We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curate's Egg Hotel~Very good in parts !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We, that is myself, wife and Grand Daughter, have just returned from our 6th visit so feel entitled to give a balanced review.
Shearings presumably make the big policy decisions and the staff compensate for their mistakes.
Shearings call this a superior Hotel and assume that creaking floors and problems in some rooms with the decor will be accepted as part of the Victorian appeal. But they have decided to stop the Bingo ( too down market ?) which my wife and Grand Daughter enjoyed and the entertainment is very limited.. They presumably consider that in the dining room table cloths are not required and identical plastic daisies on every table accompanied by a paper serviette are OK for their package tour clients.The food is very good value but every course has a list of expensive alternates e.g Steak £9.99. The bar area has all the charm of a work's canteen and the furniture in the reception area is very poor quality apart from the Grand Pianola.
So why do we keep going ?
The hotel is perfectly situated and has a more than adequate car park. The sea views are marvellous (though Shearings apply eye-watering supplements). But the main reason we go back is that the staff are as old fashioned in their attitude as the Hotel itself which means thay go out of their way to make sure the guests enjoy themselves.The reviewer who complained about the receptionist must have been in the wrong Hotel.
Unfortunately I wouldn't recommend this hotel to a friend because they, unlike us, might not be prepared to ignore the problems.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GrumpyGp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (649)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

607 - 613 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

The decor in the restaurant, corridors and reception was impressive for such an old building. Our basic second floor room, although newly painted, was a bit tired-looking. (We have thrown away better bedside lights and larger and better tv's !) The bathroom was large but needed complete renovation and we struggled to work the shower.
However, there were many plus points. Hotel is 5 minutes from nearest shops and when the promenade is finished, a stone's throw from the sea.
Service was very good in restaurant and the menu was varied. There should be something to suit everybody. We didn't sample the cafe food but it was available if you didn't want to walk into town.

Surprisingly for a Shearings hotel, we experienced all age groups from babies upwards. We would recommend for coach and self-drive customers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ex-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Just returned from this hotel,was very clean and comfortable,maids in every day.The food was good apart from the "crisp ,fresh ,salad" which was very brown and very limp!The lack of entertainment was a bummer as we went for a walk most nights and were in bed by 10pm!The room was ok but very dark as we were at the back of the hotel,the brown wallpaper didnt help.Nice reception staff and waiters very pleasant.All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoltonPrendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

we enjoyed the hotel ,food,and the service was brilliant .the only downfall was the evenings as we had to go outevery night as there was nothing to entertain us .out side it was like a bomb site .as they are doing a lot of work to the promenade.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshireJeanie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

The previous reviews relating to the Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston are somewhat outdated. Over the last 2 years the hotel has undergone refurbishment, with some further modifications to follow.
There are now 3 levels of accommodation, including some with 4 poster beds, along with a choice of bed and breakfast or half board.terms.
There is a varied menu and the quality of the food is very good, and the service is excellent. In addition meal times are flexible.
The hotel has very pleasant decor and a lift to all floors.
All members of staff demonstrate coutesy and willingness to help guests.

I have visited the hotel at regular intervals over the last 12 years, and would not go anywhere else in the area. The hotel has an excellent position, close to town centre with views across the channel, and there is adequate parking facilities on site.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoddersJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2010

This is the first time we have been to a Shearings hotel and were pleasantly surprised. When people write reviews, often they make no allowance for how much they have paid. We went for a two day cabaret weekend for £99 each, we were given an excellent room, large, newly decorated and warm, with comfortable beds.. and a great bathroom. There was entertainment on the first night and the main cabaret on Saturday, which was a rock and roll show. The food was good and the service in the restaurant excellent....This is a very old hotel but it is obvious that improvements are ongoing and parking places are generous.. Some of the reviews I have read are not of our experience. My only gripe was that the drinks prices were jacked up on the Saturday cabaret night, but apart from that no problem.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank power999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Hotel in good position and nice lounges. Very small lift which took ages and with Coach loads of people not very effective. Meals excellent and good choice. Reception clerk very rude and not very helpful

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatdKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
464 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing