We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit”
Review of Dauncey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dauncey's Hotel
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at and reviewed this hotel about a year ago. As I said in a review concerning another hotel, if you want 5* luxury, pay for it. This is a 2* hotel and I love the place, quaint, unique, and full of surprises! My only complaint is the tv. Unfortunately, (as I am sure they already know), unlike the old analogue system, freeview does not take kindly to a handful of digital receivers supplying a signal to scores of old style televisions. I know it is expense, and I was told that Daunceys are slowly replacing the old sets. Unfortunately, my room was not one of these.
I don't know any names, but the breakfast staff made you feel special, very polite and helpful. I do however know the names of the two lads on reception. Dan was great. Very laid back and a good conversationalist. Andy was the night shift guy. Couldn't do enough, despite the fact that he was worn out by a neighbour keeping him awake during the day with his steel drums!
Hotels/Guest Houses/B&Bs are allowed to designate some of their bedrooms as designated smoking rooms. These are not public areas. Hotel bedrooms are classed as temporary residence for paying guests, and are exempt under the Health Act 2006. Not one hotel in Weston super Mare take advantage of this facility. There is just the one on the outskirts, Days Inn in Sedgemour. I am surprised that a large hotel like Daunceys do not have designated smoking bedrooms catering for the 20% of the adult population who would appreciate being able to enjoy a pipe, cigar or cigarette in their room. I have stayed in hotels which do, and they do a roaring trade.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timbone51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and your kind comments regarding our staff.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we do hope that you will be able to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 398 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Although we only stayed for one night we will certainly return. We were made to feel very welcome. Everywhere was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were very pleasant and keen to be helpful. The view from our room was super looking over the bay. There was a balcony from the lounges where we could sit with a drink and watch the sun set. It was quiet and relaxing. Although the hotel does not have a car park it was easy to find some where very close. A lovely walk into town along the seafront too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GmB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay at The Dauncey's

Once again many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Coach Tour by a local company. Very good value for money, Hotel Staff very pleasant, Hotel Manager Simon always very helpful if a request was made it was dealt with quite efficiently and quickly. The food was very good, you had a very wide choice on the menu, The dining room staff were very efficient you were never kept waiting for your meal, which you chose at breakfast. Rooms were of a reasonable size with plenty of drawer and wardrobe space. Would have no hesitation of visiting it again.

Room Tip: Room was on the ground floor with sea view room 8 very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team as I know how much these are appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Good value as we booked through Booking.com. A bit dated but my parents enjoyed it. It attracts an older crowd who seem relaxed and comfortable in the comfortable bar and balcony. Breakfast was small but the staff were very friendly and helpful. We only stayed for one night on en route to Cornwall but it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel and your kind comments regarding our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

just spent a week at this hotel with national holidays, food very nice, staff pleasant, not to bad a week friendly set of people on our coach and a good driver, the only moan i have is unfortunately our room did not have sea view but week was enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trollybus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The frontage is listed as it is interesting, though it could do with a lick of paint. Other parts of this traditional hotel too are interesting and full of character. The hotel generally was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The stair carpets were worn and shabby and in the room we had, some of the wallpaper was damaged and the seat of one of the two chairs was torn. There were two lifts both old fashioned and neither very efficient. Some people were nervous using them but most rooms were on the second or third floor and the restaurant was in the basement.

You had to choose your evening meal at breakfast time, and in the evening everyone has to wait upstairs until half past six to go down to your appointed table together. The wine list is kept in the bar on the ground floor and not the restaurant, we ordered a bottle of fairly common wines from it for two of our three nights, not too many people seem to be having a bottle with their meal but then the bar ran out of these wines.

The breakfasts consisted of the normal array of cereals, fruit and fruit juices followed by various egg dishes or a grill of one sausage, one piece of bacon, half tomato, a fried egg and beans (you could omit any item) and coffee or tea. The evening meals were of four courses plus tea or coffee even though this was a cheapish coach trip. The food at the evening meal was adequate but certainly not plentiful; portion sizes were strange. One evening the menu choice was sliced roast gammon, 2 very thin small slices but another choice was chicken breast, full size chicken breast, another a fish pie in a large dish. There was no information on the menu as to the size of the portions.

I was on a coach trip as were nearly all there. The coaches had to unload and load some distance from the hotel as it was on a narrow street, this represented an inconvenience.

We had a room on the third floor, when we turned on the hot tap no water came out. I asked at reception and they tried to fix it. After turning the bath tap and the hand basin on and off a few times plenty of hot water came out but this lack of water from the hot tap persisted throughout our stay. It also meant the water tended to run boiling or cold at interval throughout a shower. This was a family room and young children could get hurt.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPR-amble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Many thanks for your review of your stay with us recently.

As you say, Daunceys is full of character and we know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Many thanks once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Travelled with friends on a coach tour based on this hotel. Tour was excellent with good driver and first class tour manager. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel was clean. However all their efforts were spoilt by the hotel itself which needs a complete refurbishment and upgrade in both the public areas and individual rooms. This was compounded by the poor quality of the main meals, where a larger budget is required. It is very sad to see the hard work of the staff not supported by the group management, who do not seem to realise that investment in the hotel and catering will justify increased room rates and enhance profitability.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190735DelBoy060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments.
We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
446 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
420 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#17 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#25 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
348 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauncey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauncey's Hotel

Address: Claremont Cresent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dauncey's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Dauncey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing