We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent upmarket B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent upmarket B&B”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Sadly, we only spent one night at the Oak and Glass, but I would have been delighted to spend longer. We stayed in the Putting Room, which is the middle room in terms of facilities and price. The whole house is beautifully decorated - clean and fresh. The owner was completely unfazed by our early arrival, and let us into the rooms early. Our bathroom was compact but perfectly good enough for our purposes, and came equipped with shampoo and body wash. Breakfast was excellent - a wide range of cereals, fresh fruit and cooked alternatives. We didn't eat in the evening as we were staying for a wedding, but everyone at the reception was singing the praises of the cook. We will certainly be staying again!

Room Tip: The Putting Room is a good size and looks towards the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    17
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
60
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We recently had our wedding on the 8th June 2013 at the Oak and Glass. To start with, when we first decided that we wanted to get married there we made an appointment to meet the proprietor, Amy. She comes highly recommended and we were not disappointed by her relaxing amiable approach. She straight away put us at ease and over the preceding year she became very much a part of our wedding plans so much so that we trusted her to come up with 3 different choices for our wedding breakfast. She did not disappoint with her choices which I will come back to. We did visit the restaurant to try one of her meals and we left after a funny evening with the words 'wow, that was amazing'. We took our friends to have a meal there and again, the food was delightful. We made several changes to our guest numbers which started off at 26 and doubled. This was not a problem. She was more than accommodating. NOTHING was too much trouble. People dropped out, names and menu choices changed but nothing was too much trouble, in fact I would go as far as to say, nothing was a problem. Organising it with her was absolutely lovely. We had the wedding package which included the bride to be staying in one of the rooms upstairs with one guest who was her chief bridesmaid with a 3 course meal the night before, breakfast in the morning and after we were married I would be staying there for our wedding night. My now wife and the chief bridesmaid who hates most decent food and is a KFC kind of girl absolutely loved the food. It is Michelin Star quality food at reasonable prices. I arrived the next day with my wedding party to find what I can only describe as the most beautifully dressed rooms, table and wedding area. The attention to detail was stunning. Everywhere I turned there was a small reminder of our wedding theme placed all around the venue. The tables were beautifully but tastefully dressed. I couldn't believe that this was our wedding. It was breath taking. Literally breath taking. All our guests were very impressed with the venue. Its small, its intimate, its classy and the staff work in a way and mingle in a way with the guest, unobtrusive but present. The wedding was amazing. Our wedding was amazing and the venue and the help of Amy, Kate and all he staff played a big part in it. Added to that the weather that day was beautiful so being able to chill out in the beautiful gardens and in the conservatory was heavenly. Throughout the day Amy, Kate and staff delivered canapés to the guests which were exquisite and made me wonder what was that, that was nice. They were very moreish and a great introduction to what we were about to receive. Amy said the food would be served at 5pm and at exactly 5pm the food was served, and oh my God, everybody, man for man, woman for woman, ate everything. The food was delightful. We started with an amuse bouche, followed by a starter, main course and a desert which I must say had me thinking how do people make food so tasty. I didn't want it to finish. We retired to the stunning very tastefully decorated room with own huge bathroom and living room. Woke up next morning to a very high standard champagne breakfast. I cant big this place up enough. We had a better than excellent experience from start to finish and will continue to visit and recommend this to all and sundry as it is a wonderful venue for all occasions.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre. The Beach and the Sea Front is across the road. What more could you ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markkus1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms are stunning with attention to detail.
The food is amazing and the owners are warm and welcoming.
Would keep returning there it's so relaxing.
The breakfast is a very high standard and offers great choice.
The restaurant which opens three or four times a week is well worth going to.
There is great views to the rooms and there is a little garden.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJHawkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this B&B. We had a front facing room which looked pretty and light when we were first shown it. We went back to the room in the evening but, on what had been a sunny day in May, once the sun disappeared the room was really cold. There was no heating on in the whole building. The big windows are original and don't fit well which meant that the wind whistled in through the gaps and, as a previous reviewer mentioned, the noise from traffic, people going home and early morning bin lorries was annoying. The problem is that the owners do not live in the premises and you have to ring them to get anything and it seemed a bit over the top to get them out. We went to bed to keep warm! We hoped to get warm with a shower in the morning but the shower is weedy and would only provide luke warm water. The breakfast was good again but that was the only warm part of our visit!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JDEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmyHunt, Owner at Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear JDEKent

Thanks for the review you’ve posted regarding your stay, and very sorry it wasn’t totally up to your expectations and previous experience.

You are right in saying that we are not always in the same building when guests need us, however we are only in the house at the back so always on the premises and only moments away, and always happy to help so never worry about speaking to us regardless how small or large the request.

We clearly misjudged the evening you stayed after the hot and sunny day, and we apologies for that. May was a funny month heating wise, hot one minute cold the next! With regards to the windows and noise from the road, although not perfect, they are a feature of the property. It’s our hope that the heavy curtains and heating normally help limit this issue.

We are aware of the shower problem from other recent feedback and we are planning to replace this as soon as possible.

For any future guests, if you find something is below expectation or not quite right, then we’d prefer to be given chance to do everything we can to improve it while your with us, so please feel free to speak to us at any time.

Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon for a warmer stay!

Amy and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

First of all I would say it is more like a small hotel rather than a B&B due to the fact we were greeted via staff members that worked there when we arrived rather than the actual owners but that is a not a bad thing. We was very welcomed and first impressions were good. The room itself (The Putting Room) was very spacious, lovely pastel colours, gorgeous view with a cushioned seating area around the window, clean, beautiful open fire place, and the bed was very comfy. Bathroom a very reasonable size with many toiletries to choose from (they would appreciate you to leave the toiletries for other guests). The only critisicim I give this room is that it is situated next to the road that is quite busy. Apart from that the room was lovely and I would definitely stay in it again. We had tea there and the scone was heavenly so fresh that it crumbled. We also dined at Oak and Glass for dinner and the food was absolutely amazing Michelin style. If I was a critic I would definitely give Amy stars. She has worked for a number of top chefs such as Raymond Blanc. The presentation of the food as well as the taste was gorgeous and value for money for the food on offer was worth every penny. In fact I think she could charge a lot more. At breakfast we met the owners of the B&B and they are a lovely couple. The breakfast was also very nice. One of the best B&B's I have stayed at with charm and character. The B&B is also just a stones throw from the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4lemons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I recently stayed here with my husband and daughter and we were made very welcome. The room was lovely, with fabulous views. The service was excellent and we had a really enjoyable couple of nights. Would definitely recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treviso, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

The guest house is located next to the sea front some one and half miles from the centre. Rooms and, bar and restaurant have a very nice personal touch. Servoce was very good and staff friendly. This a place that I would certainly recommend both for a business stop over as well as for a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaVenice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
431 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
638 reviews
1.3 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
177 reviews
1.4 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#16 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1 Uphill Road North, Weston-super-Mare BS23 4NE, England (Formerly Rooms with Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quickly established itself as one of Weston's most luxurious and special places to stay Oak and Glass has 3 exclusive luxury rooms which fully compliment it's fine dining restaurant experience. They are all finished to a very high standard in our recently restored home on Weston-super-Mare's famous seafront.All our rooms have a king sized bed, are ensuite, all have sea views, tea and coffee facilities and TV and are decorated and furnished with modern detailing that compliments the character of this amazing property. Breakfast is included in your stay and includes various options alongside the traditional English cooked breakfast. A vegetarian breakfast is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Agoda and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Oak and Glass Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak And Glass Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing