We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dauncey's Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Anchor Head Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
The New Ocean Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Birchfield Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Seaward Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Queenswood Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harmony Poynt Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Smiths Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Aparthotel Timbertop(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Lauriston Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Cabot Court Hotel(Weston-super-Mare)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (397)
Filter reviews
397 results
Traveller rating
52
114
93
58
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
114
93
58
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfantastic sea viewssome tlcseaside hotelbit datednational holidayslick of paintthe ritzwaiting stafffull englishpierfloorboards
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 397 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for a night in June. The staff were friendly & very welcoming. The room was lovely with a fantastic sea view. I booked to have breakfast, which was worth having. A tasty full fry up with juice & tea/coffee. I definitely recommend this hotel & I hope to return next year.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in July with our 89 year old mother. We had a really spacious room and our mother had a lovely single room overlooking the sea, they were spotlessly clean. The location was perfect because it was away from the hustle and bustle but you can walk, catch a bus or a cheap taxi to get into the centre. It may not be "Designer level" but it has stacks of character and the "old" lift was great fun. We had a drink out on the balcony which was wonderful, the views are lovely. Only one down side was that, as it was not in peak season and we had eaten a heavy meal in the day, we couldn't get a light snack in the evening. The staff were so helpful and could not do enough for you, they work very hard to make your stay comfortable. We all enjoyed our stay, although short, and would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SafariLovers78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I would like to say comfy room and bed had a good nights sleep, shower room, no bath but pleased to have an ensuite. This hotel was good value for what we paid cooked breakfast and cereals toast tea or coffee and juices. A lovely sea view from room and breakfast room, staff were busy but friendly. There was a fan in room but opened the window wide and was fine it can get hot in there.
We would stay again and some lovely places to eat and drink and the small shopping centre a few arcades.
On the downside got here early 2pm was sent away they dont have their own car park, so we drove to town and went back and got a free space! Young guy at desk nice, old tiny lift. Needs decorating this place some damp visible but for 1 night was fine. You can park for £6 down the road if you have to. The Pier closes at 8pm not much going on then we are not big drinkers there are pubs a small arcade and restaraunts no evening boat trips!

Room Tip: Had a room with sea view very quiet, had a very old fan- no air con! Arrived 1 hour hour early was asked to come back at 3pm nowhere to park car unless you pay £6 for 24 hrs down the road!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank clangers1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

In this day and age you expect more from a hotel, the tv come from the 90's with 5 channels. The kettle was an argos value and the two cups in the room didn't even match!! It was also so hot in the room with no air con or fan overall I've a stayed in much better for a lot less £££

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olispencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed for just one night. Hotel is in a good position about a fifteen minutes walk from town centre but a nice stroll along the front. Our room was on the first floor and we had a sea view. Rooms are large and have very high ceilings. Decor is very dated and fits in with the victorian image but just a tad on the shabby side. The TV was like something out of the ark and the remote control was fortunately my boyfriend lol. The bathroom was again dated and in need of decoration but the shower over the bath was surprisingly good. We found it quite noisy and were woken several times in the night by loud guests and a broken fire door on the landing next to our room. Breakfast was very good, nicely laid out and nicely presented. Reading a previous review on here which said breakfast was from 7 am to 8.30 am I was quite glad to find that it didnt actually end until 9.30.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BevB67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Dauncey's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews