We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very cold hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
tonteg
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very cold hotel”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

just returned from a weekend away.
food ok . service good .
all areas clean but very cold no heating on ( i know the weather was very cold with snow ).
the bedroom again was cold we had a heater that we left on all weekend and put into the bathroom before using the bath room very cold.
dinning room and lounge bar again very cold no heating on. too cold to sit and have a drink . we took the drinks to the bedroom and put the heater on.
car parking a bonus plenty of spaces in front and behind hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amortonteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    210
    159
    74
    40
See reviews for
78
363
25
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

Visited again for the Carnival, hotel was near to capacity with coach tours and individual travellers. We had booked the same room as before a Superior room which cost extra ,but, was well worth the money. Large very well furnished,comfortable bed, very nice bathroom with good water supply and fittings.The room was cleaned daily and clean towels,etc good quality toiletries replenished every day.A credit to the housekeeping staff. The receptionist welcomed us and gave us information on the new inclusive deal (unexpected) free bar in the evening and a packed lunch on one day. When looking at this hotel it must be taken into account the very reasonable costs involved in staying.. The waiting staff and chef do a great job, the food was varied and nicely cooked, ( if required you can pay extra if you want 20 oz of meat as a mixed grill.)Many of our fellow guests disapproved of the lack of entertainment, just a singer on two nights of the four we stayed, this did not detract from our enjoyment as we prefer the quiet life and maybe get out of the hotel into town for the evenings. Only down side the bar staff appeared have problem with smiling and seemed to have a different attitude when compared with the other staff, its good value and we like it. We will be going back again next year.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmigoWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

I'm sure that in the summer months this hotel would have been ok.

We stayed here in March 2010 during a very cold, wet and windy spell. I have left my review until now in order to warn other travellers who may be spending time at this hotel during the winter months. Take plenty of warm clothing and also a portable heater if you can fit it into your luggage. The heating broke down on the second day of our stay and was still not fixed when we left four days later. There was no hot water either for the last two days.

This is not an unusual occurance at the Grand Atlantic. If you read back in the reviews you will see that the heating at this hotel has broken down before; more than once!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank suegprice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

kettering
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

staff very friend;y and helpful .
our only gripe was that we paid exra for a seaview ,amongst us we had 3 rooms and each window was in need of replacing ,double glazing steamed up inside .

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank splashKettering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

Good hotel, clean and tidy friendly staff, food good but small portions! entertainment non existant !!! might have been better if the pier was open but still rebuilding and road works all along the sea front, not much night life.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Davec471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport gwent uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Being regular Shearings travellers this hotel did not come up to expectations. Very short and brief entertainment programme, no dancing, People much happier when music was being played and bar more busy. Why cant they give better entertainment like the Savoy hotel in Bournemouth, where we were in July 10. Staff in Atlantic were polite and helpful but we will give this one a miss for a while.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rocky062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2010

Room was large and airy, and comfortable, carpets were grubby.TV very old.,Dining hall very clean, although food was poor. very small lift to cater for such a large hotel. and receptionist should have a course on how to be pleasant to guests.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wetwindyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
344 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
429 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Atlantic Hotel

Property: The Grand Atlantic Hotel
Address: 32 Beach Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grand Atlantic Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Grand Atlantic Hotel you’ll find a magnificent turreted period property typical of the historic resort of Weston-super-Mare. The hotel stands in an excellent position on the town’s seafront, just a stone’s throw from a safe sandy beach. As well as its proximity to the town, the Grand Atlantic Hotel makes an excellent base from which to explore the West Country. The Hotel houses all of the amenities and facilities you would expect from a Coast and Country venue. In addition, our staff will offer you a warm, friendly welcome, and ensure that your stay is as relaxing and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your The Grand Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Atlantic Weston Super Mare
Grand Atlantic Hotel Weston Super Mare
Hotel Grand Atlantic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing