We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An absolute gem, couldn't have found better”
Review of Uphill Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Uphill Manor
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An absolute gem, couldn't have found better”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned with my family from Western Super Mare for my daughters wedding in Lympsham, and stayed at this fantastic 1800 period manor house, which is about 5 minutes drive from the beach and town centre. What a find, this guest house is run by a delightfull couple, Tina and Craig. From the minute we arrived they made our stay warm and welcoming. The house has just 5 guest rooms all large double rooms with double beds (mattress was of medium softness, I personally prefer very soft) with on suite bathrooms all done in period impecable styling. All rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, plus Bottled water, tv and some even had a seperate shower room in addition to the bath, complete with shower gell and potions. Not only do you get all this in the room you also have some of Tina's amazing home baked short bread left sealed on a plate next to the tea and coffee in addition you also have another dish with some small rapped chocolates .We booked all 5 rooms for ourselves and family and took over the house for the weekend. In the morning we went down for the breakfast, all I can say is possibly the best breakfast I have ever had in any establishment and you can see from my past revues I have stayed in quite a varied range of places across the globe. Let me tell you as well as the regular cereal, they offer there own home made granola, they also offer tea,coffee and fruit juice plus fresh fruit and you are also treated to home made bread (baked by Tina and Craig) as well as homemade Jam and marmalade, as well as that the eggs for your English breakfast are from there own hens and if that wasn't enough, you have some superb pork Sausages (real meaty ones) and beautifully lean slightly smoked, dry cured back bacon. As well as this there is also kippers, eggs cooked anyway you like(even an omelette)and variousness other options. Now I should also state that this is no small B and B, even though it only has 5 bedrooms the house itself sits in its own 18 acres of beautiful gardens. The views at breakfast time are magnificent.
For those of you who like a little tipple in the evening there is also a bar room filled with all the various alcoholic beverages you could ever want.
The overall impression of the house is very clean and the rooms where spotless with lots of attention to detail. Free wifi was also available.
I cannot praise this guest house enough if you are ever looking for a fantastic place to stay while visiting this region then don't bother to look around go straight to Uphill Manor , for the price which includes this amazing breakfast, it can not be beaten. Only one comment as this is a period building this not a place to take children,this is more a retreat for a couple or someone who appreciates quality and enjoys beautifull surroundings and will appreciate the history of the Manor House.

Room Tip: All the rooms where excellent and we should know as we booked all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thingy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
51
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Surpassed our expectations, most magical like 'Harry Potter' meets Hilton! Steeped in history and wonderfulness! Tina and Craig are the most wonderful hosts, the breakfasts with homemade jams and baked bread are the best we've ever had. Home made shortbread left in rooms for evening was lovely touch. The attention to detail on every aspect, was second to none. Added bonus not far from beach. We'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Was made to feel very welcome at first, great services all round, lovely room to stay in, facilites and refreshments in room were excellent. Would definitely go back next year, highly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 57Janet58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Brilliant place to stay nothing too much trouble lots of little extras. Fresh jam butter and milk not a packet in sight. Set in lovely woody location will definitely stay here again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
235 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The setting for a quality weekend in Weston Super Mare. The arrival was welcoming and Uphill Manor wowed friends who joined us here for the first time.

Following us sampling the offerings of Weston Super mare, a slightly old fashioned but improving seaside scene, we headed for the oasis of calm afforded by Uphill Manor.

Our friends were unaware of the lovely setting, so upon arrival at the house they were taken aback by the house and the garden setting. Met by Tina with a very warm reception we were shown to our spacious rooms and then enjoyed tea in front of a log fire in the library .

The architecture of the house and surrounding parkland grounds are delightful in every way and made for a very relaxed stay. Definitely a future option and this would make a wonderful 'house party' for eight or ten friends looking for a quality weekend.

Dining options exist nearby in Uphill but WSM has a number of quality restaurants a short taxi drive away.

Would love to go back for a few days next time to fully enjoy the relaxed setting.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Papabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Fantastic break with good hospitable host Tina and Craig. We enjoyed our stay with friends and family so much that we already booked a mini break in November. Stunning place,massive rooms and good breakfast. Good views of the garden and woods

Raj and Rina

Room Tip: Every room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RajPatel1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Buren, Arkansas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I could write a book on this place! We have stayed in a lot of B&Bs in the UK, Europe, and other parts of the word, but this one we feel is the best one we have stayed at. It has 19 acres of beautiful landscaped property to explore and is a great place to take pictures. My wife loved the library that had a nice fire in the fireplace to enjoy as she read her book. There is an honor bar for guests to use that is very well stocked. I had a delicious omelet for breakfast that was so big I almost couldn't eat it all. Craig was a gracious host and was helpful in all areas of our stay. We hope to return one day and stay longer. It is neat to know that the eggs they used are actually laid by their own hens! The room was very spacious and clean. We would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone!
Thanks - Pam and Bill

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlin1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare East (A370) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare Ea...
#7 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
2.9 mi away
Church House
Church House
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
5.0 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.7 mi away
Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast
Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast
#8 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uphill Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uphill Manor

Property: Uphill Manor
Address: Uphill Road South, Weston-super-Mare BS23 4SD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Uphill Manor Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing