We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oakover Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Spent the weekend here for my partners birthday and had a lovely time. Stayed in a luxury double room which was beautifully decorated if a little smaller than expected.
The service from Diane and her partner was top notch and would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dipp01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    34
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
134
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We travelled to Weston Super Mare after a night in Bristol at a Canadian hotel group ( a good stay). We were warmly welcomed by Diane at the front door. Our room on the ground floor was a total joy and Diane had thought of everything from the tea and coffee inc a full size kettle, to the cotton buds and toothbrush holder in the end suite shower room. Diane advised us that the key fob would give us a discount in a range of local restaurants and the guest guide in the room detailed where those were. The guide covered everything in our room, out and about locally, how to order an amazing packed lunch and connect to the free wi fi. Everything was there and we were in a home from home. The twin beds were really comfortable and the room a perfect temperature.We loved our stay, the price was excellent and plans for our next trip are underway.

Room Tip: Room 1 was bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BouBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlehampton
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A quick 3 day break in Weston Super Mare lead us to the Oakover Guest House.

What a stylish guest house more boutique style than the average guest house.Our room (1) was huge and had recently been re decorated in a stylish blush wide stripe wall paper with a red linen effect feature wall. Plenty of tea, coffee,biscuits in the room topped up daily and much more than the average kettle.Also a TV with built in DVD, though a bit on the small side, but hey I did not come to Weston to watch TV
There are photos in the entrance hall of the other rooms and they all look top whack.We had a en-suite shower but other rooms have feature bath in bedroom or Jacuzzi bathroom.

Breakfast is served in a modern and very stylish airy room ,look up from you excellent breakfast and take in the wonderful molding on the ceiling.At breakfast you have a choice from a menu with fruit juice and cereal and fruit on a help your self basis .The full English breakfast was very filling and set you up for the day with bacon that was very thick and tasty,and the sausage was a good old British banger i think is locally made.
This guest house is not far from the sea front and the road is opposite the old Tropicana swimming pool on the front.

Parking the car is not for the faint harted as the drive is narrow and when I say narrow I mean narrow,be warned don't arrive in a 4x4 my BMW fitted just with the mirrors folded up,and the missus guiding me out. All ways up for a challenge ! .Road parking is available in places but much sort after due to other accommodation near by.
A very enjoyable stay ,and all the praise on this site is not unfounded.This is what Guest House's else where should aspire too.

Room Tip: All rooms different styles, so it depends what you require Jacuzzi or shower or feature bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

we stayed at the oakover one night as a last minute thing as not too far from where we live and as weather was good for time of year we decided it would be nice to visit the seaside the room we stayed in was number one it was very nice king size bed was lovely spotlessly clean en suite and all toiletries included great beverage tray excellent breakfast only three gripes the room was a little cold and due to refurbishment the smell of gloss paint was overpowering as i suffer from a bad chest and found this made me quite breathless and difficult to sleep also car park is at rear of house and access to this is up the side which is extremly narrow and would be a problem for many drivers and people with above average size cars.ie 4x4s

Room Tip: the ground floor room number 1 does not have a bath only a shower also you can hear people coming in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I stayed at the Oakover one night to attend a funeral. It was in a convenient location. I booked before communicating with the family who all stayed at the Best Western Hotel. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was very good. However, the heating did not go on until about 5pm and although I put my heater onto high, the thermostat must have been low because the room, located on the ground floor was not warm. In contrast the rest of the party all paid £10.00 less at the hotel and had to ask how to turn the radiators down, the rooms were so warm. If I stayed here again it would need to be in the summer months.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

As usual we stayed at Oakover as our past visits have been great. A superb room, good cleanliness an a wonderful breakfast. Thank you Dianne and Debbie! We will stay with you again!
We enjoyed our two days there very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b110lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

just come away from a weekend break. it is one of the best guest houses we have ever stayed in. the bedroom was spotless clean. it was amazing! so fresh and modern. impressive beverage tray. plenty of milk and teabags. nice to have bottled water in the room every day. also a mini fridge in the room which was handy. will be back soon.

Room Tip: room 3 is magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.7 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
797 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
331 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
617 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
584 reviews
0.9 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakover Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakover Guest House

Property: Oakover Guest House
Address: 25 Clevedon Road, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakover Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakover Guest House is a beautiful Victorian house built in 1870. Located only 200 meters from the sea front & beach lawns, we are only half a mile from the main train station, and only a few minutes walk to the town centre, the Grand Pier, local parks, shops & restaurants. We offer six double rooms across 2 floors including King-size or Twin, Superior & Standard. All rooms are decorated & furnished to a high standard ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakover Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing