We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dauncey's Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rookery Manor(Edingworth)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queenswood Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Atlantic Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Commodore Hotel(Kewstoke)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lauriston Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Sandringham Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$95
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabot Court Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Anchor Head Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
52
114
93
58
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
114
93
58
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic sea viewssome tlcseaside hotelbit datednational holidayslick of paintthe ritzwaiting stafffull englishpierfloorboards
Filter
Updating list...
354 - 359 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

It needs refurbishing so desperately throughout. Our room was hysterical, every floorboard creaked very loudly the bed was so old and soft roll together was inevitable! The curtains didn't fit the windows and were pointless as they were so thin light flooded in as soon as it was daylight. Only one bedside lamp, a tv that was so tiny you almost didn't see it (no remote either). The room was however clean.... Breakfast was cold but the view was good. The location was great and as we have family here that live near the hotel we like to stay this end but I have to say we won't stay here again. Fortunately we have a sense of humour and saw the funny side and got an ok deal with late rooms otherwise I would be really upset if this was my holiday residence.....

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nic-Billy-and-Char
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My boyfriend and I booked into Daunceys for a weekend break, staying the Saturday night. We arrived at lunch on Saturday and went to find the hotel. It is to the northerly end of the beaches and centre of town and in a quiet location. The lack of parking was a bit annoying, but we found a free place to park on an adjacent street which was fine. We received a very friendly welcome, and having arrived too early to check in, opted to have a drink and sit on the terrace until our room was ready.

The beer was good, and the hotel terrace was literally right on the seas edge. The view was great and the terrace a bit of a sun trap. The manager came and found us quite quickly and allowed us to check in early as our room was ready.

We were on the top floor and had a lovely sea view. Being a wonderful Victorian building, there were a series of stairs and lifts available to us, although he didn't fancy braving the "old fashioned" lift with it's double manual sliding doors.

The room was large, with an excellent view. Sadly the decor was very dated and a bit shabby, the furniture was flat pack, and the wardrobe wobbled abit, however the room was very clean (and in fact much cleaner than some "better" hotels that I have stayed in - and paid more money for).

The bed was very comfortable, and I was really impressed with the crisp white fresh bed linen, and quality fluffy white towels.

I thought that the hotel ideally suited for our break. We went into Weston on Saturday night, and "partied" and Daunceys was an easy walk back, but far enough away from the centre to enjoy a very quiet, peaceful nights sleep.

On the weekend we were there were quite a few groups staying, and the bar was full of groups and couples enjoying a late night drink. This gave the place a bit of atmosphere and we had a late drink when we got back. I would imagine that it could have been a bit quiet otherwise, although there was a "games room" off the bar with a pool table etc.

I would definitely visit again, and hope that over time Grand Hotels UK spend a little to bring the rooms back into the 21st Century.

Friendly nice staff, great views, clean, comfortable beds, lovely location, but needs an update!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

60 Shipmates & Guests 'all over 60' spent a very enjoyable weekend at this venue. This venue is amongst the top ones we have mustered in over the past 15 years. Although Parking was 'flaged up' beforehand as a problem 'my main complaint to the manager was that I was 2 spaces from the Entrance & not directly outside', he responded that he would 'try better' next time. The rooms were spacious & clean & most of the Bathrooms now appear to have non carpet flooring. The entermainment provided was at the right level for us Oldies. We all appreciated the 'CAN DO & WILL MAKE IT HAPPEN' attitude of the Manager & his Staff. All meals were well presented & Eatable & enjoyed by all. The sea view from all Public rooms, the Prom Deck & most of the Bedrooms was much enjoyed by us 'Old Salts' & it was a change not to be on it.

Room Tip: go for the higher level sea view rooms as lower down can obstruct the view although basement gave access to prom deck from our room
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchyF390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Stayed in this seaside hotel on my way to Cornwall. The price ( £65 B&B for 2 with a sea view) was about right for what you get. It is a typical Seaside hotel built in Victorian times showing its age. The room was small but clean and the sheets too. The bathroom had a shower where you have to run around to get wet. We had dinner there in the evening for which you had to reserve a table, We did not reserve but they fitted us in . It is a hotel where everyone eats at the same time. The food was very good and the service very good too. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Be sure to get there early as it is on street parking.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ourkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I would rate this hotel, good. The hotel needs updating but the location, staff and facilities were very good.The food was adequate but plentiful.Iwas concerned after reading the reviews,but this is a 2 star hotel! and had no smells.

Room Tip: We had room 2.Small room and no bath but door out onto a terrace with fabulous views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maggie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews