We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bargain break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A bargain break”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Just spent a very enjoyable 3 night break at this hotel.We have had several holidays at your hotels and we weren't disappointed in this room.Our room 313 was fine but it was a little noisy because there was an interconnecting door.However it was warm, clean and had everything we needed.The Staff were really good especially the waiting staff and the food was very good.Thank you for a great break.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Jeanette R

Many thanks for leaving us a great review following your recent weekend stay with us, it's always good to read that our great friendly staff, good food, and clean comfortable rooms were to your expectations and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the staff.

Regards
Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    206
    156
    72
    37
See reviews for
75
356
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Best hotel in Weston. Impressive building location second to none. To be fair first room allocated to us was very dark and small but reception found us alternative room which was perfect. The food was superb and the selection enough to suit everyone. How people can complain is beyond me. The staff were very attentive and hard working. Thank you all for making our holiday so good. Plus even the weather was on our side!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Hello Carole C,

It was great to read your complimentary review following your recent stay with us, it is always nice to see reviews praising members of the team who work very hard to ensure the service and friendliness we offer are to our guests expectations, it was also great to read your positive comments regarding the room comfort and the food we offer

Many Thanks

Wayne & The Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Extremely friendly and helpful staff, all of whom made us feel welcome. Efficient check-in (we arrived early and were able to complete the paperwork and check-in on arrival so just had to collect keys when room was ready after 2.00). Lovely and warm hotel (I feel the cold!). Nice relaxed atmosphere, especially nice to relax on a night with a drink in the reception/lounge area and because the hotel seems to cater for older people there were no screaming kids running riot. We were worried that breakfast would be a disaster if a lot of people were stopping in the hotel (have never stopped in a hotel before that caters for coach parties) but this certainly was not the case. Breakfast was extremely well organised.

Entertainment was enjoyable without being too loud and intrusive.

We didn't eat evening meals in the hotel as there are so many excellent restaurants in Weston (The Old Thatched Cottage and Michelangelo's to name just two).

Room, however, was over-priced for the standard that we got, just over £100 a night (having paid extra for a sea view) for a room that was tatty in places and a bathroom that was very dated, bath was badly stained and certainly wouldn't have wanted to use it to have a bath in (although the shower was more powerful than it looked). Having said that the room/bathroom were very clean and the bed was extremely comfy. The room was also nice and warm, there was a good hospitality tray and the towels were changed each day.

The door handle is extremely loose and we were worried it was about to fall to pieces in our hand.

Not worth paying the extra £5 a day to park when there is ample free parking at the back of the hotel.

So, overall, a pleasant stay (mainly due to excellent staff) and yes we will stop again but rooms (and in particular) bathrooms need to be refurbished to justify that price level.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cakesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Good Morning cakesy,

Thank you for leaving us a review following your recent stay with us, and it was good to read your positive comments regarding our friendly staff and the nice and relaxing atmosphere that is created together with a great breakfast selection that was served to your satisfaction and that on the whole you stay with us was a relaxing and enjoyable break and we look forward to seeing you again

Kind regards
Wayne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited The Grand Atlantic as a couple with Sheerings coach holidays staying in room 302 between 24th Feb and 28th Feb 2014 and have to say what a fantastic hotel it is. It has lovely charm, the room was just the job for a few nights stay. It is in a superb central location on the sea front with the new pier 5 mins walk along the front. The check in was very quick and efficient.
We were met by Wayne the general manager who gave a brief itinary of the hotel which was very helpful. The reception staff were all very pleasent and helpful, infact all the team members that we encountered throughout our stay were all very friendly and professional, they are a credit to Coast and Country. The breakfast and evening meals were of very high standard well cooked,well served and well presented. We would definately reccomend anyone to visit this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hello Bert S,

Thank your for taking the time to leave us a review following your stay with us and great to read our usual standards of service are being recognised by yourself. we do try to ensure the check-in procedure is prompt and professional and that our food is well cooked and served well by our friendly team so many thanks for reviewing this.

we look forward to seeing you again in the future

regards

Wayne and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel was in the 60s and70s regarded as the THE No 1 hotel in WSM but sadly no longer.
THE GOOD
Central Located beach front location. All staff were very pleasant and helpful.
A a large free car park was available for guests.
Superb sized room.
The restaurant was large and well decorated.
At £49 reasonable value for money.
Excellent large comfy bed with pristine bedding.
Near the main road but traffic noise not intrusive, especially after around 10pm
THE BAD
The room was extremely tatty and required refurbishment many, many years ago
The 'full English breakfast' was the meanest offering I have ever experienced.
Tiny lift that could only accomodate two persons with luggage
THE UGLY.
The bath anti- slip mat was truly disgusting and worn out. Replacement cost would have been a measly £1 The bath enamel was so worn it would be impossible to clean it, leaving it grey and grimy. We chose to shower rather than use it.

Room Tip: Corner rooms and front offer great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
NicolaJ

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and pictures of your recent overnight stay with us, What we try to offer is good value for money and we believe that offering a sea view double (room 410 which is a turret room which was refurbished circa 3yrs ago and had completely new furniture 10months ago) with full english breakfast for 2 adults with free car parking for £49.00 does represent value for money, and maybe it would have been more constructive to mention any of your coments at the reception desk where we could have dealt with then asap.

thank you for the pictures of room 410, i will look into the bathroom defects, the corridor is waiting to be refurbished in the 2 areas which have been affected from roof leaks following the terrible weather a few weeks ago but I completely do not agree with any of your comments regarding the room (410) this room is by no means "extremely tatty" as you put it and as for the full English breakfasts they usually are adequate for most of our guests but if you would have liked a larger portion all you needed to do was ask and we would have duly obliged so you could have enjoyed your breakfast rather than taking pictures of it.

but thank you for your positive comments regarding our location and staff

Regards

Wayne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

First the good. On arrival, reception staff were polite and friendly.

Now the bad. A sea view was advertised, I paid for it so expected it. The only view from my window was a filthy iron railing and scaffolding which completely obscured the sky, let alone the sea. On the morning that I checked out I had the further delight of a construction worker climbing past my room and smirking at me as I stood naked in the room after a shower.

The room was dirty, wallpaper and paintwork peeled off the walls and the wood in the window frame was rotting, which contributed to the general draughtiness. The shower was just about large enough for one person to stand in but not to turn around, and the water drained so slowly that after each shower I was left standing up to my shins in dirty water which spilled over into the rest of the bathroom. When I called to confirm my booking I was told that free wifi was available in guest rooms but on arrival I found this to be untrue. Wifi was available only in the lobby and bar, and these areas were often too crowded to allow comfortable use.

Breakfast was pure Fawlty Towers. On arrival in the dining room I was ordered to share a table the size of a briefcase with a very elderly man who chewed and digested his food with difficulty and spat quite a lot of it over me. This wasn't his fault, I'm sure he's a perfectly nice man but he didn't make an ideal table companion. When I asked to be seated at another table I was told this was not possible, even though the dining room was less than half full. An irate woman advised me that the hotel had a policy of sitting single diners together to economise on space. She spoke to me in the tone I'd expect a nurse to use to a senile resident at a care home. The actual meal was cold and depressing. A sausage the size of my thumb was undercooked (sausage tartare?) and the fried egg had the texture of a hockey puck. On the following two mornings I had breakfast at the Brewer's Fayre restaurant at the nearby Premier Inn. I had to pay £8.25 each day but the food was hot, well cooked and plentiful, and as a paying customer I was allowed the courtesy of sitting at the table of my choice.

Large numbers of the guests I met during my stay were older people who expressed dissatisfaction with the level of service and discomfort with a hotel that offers only a single small lift that travelled between floors at a snail's pace, but told me they put up with it because they didn't like to make a fuss. Clearly this hotel will stay in business as long as there are paying customers with low expectations willing to do as they are told and take what they are given, but if you're looking for respect for privacy, meals and accommodation that are meant to be enjoyed not endured, and any semblance of actual service, then this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank DaveCV63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
DaveCV63,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us, unfortunately it would appear that our team who generally offer great service was not what your expectations were, as you will see from the many positive reviews prior to yours that our customers are generally happy with the service we offer so i hope you find a more suitable holiday experience next time you travel.

regards

Wayne & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

we stayed here for a couple of nights,the staff were very friendly ,room clean but did need abit of up grade (we had a sea view-but spoilt because of scaffolding)our friends had a good room with a better view
food was good,something for everyone
the entertainment on both nights was a guitarist ,both were good
the only bad thing was the weather ,but nobody can predict that
would like to go back trying to persuade hubby to treat me to a superior room (with views all around,like a suite)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hewitt737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Hello hewitt737,

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review following your recent stay with us, I apologise about the scaffolding but we had a small amount of remedial works that needed to be completed following our rough weather, but it was great to read that it did not detract from our usual standards of offering good food, well served by happy and friendly staff and I agree the superior rooms are fantastic and with great views, I'm sure you will enjoy them when you next visit us.

Regards

Wayne and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
797 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
619 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#18 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing