We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - shame about our dining experiences”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Derby
1 review
“Lovely hotel - shame about our dining experiences”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this excellently positioned hotel. We found the hotel itself well presented and very clean. Our room (216) was quiet, spacious and comfortable with a good view to the sea and pier. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but what little we saw of them they seemed friendly enough. However, we had booked 2 of our nights to have dinner there and were looking forward to our meal based on previous reviews - unfortunately we were a bit unlucky as on the Sunday night my deep fried brie was cold, the Schnitzal was tasteless and a little soggy and the creme brulee too sweet with no proper brulee topping - we decided at that point not to have our evening meal there again. But then the bacon at breakfast was chewy and overcooked to such an extent that my husband decided only to have a continental breakfast from then on (very unusual for him), but I soldiered on until Tuesday morning when I had to return my cooked breakfast because the bacon was 'grey' on the underside - I returned it to the kitchen and after a long wait I received a replacement breakfast but the bacon on this one was undercooked - so on the last day we didn't even bother to have breakfast at the hotel before we checked out. On checkout we told the Receiptionist about our experience with the food quality and that we hadn't had all the meals we had paid for upfront, but although she appeared concerned about our disatisifaction with the meals there was no offer of a refund. In summary the hotel is great, but the meals seem to be a little 'hit and miss' as we spoke to other guests who had had a lovely meal!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    182
    112
    57
    44
See reviews for
153
315
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just got back from Weston Super Mare after staying a night in this hotel. We have stayed here every time we come to Weston which has been at least 4 times a year for the past 40 years! The staff are always friendly and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 217 which has an excellent sea view. It looks like they are gradually refurbishing the bedrooms. Our room had a new double glazed window. We had noticed on past visits that the old wooden windows had seen better days and rattled away especially when it was windy. We learnt that they had a new chef but could not stay for our evening meal as we had booked to go to a show at the Playhouse Theatre which is just a short walk away. However, the breakfast was very good. It is useful to know that you can park your car in the carpark right outside the hotel. When you book in the receptionist will give you a ticket to put in your car window so that you do not get charged. The situation of this hotel is excellent. When you go out of the main doors at the back of the hotel you are right by the main shopping area. On the other side you are right by the sea. The promenade is very flat and ideal for people who have any walking difficulties. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as you would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view at the top of the hotel. There is a lift so you don't have to worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed with my Husband for a weekend in February, we have stayed in Weston many times before but never at The Royal. We stayed in room 216 on the second floor, it was sea facing, clean and spacious. The breakfast was good and all the staff from reception to the night porter were friendly and helpful. As I said this was the first stay here but it definitley won't be the last, this is the best hotel we have stayed in when staying in Weston and can't wait to go back, hopefully for longer than a weekend. All in all a great place for a very reasonable price!

Patti

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattishebamarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT TALBOT
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Everything about the hotel is brilliant...location on the seafront. cleanliness of rooms and friendly helpfull staff.
would not think about boooking another hotel, This is a bit more expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNDAPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Having only visited the Royal Hotel in the past to give blood i wasn't sure what to expect when it came to eating here! However we were pleasantly surprised. The waiting staff, bar staff and chef were all very friendly and helpful and the carvery was lovely, a choice of 3 meats and plenty of veg to choose from. It was all hot and the portion size was just right. Even my fussy 5 year old enjoyed it! A little more expensive than others we have tried but worth paying that little bit more in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kean016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights from the 16th of Feb.
Our room 216 was spotless, spacious and had a stunning view of the beach front.
No complaints on the room.
The staff were A1, very polite and friendly.
The public areas are well maintained, clean and no expense spared on the fixtures and fittings.
Location is central, so all the bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance, the town centre is just outside the front door.
Would we stay again................ Definitely.........

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tricky4xv535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

We booked this for my aunt as a surprise for her 60th birthday having ranted and raved about our previous visit to this hotel but we were disappointed. The hotel is getting very tired and didn't have that 'royal' feel we have experienced before. My aunt was booked in room 101 which was very cold when we went to see her room and the following morning she said that the windows were 'draughty' as the curtains were gently moving in the night! We booked a family meal for twelve of us and although it was nice I still don't think I would return unless I knew there had been some changes to a place which once upon time charged for feeling like royalty!!

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
431 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#11 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
178 reviews
5.9 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dauncey's Hotel
Dauncey's Hotel
#27 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing