We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whats the problem”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Whats the problem”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We arrived on Saturday 18th August at approx 13:30 for a two night stay. We were told it was too early for the room but were given a parking permit and asked to come back later.
The parking was a little hectic as there was a wedding at the hotel and the car park is also used by shoppers as “Pay & Display” although there are a limited number of “Residents Only” spaces. We returned at 15:20, room was ready and check in was easy and quick by very friendly staff.
We stayed in room 102 on the first floor which overlooks the seafront. The room was spacious and clean, the only comment about the room would be that the headboard was a little grubby. Other than that it was good and the bed linen was spotless and the bathroom was very clean and well maintained.

On the morning of Sunday 19th we went to the restaurant for breakfast where you have to wait to be taken to your table by the staff. We did wait for several minutes but the hotel was very busy and there were quite a number of guests from the wedding the day before. On the next day we were served very quickly as it was considerably quieter.

When we were taken to our table we were asked if we required tea or coffee and toast, white brown or mixed and were told where the cold menu was and to help ourselves. There was a good supply of several types of fruit juice, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants, breads, chesses and preserves. We started with fruit and yoghurt and progressed to a full cooked breakfast with a choice of bacon, sausage, black pudding, tomato, mushrooms, baked beans, hash browns, fried bread and eggs either fried, boiled, scrambled or poached to your liking. The food was excellent quality, well cooked and the plates were very hot which is good as I hate a cold plate with warm food.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay. We have stayed here previously and will do so again in the future. There is some very negative feed back from previous contributors and I can only say if you want 5 star accommodation and service be prepared to pay 5 star prices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moosie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    182
    112
    57
    44
See reviews for
153
315
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed one night on 7th August and we also had Room 201 - which was a bit like being on the Titanic - after it had sank. We walked downhill to the bathroom and uphill once we were in it and the bed sloped too! The headboard had a nice dark patch from previous occupants leaning on it and the bed cover too needed replacing. The sheets were spotless, as was the very clinical bathroom. The floorboards outside our room were very noisy and we had a gap under the door so could hear people's conversations going past (although the gap is apparently to push the newspaper under!). I think £105 is a little steep for the condition of the hotel, having paid £85 for something much better the night before. Staff at reception were very pleasant but the barman could have more of a smile and he needs to learn to pour a pint of Guinness - the top was absolutely full of bubbles!! Cardinal sin for Guinness drinkers!
Having lived in Weston 30 years ago, maybe I left it too late to visit this once grand hotel!

Room Tip: Apart from passing guests and the sloping floor - Room 201 was free from traffic noise as it faces t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2012

me and my partner stayed for our 50th anniversay. we was shocked at the service we recieved from reception as we were told our reservation was not booked which it most certainly was. we waited for around 20 mins to just check into our room. we finally reached our room and noticed hair in our bathroom and the level of dust was awful i called reception after a 45 minute reply ( pictures showed to reception on my phone). i will most certainly not be coming back and would advise the management to sort these problems out as soon as possible.

anniversary completely ruined!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kierenne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

£341 for 2 night b&b when i booked i explained we needed a family room as nan was coming whos 83years old, was offered the luxury family apartment, had a shock when we arrived taken to our room through the restaurant down fire escape across delivery yard (please note its not a courtyard as advertised) then through a door situated next to the staff smoke house to be confronted with 20+ steep stairs not what we expected. room was nice but far from luxury. the restaurant provided fine food priced accordingly, 11pm we went to bed only to be kept awake till after 12.30am by very loud music. breakfast was very nice, disappionting to come back to room at 2.30pm to find it hadnt been cleaned/restocked tea/coffee sunday night same problem with the music felt like a karioke in the next room again kept awake till after 12pm. monday morning was woken at 6.30am by first delivery of the morning followed by several others went to reception to make second complaint about noise was again told manager not available but would get in touch by phone (she wasnt bothered and came across rude) we didnt expect a call . i phoned hotel today and again was told manager would get in touch but didnt bother.
PLEASE READ THE REVEIWS BEFORE BOOKING as i wish i had the reception staff are the most unwelcoming/rudest ive met they have a excuse for everything whilst there we witnessed 2 other parties complain about the noise and lack of sleep yet they deny the noise is a problem . i spent £600 on bar/restaurant/rooms for 2 nights and dont even get a phone call to apologise about the experience we had absolutely shocking customer service by staff with a (why you complaining to me attitude)
THE OLDEST HOTEL IN WESTON AND POSSIBLY THE MOST EXPENSIVE BUT WOULD FIND IT HARD TO HAVE A WORSE NIGHTS SLEEP OR WORSE EXPERIENCE IN ANY OTHER HOTEL
the waitress, bar staff and chef are being let down by the reception/manager lack of customer service and deserve much better as they are very good at there jobs and customer focused.

Room Tip: any room in any other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 945carl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holsworthy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3rd aug to 6th. Really dissapointed with the shower in rooms on second floor,just drbbled out. Complained but nothing was done.Was`nt even offerd a different room. Customer service is what it is all about. About time the hotel upgraded its showers.

Room Tip: Take a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We booked and paid for a short break at this hotel for our son, his wife, two children (21mths & 6yrs) and my husband and I, we found that we could not go so changed the booking and upgraded to family suite for the four of them.......IT WAS DREADFULL, the only good part was that the room was clean and the kids had fun in the sea!
SERVICE!
The rudness,uninterested attitude and lack of concern from the staff...well I have no words that would say how bad they are! from reception on arrival to bar staff right through to the dinning room service both at dinner and breakfast. it was not a pleasent break at all!

Room Tip: Do not bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed last weekend at the Royal Hotel Weston-Super-Mare with my wife, sister and brother in law.
The reservations were made some time ago via the internet and confirmed the following day by telephone for 2 double rooms for 2 nights (Friday/Saturday).
On arrival the staff could not have been more welcoming or helpful, despite being too early to take over our rooms a parking permit was supplied immediately for the pay and display car park.
Returning to reception a short time later, we were advised that the reservations had been made for just one room and that another room was not available for a 2 night stay.
As a compromise a room could be made available for the Friday night but it would not be available for the second night meaning one couple would need to move to another hotel for the Saturday night stay. Or, arrangements could be made for one of the couples to spend the complete stay of 2 nights at another hotel.
Naturally we were not impressed particularly after receiving both internet and telephone confirmation.
Thankfully the really helpful staff arranged for complementary tea/coffee to be arranged while they looked at the options.
20 minutes later we are advised that both rooms would be available at the Royal with the second couple (my wife and I) being upgraded to a “superior” room at no extra charge.
The Prince Albert Suite situated on the second floor of the hotel and overlooking the town, was spacious and appeared to have a brand new bathroom suite including a large corner bath and separate shower cubicle. The King Size bed was also quite comfortable. However, with only a small sash window being available for ventilation - due to the age of the building, fresh air can be a bit of a premium, fortunately a good sized floor standing electric fan was supplied which was a help.
Having enjoyed an early meal and a nice evening at the local theatre we returned to the Royal to find a talented guy singing in the bar and enjoyed his music till 11.30
Close to the hotel is a very popular bar which attracted a good number of customers, many enjoying the rare, of late, warm weather, and taking advantage of the outside seating facilities. Couple this with the building immediately to the right of the main hotel entrance, which houses an equally popular wine bar and with its customers and smokers also choosing to enjoy the good weather, and soon the general chatter and laughter, which carries so much further and louder late at night drifts up to prevent a decent night’s sleep.
Considering that perhaps closing the heavy drape curtains may help muffle the noise we duly looked to comply with the request of closing the curtains “using the pull cord situated to the left of the window” – it wasn’t there – subsequently the curtains wouldn’t pull properly and a one inch gap prevailed. Closing the curtains however, failed to have the desired effect of lessening the noise, so regretfully we had to close the one small window available, and draw across the secondary glazing to eliminate the noise from outside.
Saturday morning breakfast was terrific, again the staff could not have been more helpful and falling over themselves to help in any capacity. The food was well presented and piping hot – very nice indeed.
Having enjoyed the previous night’s entertainment we decided not to venture far but to use the hotel’s “Feathers Bar” for some food and entertainment, one of the two needs were adequately catered for with excellent food being prepared and presented. The second requirement however, was, we were advised, in another hotel some 10/15 minutes walk away.
Although disappointed, especially given that we were staying in what could be considered as one of the best, if not THE best, hotel in Weston-Super-Mare that there was no entertainment, other than television, on a Saturday night!
For the able bodied the other bar was only a 10 minute walk away, however, with a brisk wind blowing and 2 of our group not being the most agile of individuals we decided our only option was to remain in the Feathers bar and make our own entertainment by playing cards.
Sunday morning arrives at 6 am, when we are awoken because it’s raining – never mind we are going home having had a couple of dry days, and it might blow over.
That dripping sound must be the rain dripping on the windowsill – no its not – it’s raining INSIDE our room.
Water is coming through the ceiling and dripping onto the top of the wardrobe, and down the side wall near the electrics! It’s also running down the inside and outside of the door to the room. Grabbing the waste paper bins from the bathroom and main room we proceed to move our clothing and stop the water falling onto the carpet.
After inspecting the leaking area, the water staining on the ceiling and wall indicated that there must have been a previous difficulty which may have gone unreported and un-rectified.
Once the difficulties had been reported the terrific staff sprang into action again and maintenance was soon on the scene.
The moral of this story has to be to ensure you check and recheck you reservations, ask for a room at the rear of the hotel, don’t rely on any entertainment being supplied and pick a dry period.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kamakaziken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
177 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing