We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idea accommodation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakover Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Near perfect stay. The owner was very friendly and allowed us to park out jeep at the front of the building due to it being too big for the back car park. We visited for the t4 festival and was in an amazing spot, just round the corner. The bars ETC are just a short walk away. Only thing I wud sugest, was maybe more information on arrival about breakfast etc. But wud defo visit again.

Love it.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlyrickerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

My partner and I found the Oakover through TripAdvisor and were bowled away by the pictures - it's very rare to see such a beautiful, modern b&b without chintzy floral designs everywhere! We stayed in Room 3 with the beautiful feature bath in the bedroom and were not disappointed. The room was beautiful, clean, and full of added extras to make our trip a little more special. I loved the huge bath and fluffy towels. There is a heated towel rail by the bath meaning you can wrap yourself in a thick warm towel as soon as you come out the bath - bliss! The only niggle we had was the bed which was a little lumpy, and took a couple of nights to get used to. That being said, we were sleeping soundly by night three, and the pillows and quilt were extra snuggly!!

The ladies who welcomed us and served us breakfast in the morning were extremely polite and eager to please without being too imposing. They saw to it that we had everything we needed and were keen to offer more tea and coffee each morning with breakfast. Many other b&b's ask you to give your breakfast orders the previous night, but the Oakover would take your order in the morning and cook it fresh while you enjoy the cereals, fruit, yoghurts and juice that was on offer. Very scrumptious!!

As others have already said, the car park is a little tight so it would be advisable to check for spaces before squeezing down there. We had no problems but saw the scrapes on the wall from many a car before us.

Would definitely recommend the Oakover to anyone looking for modern, stylish accommodation within 10 mins walking distance to the Grand Pier and town.

Room Tip: Room 3 is beautiful, has romantic feature bath in room and was quiet despite being at front of house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stacey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012 via mobile

We stopped in room 2 and thought it was absolutely wonderful. Everything was clean and the room was modern. Really liked the added extras in the room and thought the lady that treated us and looked after our breakfast was lovely. The guest house was very welcoming. Breakie in bed was provided which was a nice extra. The room had everything we needed. Will definitely look at staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ema_lou21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

my husband and I stayed at Oakover for the diamond jubillee weekend. our room key was left under a plant pot on the afternoon of our arrival and we did not meet or speak to the owner all weekend. We had a nice breakfast every morning although the service on two of the days was quite poor and the waitress seemed confused. We stayed in room 3, which from the photographs looked lovely and a little different, as the bath was actually in the bedroom and not in a seperate bathroom. We found that to use the bath you had to close the windows, as it was situated right in front of them, so this obviously caused steam and condensation in the room, which you had no way of dispersing exept by opening the windows which in turn made your bedroom cold and damp. There was nowhere to dry your big fluffy towels as there was no heating, other than the main radiator, which was not put on, so the wet towels had to remain in your bedroom all night along with the dampness from the steam caused by bathing. The bedroom was nicely decorated but you could see where the dampness from the steam was pulling the wallpaper away from the walls. The mattress on the bed was of poor quality and very uncomfortable. A lot of thought has gone into decor and nicnacs, but a bedroom is all about having a goodnights sleep and I am afraid we felt this was not achieved here. We still had not seen or heard from the owner when we left Oakover, 4 days later, and as we were paying guests in her house I thought this was a very poor example of hospitality

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianebailie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We booked a trip to Las Vegas to celebrate our Silver Wedding anniversary later in the year so we decided to take a trip to Weston-super-Mare for a couple of days. We were delighted with our accomodation, very stylish, very welcoming, very helpful and an amazing breakfast to boot!
Would have no problems recommending the Oakover to anyone,

Room Tip: If you are looking for romance choose rooms 2-5
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 499514Alan_W_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The rooms are nicely decorated, very modern and stand out from what you get in most B&B's. The staff, Sybil and Pearly were very friendly and do a wonderful job! They made us feel very welcome. We stayed in room number 2, and the room had everything we needed, plenty of wardrobe space, plenty of consumables etc, and the jacuzzi bath was a spot of luxury! The breakfast was absolutely perfect! Everything was cooked to perfection and tasted great, we didn't have a single complaint! My partner booked the guest house as a surprise for my Birthday, and he said the owner was most helpful when he rang to make the booking. He asked if she could order some flowers to put in our room and also if it would be possible to get a bottle of wine that we like from the local shop and put it on ice in the room waiting for us. This was all ready and waiting in our room when we arrived which was a lovely surprise for me. The only slight problem was the parking! There is room at the back of the guest house for a few cars but u have to drive down a narrow alley to get to it, which was awkward and I had to get out of the car to direct my partner down. Apart from that we had a brilliant stay and very much enjoyed it. We would definatly stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkiMas79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Me and my wife stayed on the 17th and 22nd May .The rooms are very clean and there is just about every thing you nead for your stay .The Guest house is very close to the beach and only a short walk to the town The breakfast and the service was great . If we use Weston super mare as a stopping of place again We will be going back

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.9 mi away
The Rosita
The Rosita
#1 of 64 in Weston-super-Mare
550 reviews
0 mi away
Linden Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Linden Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 64 in Weston-super-Mare
107 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roedean Guest House
Roedean Guest House
#5 of 64 in Weston-super-Mare
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Church House
Church House
#1 of 2 in Kewstoke
307 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Engine Shed
The Engine Shed
#1 of 1 in St Georges
11 reviews
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weston Super Mare Jct 22 M5 (Lympsham) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakover Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakover Guest House

Address: 25 Clevedon Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £63 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakover Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakover Guest House is a beautiful Victorian house built in 1870. Located only 200 meters from the sea front & beach lawns, we are only half a mile from the main train station, and only a few minutes walk to the town centre, the Grand Pier, local parks, shops & restaurants. We offer six double rooms across 2 floors including King-size or Twin, Superior & Standard. All rooms are decorated & furnished to a high standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oakover Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing