We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dauncey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dauncey's Hotel
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Burntwood
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Christmas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

the hotel is difficult to access by coach due to location
the food is good but the service is very slow depending on where you sit
during our stay the entertainment was average
the main complaint would be the cold drafts and the leaking roof to the dining room which is also the entertainment room, the hotel is 3 joined which makes it a bit of a `rabbit waren`
the staff were helpful. the photo`s in this site are about right.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I really was very sorry to read your comments, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    110
    85
    50
    66
See reviews for
63
153
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Being a coach driver of many years and been to many resorted and stayed at the same ammount of hotels ( about 35/40 per year ).
I had the good fortune to be sent to the Daunceys Hotel in Weston-Super-Mare.
All I can say is BRILLIANT One of the best I have stayed in..
The staff are so welcoming the food is great and the whole atmosphere sets you at rest for a good holiday......It is owned By Grand U.K. Holiday in Norwich.
Everything is looked after including luggage and any small thing required .
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to the manager and his team who will be pleased to read them.

Thank you once again for your custom and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

2 night stay. Extremely friendly and helpful management and staff. However the place us on a par with a care home (no disrespect to anyone intended). It needs a couple of million spent on it to bring it up to date. Set in a 1970's time warp!!!
Everything is about 20 year old as a minimum!!!!
I really appreciated the staff and there was nothing they could so about the fixtures and fittings but just ensure you are prepared if you book. Finally, very popular with the older generation. Not a bad thing as we will all get there but for younger families probably best avoid.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Emiliascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

it was really dated, round the shower was black, when i booked it i was told i would have a sea view, my room overlooked the road, parking wasn't very good, we had to park the car and leave it there all weekend. booked it for my birthday but wasn't very happy with it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was naturally most disappointed to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations and I would like to begin by saying that we do take all feedback seriously.

We do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in the area, however, we know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel. We have an ongoing maintenance programme for this and are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term and have certainly taken your comments on board to aid this process.

Unfortunately, without our own car park it can be difficult around the town as spaces are limited.

Thank you once again for your review and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Weston-super-Mare hotels

kidderminster
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay in this hotel. The hotel is definitely dated and in much need of some TLC. Our room was small, with little insulation, some newspaper had been wedged in the window to stop it knocking. You could hear a lot of noise from other guests with doors banging and tv's on, despite the one night only 4 couples were actually staying in the hotel. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable and the duvet quite thin considering the lack if insulation in the room. The tv was a throw back from the 60s without a remote which we asked for it to be changed, which it promptly was. The bathroom was very retro with lino flooring, and quaint tiles. The breakfast was okay, although we hadn't finished our cereal and our cooked breakfast was being brought out to us! (And my OH isn't slow at eating either!). The breakfast waitress kept moving people half way through their breakfast, to move them elsewhere in the restaurant (it wasn't busy, far from it!) she kept calling everyone 'love or lovie'. It amused us! HOWEVER, I think all these flaws make the hotel! It is dated but full of character, it is quaint, and the high ceilings and stone work is beautiful. All the staff were really friendly and willing to help with anything we wanted, which you don't often get nowadays in many modern hotels! Despite the room being retro, it was spotlessly clean. The view of the sea from our room was lovely and we were able to watch a cracking storm. If your looking for fluffy robes and a mini bar this hotel isn't for you, but if you want friendly staff, good views, and retro rooms for reasonable rates then this is for you!

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank emma l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

My partner and daughter have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel. We booked on line through late rooms and thought we had got a reasonable deal.
However, we arrived outside a shabby looking building more than a little worse for wear and managed to secure a very tight parking space. Not a good start!!! Checking in was hardly a delight, a quick unfriendly lets take your money and here are your keys approach left us feeling quite uncomfortable. On arrival to our rooms after walking along very worn carpet and dirty walls crying out for a coat of paint, it felt like entering a residential care home with 2 single beds set out with very out of date furniture and an antique tv, radio alarm and bedside light, clearly pre dating to the first world war!!! Thank goodness we had sea views.
The following morning after the worst night sleep ever due to creaky floors, constant banging of doors, noisey pipes and a very uncomfortable mattress, we ventured cautiously down for breakfast to be told at 9.20am i am not sure the chef will be able to cook for you now, we pointed out it was not 9.30am yet as stated to us and begrudgingly we were seated and our order taken, however the buffet part was quickly dismantled and removed without checking that we had taken enough. We felt very uncomfortable.
9.30am latest time for breakfast on Sunday morning with a 10.30am checkout is very unrealistic at a weekend and we had come away for a restful weekend which we couldnt have. We certainly would have avoided this hotel on these times alone had the information been available beforehand.
We are very disapointed all around with this accomodation and it spoilt what was meant to be a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was naturally most disappointed to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations and I would like to begin by saying that we do take all feedback seriously. Simon, the General Manager, shares my disappointment and has asked me to pass their apologies on to you.

We do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in the area, however, we know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel. We have an ongoing maintenance programme for this and are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term and have certainly taken your comments on board to aid this process.

Thank you once again for your review and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have organised a weekend event for a group of people for 6/7 years. This last weekend was for 42 people. As always we were looked after with the utmost care and consideration. The atmosphere in this hotel is always friendly and helpful. The decor in some of the rooms needs a little attention but somehow that adds to the charm of the hotel. We have already booked for next year would suggest that the hotel offers good value for money.
PS. The foods good too!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Simon and his team who will be pleased to read them.

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.0 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#16 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#27 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauncey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauncey's Hotel

Property: Dauncey's Hotel
Address: Claremont Cresent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dauncey's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Ebookers so you can book your Dauncey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing