We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 9 July 2010

The decor in the restaurant, corridors and reception was impressive for such an old building. Our basic second floor room, although newly painted, was a bit tired-looking. (We have thrown away better bedside lights and larger and better tv's !) The bathroom was large but needed complete renovation and we struggled to work the shower.
However, there were many plus points. Hotel is 5 minutes from nearest shops and when the promenade is finished, a stone's throw from the sea.
Service was very good in restaurant and the menu was varied. There should be something to suit everybody. We didn't sample the cafe food but it was available if you didn't want to walk into town.

Surprisingly for a Shearings hotel, we experienced all age groups from babies upwards. We would recommend for coach and self-drive customers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 631 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

Just returned from this hotel,was very clean and comfortable,maids in every day.The food was good apart from the "crisp ,fresh ,salad" which was very brown and very limp!The lack of entertainment was a bummer as we went for a walk most nights and were in bed by 10pm!The room was ok but very dark as we were at the back of the hotel,the brown wallpaper didnt help.Nice reception staff and waiters very pleasant.All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltonPrendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

we enjoyed the hotel ,food,and the service was brilliant .the only downfall was the evenings as we had to go outevery night as there was nothing to entertain us .out side it was like a bomb site .as they are doing a lot of work to the promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireJeanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The previous reviews relating to the Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston are somewhat outdated. Over the last 2 years the hotel has undergone refurbishment, with some further modifications to follow.
There are now 3 levels of accommodation, including some with 4 poster beds, along with a choice of bed and breakfast or half board.terms.
There is a varied menu and the quality of the food is very good, and the service is excellent. In addition meal times are flexible.
The hotel has very pleasant decor and a lift to all floors.
All members of staff demonstrate coutesy and willingness to help guests.

I have visited the hotel at regular intervals over the last 12 years, and would not go anywhere else in the area. The hotel has an excellent position, close to town centre with views across the channel, and there is adequate parking facilities on site.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoddersJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

This is the first time we have been to a Shearings hotel and were pleasantly surprised. When people write reviews, often they make no allowance for how much they have paid. We went for a two day cabaret weekend for £99 each, we were given an excellent room, large, newly decorated and warm, with comfortable beds.. and a great bathroom. There was entertainment on the first night and the main cabaret on Saturday, which was a rock and roll show. The food was good and the service in the restaurant excellent....This is a very old hotel but it is obvious that improvements are ongoing and parking places are generous.. Some of the reviews I have read are not of our experience. My only gripe was that the drinks prices were jacked up on the Saturday cabaret night, but apart from that no problem.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Hotel in good position and nice lounges. Very small lift which took ages and with Coach loads of people not very effective. Meals excellent and good choice. Reception clerk very rude and not very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatdKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

3 of us visited this hotel twin and single room twin room was nice and bright with lots of natural lighting single was rather gloomy but never spoilt our 5 day break rooms were clean and food was very very good service was faultless with staff being very polite, in the twin room we could only get two channels on tv, so receptionist went out and bought us a preview box so ended up with 101 channels, nothing was to much trouble for the staff and would really recommend this hotel could do with more entertainment , this did spoil it slightly

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARIEMORSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
440 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
835 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £52 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing