We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Awful”
Review of Dauncey's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dauncey's Hotel
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here 1 night, last minute booking due to the lovely weather! We booked 2 rooms, upon arrival there were 3 people in front of us checking in. We had been standing there 25 minutes before we eventually got to the desk, upon hearing several times throughout our wait "the boss has messed everything up and left to go to the pub, but will be back at 5" (very professional)drinking while at work??!!! We gave our name, we had booked 2 rooms, but he could only find the one booking on a very unorganised pile of check-ins on the desk, in no order what so ever! We advised the guy maybe the 2 rooms are on the one piece of paper because we made the 2 bookings together (he continued to look through the pile) I pointed out the other booking was on the same sheet of paper! Ahhh...but only 1 room has been assigned to us (again this blame was put on the manager who was at the pub) so, we get given 2 keys about 15 minutes later, my parents go to their room, we go to ours. Upon walking to our room we got the feeling it wasn't the best at all, different carpets throughout the hotel, dull, and a little smelly. However, we open the door...... The room was very very dated, yellow curtains which should have been cream I presume. A very old portable tv, a large damp patch on the ceiling, bathroom shower which has seen better days, the outside of it cracked and broken. Not mentioned the lock on the door, which didn't even have a cover on the lock - but a screw to keep the catch behind, so it shut!!!!! I had a missed call from my parents, they had been given a room with 1 single bed, they might have shared a single bed in the past but this was past a joke! They contacted reception and were given another room with a 'double' bed, which was ok. But again, stained, tv only worked if you retuned it, then the channels were constantly breaking up. I'm sure you can imagine this had finalised our view of the hotel and definitely made our decision of never ever returning there. I have taken plenty of photos and shall be sending them with my view of the hotel to the head office!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Dauncey's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

just stayed 2 nights on a last minute break.we had a mix-up with the booking as we used the price promise but the hotel knew nothing about it,however the manager gave us 2 days breakfasts on the house. he also came to the room to fix the shower but the tv was never going to work. the hotel was once a victorian terrace but now has seen better days. very creaky floorboards which didnt trouble us but probably annoyed people below. god position for sea views alas not in our room!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davehawyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We spent a 4 day break here this new year, courtesy of GrandUK Holidays. Arrived in time for evening meal which was adequate, but the dining room had buckets everywhere to catch the drips from leaky roof, crockery and cutlery had not been washed properly, but staff were welcoming and friendly. Dining room also doubled up as entertainment venue, but with multiple pillars all round the room, visibility other than in your own immediate surroundings was limited to say the least. Entertainment that first night was passable but difficult to see due to aforementioned pillars. Hotel in general was shabby with dirty carpets, curtains and tired walls, evidence of water damage from rain/water leaks was everywhere.
New Year's Eve was the biggest disappointment, from all the 'turns' that must have passed through their doors in the course of the year, they chose an Elvis impersonator who 'entertained' us for over FOUR hours! To say he was the worst tribute I had ever come across would be an understatement, he was absolutely dreadful. Apparently, according to a member of staff, he was all they could afford! That aside, what people expect on New Year's Eve is interactive entertainment, comedy, fun and a bit of a boogie, not to have to sit there 'just watching' a singer (loosely speaking) not the best way to get people back next year me thinks.
GrandUK were closing this hotel and dismissing the staff for eleven weeks straight after we all left, not for cleaning down, repairs and redecoration, but to save money! So if you plan to visit this hotel in 2014...don't

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel altogether
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CazGuffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry that the entertainment we provided did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We have used this artiste throughout the season and these are the first adverse comments we have received, however this will be reviewed for the 2014 season. We do have a close down period each year in January and February in order to carry out maintenance and repairs. Once again I would like to thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas but because of its location our coach struggled to get near so on the two occasions we went out we had to walk up to the main road to get on the coach and on christmas eve we had to get a taxi into Weston as it was much to far a walk .. The hotel could do with some updating we asked for a walk in shower , yes we could step into the shower tray it was small and only had curtain wich of course stuck to you it was cold and uncomfortable...the food was so so the staff were were quite helpful especially Donna with me having dietery problems she did try her best . The entertainment was poor infact we spent christmas day in bed as there was very little to do.. I dont think we shall be returning to this hotel again..

Room Tip: we were in room 212 wich was a good size my brother and his wife were in 211 which was quite compact...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldfinch95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Thank you for you your recent review

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

Once again, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

the hotel is difficult to access by coach due to location
the food is good but the service is very slow depending on where you sit
during our stay the entertainment was average
the main complaint would be the cold drafts and the leaking roof to the dining room which is also the entertainment room, the hotel is 3 joined which makes it a bit of a `rabbit waren`
the staff were helpful. the photo`s in this site are about right.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I really was very sorry to read your comments, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Being a coach driver of many years and been to many resorted and stayed at the same ammount of hotels ( about 35/40 per year ).
I had the good fortune to be sent to the Daunceys Hotel in Weston-Super-Mare.
All I can say is BRILLIANT One of the best I have stayed in..
The staff are so welcoming the food is great and the whole atmosphere sets you at rest for a good holiday......It is owned By Grand U.K. Holiday in Norwich.
Everything is looked after including luggage and any small thing required .
I would recommend this Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 370tobin_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to the manager and his team who will be pleased to read them.

Thank you once again for your custom and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

2 night stay. Extremely friendly and helpful management and staff. However the place us on a par with a care home (no disrespect to anyone intended). It needs a couple of million spent on it to bring it up to date. Set in a 1970's time warp!!!
Everything is about 20 year old as a minimum!!!!
I really appreciated the staff and there was nothing they could so about the fixtures and fittings but just ensure you are prepared if you book. Finally, very popular with the older generation. Not a bad thing as we will all get there but for younger families probably best avoid.

Stayed: November 2013
2  Thank Emiliascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments

We know there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
434 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Anchor Head Hotel
Anchor Head Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
156 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
623 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaward Hotel
Seaward Hotel
#26 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauncey's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauncey's Hotel

Address: Claremont Cresent, Weston-super-Mare BS23 2ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £40 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dauncey's Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Dauncey's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing