We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to unwind.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was second time l've stayed here and l could not fault it.l had a single room which was newly decorated and comfortable.The room overlooked the sea and l was lucky enough to have good weather,in fact it was too hot for me!
l only had breakfast which was really tasty.Will be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maggsWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Good evening Mags West Midlands

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us and it's good to read your great comments regarding our rooms, service and standards we have on offer for our customers, hopefully we will see you again soon

Regards
Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

357 - 363 of 650 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our first stay at the hotel. Considering we paid extra for the room was disappointed with the bed. Considering such a large room only a small double!!! Not what you get used too.
At 88 years young to old to climb into baths and not safe. Why no walk in shower.
Drinking Water provided first night but not replenished unless £2.00 paid for bottle costing pennies.
Food ok and enjoyed breakfast
Room very warm and had to leave windows open and disturbed by noise.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Ivan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Ivan D,

Thank you for your review, I'm sorry you didn't like the facilities in our superior rooms, it is really unusual for this regarding our superior rooms as normally they are greatly liked by our customers. The water in the superior rooms are a complementary arrival service standard and then we offer the facility to purchase further bottles of water during your stay,

Regards
Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Decided to stay at the Grand Atlantic based on previous reviews however I was very disappointed. The room was clean but in desperate need of updating and modernising even though previous reviews said this had been done recently. The room was unbearably hot, there was no air at all which made sleeping very uncomfortable, in fact it was probably the worst nights sleep I have ever experienced! The staff were pleasant and the food okay however most definitely will not be returning in the very near future........

Room Tip: View it first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Jane m,

Thanks for your review, I believe this duplicates your partners review "room 402"
I just wish something had been said to us at reception during your 2 nights, or when I checked yourselves out. But as I said in your partners review it is very difficult for us to sort out small issues once you have checked out and not made us aware of your issues during your stay...

Regards

Wayne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a 2 night stay at the Grand Atlantic Hotel and were put in room 402, it was clean but very dated and in need of refurbishment, the bathroom was in a poor state but the biggest problem was the main room had a tiny window and the room had no air and was stiflingly hot and I never slept a wink!! Air conditioning is needed or maybe a fan might help! went there because of the reviews but believe me do not accept room 402!! staff were very polite but will not be returning to this dated poor facility hotel.

Room Tip: Air conditioned!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mozzy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Mozzy62,

Thank you for your review following your 2 night stay with us, I take on board your comments and although we was experiencing some excellent hot weather outside I'm sure we could have sorted out a fan for you while you was staying with us but it's very difficult if you don't make these comments/requests to us while your actually staying with us at the hotel....

Regards
Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

this was our third weekend at the grand atlantic and found that it is still one of our favourite sheariings hotel. all staff are very friendly and helpful, the food is vey good (always hot) .we had a room with sea view which was very clean and comfortable, the only problem we had was the price of drinks , nearly eight pounds for a glass of wine and half of beer so after 1st drinks did not buy any more. we saw people come down in lift with drinks from room so if they reduced prices they would sell more, will not pay for wine that you can buy half the price in shops. more expensive than the cruises we go on, we will be back but without the alcohol.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Hi Clare a aldershot,

Thank you for your review after yet another relaxing weekend break you had with us, I understand your comment regarding the drinks unfortunately the set prices are out of our control but it was great to read that the food, room cleanliness, service and overall team friendliness was to your expectations once again, so we hope to see you with us again

Kind regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Having stayed at a good number of Coast & Country Hotels, we would rate the Grand as one of the best. Every member of staff that we came across was very polite, pleasant and helpful. Several showed a nice sense of humour too, which is always a good sign. The dining room set up was actually the very best we have come across so far in the Group. The waiters & waitresses were extremely efficient and "smiley". We enjoyed every single meal; hang on to your chefs, they are doing a great job. Clearly a good deal of revenue has been ploughed back into all the refurbishment that has gone on. There is still some way to go of course, as in most places these days. So, try and keep up the good work. We shall recommend you to friends and family and will doubtless return ourselves one of these days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Tony36,

Thank you for taking the time to post us a review following your weekend break with us, it was really pleasing to read your great comments praising all the team members and the friendly service we offer, along with the good food. I will be sure to pass on your review to the staff.

King regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have stayed in a number of Shearings hotels and this is the largest room I've had had. It was a twin with a separate seating area (armchair and two seat setee) and tv. Plus a walk in wardrobe/dressing room.Also a good size bathroom. It was a little bit dated round the edges but on the whole very good. The only real problem was how hot the room was. We had to keep the windows opens consequently we heard the extractor fan going all night.

The food was generally quite good especially the pasta but not quite so good with the fish. We had a seat by the window in the dining room. As this faced the sea front this was excellent. The staff were good. The restaurant manageress making sure that everything was run efficiantly.

The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and the sea front's across the road.On the whole a good place to stay and use as a base to travel round Somerset.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wayno41, General Manager at The Grand Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hi travelbug90,

Thank you for leaving us a great review following your stay with us, I agree the twin room you stayed in is a great size and ideal to relax in, it was also good to read our food, service and friendly staff are being recognised once again. Hopefully you will return to us again in the near future

Regards

Wayne and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
465 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
940 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing