 208 has had one change. The masking tape round the window has been removed so it can now be opened but as there was a howling gale outside there was a persistent slight sea breeze inside.

My wife and I are not masochists so why do we keep going back ?
The location is fantastic and there is no need to pay an extra £5 /night for a designated parking slot as there is a large free car park.
The lift for the disabled at the side of the entrance does work but it isn't easy. But if anyone has a problem help is at hand as all conversations in it are heard by the receptionist who will immediately come to your aid. She doesn't even make you feel like an idiot for being stuck.
As usual all the reception staff were friendly and welcoming
The restaurant is nicely decorated and the water stain on the ceiling isn’t too obvious. The restaurant manager does a splendid job and even gives the impression she is glad to see us, despite my comments. The food even without indulging in the over priced a la carte menu is excellent value for money. The service is first class and as most of the guests seem to enjoy eating with, and chatting to, complete strangers it's my problem that I don't.
The rooms, despite showing signs of being well past their Sell By Date, are always very clean. They were nicely decorated some time ago and the soft furnishings must obviously have made a large hole in the budget. Again in spite of my complaints we find them adequate

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrumpyGp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
hello GrumpyGp,

thank you for your review, sorry to read your comments from your requested rooms 124 & 208 i have passed these on to the housekeeper and maintenance to rectify, however is was also good to read your positive comments which i have passed on to the staff.

regards
wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    210
    160
    74
    40
See reviews for
78
364
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We've stayed at Shearings hotels in the past in Torquay, Weymouth, Exmouth, Great Yarmouth, Whitby and St Mawes. Our visits predated my Trip Advisor reviewing days so I've not previously said anything on here about them. Sometimes the hotels looked worn and needed attention, but mostly we felt we got what we paid for based on inexpensive 2 or 3 day stays. We booked very late for a one-night stay at the Grand Atlantic in Weston-Super-Mare on 22 June 2013, but were delighted to have a room that had clearly been redecorated and recarpeted and which had the bonus of a third floor sea view (without any supplement) which (as it happened) allowed us to have a grandstand view of the beach and a superb display by the Red Arrows for the Weston Air Show. The communal rooms such as the dining room and bar were clean, smart and comfortable, the staff were all very friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was very good. Yes there are areas that look a bit archaic (e.g. the swing door area and the internal lifts) but Shearings have clearly been improving and this was our best stay at any Shearings hotel. From other reviews, it would seem that there may be rooms that still require updating - all I can say is we had a great stay and we would certainly go there again on a future excursion to that part of Somerset. Well done Shearings and thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
PaulBerkshire,

Thanks for your review following your overnight stay with us in WSM and it was pleasing to read your comments regarding the service and overall value for money we aim to offer, especially the great staff, breakfast, hotel decor and our superb hotel location.

Hopefully we will see you again soon

Regards

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed Monday to Friday on a self drive break. Staff were very pleasent and food good. Rooms could do with an update but were clean and tidy. Public areas were nice and quite a good bar.

Overall very satisfied and would stay again

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Alan R,

Many thanks for your review following your recent 4 night midweek break here at the grand Atlantic hotel and leaving us praise for our great friendly staff and good food well served, and following our refurbishment of the public areas of the reception, bar and restaurant it is being very well perceived.

Regards
Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

went on shearings coach holiday first one i ever been on really enjoyed my self would defo go again the hotel was lovely the food was great and the staff very freindly the hotel drinks were cheaper than the pub up the road

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Hi Berverly M

Thanks for your review... We aim to please, and its good to see that the staff have done so again

Regards
Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Firstly let me say a big,Thank you to all the staff that made are weekend wonderful, the trip was organised last minute. The hotel was right on the seafront and there was plenty of parking, very quick check in and lovely spacious room, some of the room may need a little bit of tlc, but personal I have stayed at some expensive hotels and not go been that impressed or had the service that I got at the Grand Atlantic, for me the Grand Atlantic Hotel was just the ticket for me, lovely food, excellent staff and comfortable surrounding, will defiantly be going back

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jayne605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Jayne 605,

Thank you for leaving us a great review following your recent stay, it is so pleasing to read the food, service, staff and hotel being praised and that we delivered great service to you and your stay with us, we hope you will be back with us in the future

Regards

Wayne and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ickenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This hotel is very pleasant from the outside and I would recommend it as being reasonable value for the money paid on a Shearings Break. The staff are very pleasant and the service provided by the staff is very good. This is particularly so for the dining room staff with whom we had most contact. The quality of the food is very good. The main area that requires improvement is the standard of the bedroom. The furniture is somewhat dated all be it acceptable. The standard of furnishing in the bathroom really needs upgrading and painting. The quality of the carpet in the bedroom also leaves a lot to be desired. Saying this I cannot criticize the cleanliness of the room. The hotel is right on the promenade with the sandy beach across the road. We had a seaview room which was pleasant, but again, TV although slimline, was somewhat small. The double glazed widow was faulty by penetration of water within the glass, which spoilt the view to a certain degree. I conclude again that it was a very pleasant and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Sea view everytime
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessy1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Tessy1943.

Thank you for you review following your stay with us which gives a true reflection of what we offer, clean comfortable accommodation, well cooked food served by friendly staff, a great hotel in a superb location which offers overall good value for money, I will be pleased so pass on your comments in your review to all the staff and we hope to see you again in Weston super mare soon.

Regards

Wayne and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Grand Atlantic. My mother wanted to go to relive her childhood in Weston and the many happy times she remembers as a young wife and mother. I wish we had found a hotel to live up to her memories!
The staff are delightful - special thanks to Julie in the dining room and Josh in the bar - but they all deserve a thank you. The reception staff turned out to be very helpful (although my first impressions were of a very unprofessional and disinterested bunch).
The company should however be ashamed of the hotel. It is clean but the maintenance is woeful. Whilst we were there the lift inside broke down (fixed later in the day), the boiler broke and there was no hot water for anyone on Thursday morning and the outside lift, much talked about here, was eventually fixed on Thursday afternoon. There is wallpaper peeling from the walls, a curtain in the dining room hung by one hook all week, our bath panel had split and was mended with tape and many, many more examples could be given.
I am sure that the staff are embarrassed by the state of this glorious old building.
Shearings this needs more than decorating. I think Alex Pollizzi would wipe the floor with you!

Room Tip: I stayed in a superior room (310) with an excellent view of the bay and can't imagine what state...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizatdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
Lizatdg,

Thanks for leaving me your mixed review following for midweek stay a couple of weeks ago, yes we had the lift break down and the boiler trip out but both were rectified as soon as possible (boiler within 5 hrs and the passenger lift within 3hrs), although I do not agree with some of your comment I would rather reflect on the positives and I will pass these on to the staff in the dining room, the bar and the front of house team who all do their very best to ensure we deliver the best possible customer service within a hotel we are proud to work in.

Regards
Wayne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing