We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Burton on Trent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Used to holiday in Weston regularly many years ago and always admired this hotel, such an impressive and grand building, always wished we were staying 'there'. Now was our chance, worried I may be disappointed, worried about some previous reviews, would my illusion be shattered? So happy to say it hasn't been. I'm writing this from our very comfortable room looking out to sea and the sun is shining!
The staff are friendly and attentive, big thanks to the young lady in the bar, who couldn't be more helpful.
The room we have is spacious, clean and well equipped. Wi-fi is free and no problem with signal or logging in to.
Breakfast was well cooked and generous.
Location is superb, close to the grand pier and the town without the noise. Free parking, you're issued with a parking pass on arrival.
Would I stay here again - without a doubt. Highly recommend, thank you to all the hard working staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spritzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    162
    105
    54
    42
See reviews for
135
286
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, Wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Twice every year my wife and I visit Weston-super-Mare in order to enjoy the spring and autumn shows of the Weston Operatic Society. We often stay at the Royal Hotel, because as well as it being one of Weston's premier hotels it is also within walking distance of the Playhouse Theatre. The Royal is a splendid hotel and the staff are always friendly and keen to please. Our stay was pleasant and we certainly plan to visit again. Our only gripe during this stay concerned our dinner on Friday evening. We ordered Vienna Schnitzel and the menu promised that it would be served with sauteed potatoes. But there were no sauteed potatoes, instead some quartered, parboiled potatoes had been subjected to some sort or after-heat. Now anybody who loves their Vienna Schnitzel also loves sauteed potatoes. These should be sliced (not quartered) and then fried, ideally with the addition of some thinly sliced onions towards the end of the frying process.
So the enjoyment of the absolutely excellent Vienna Schnitzels was marred by the' lazy chef' alternative to sauteed potatoes. Shame!
Everything else concerning our stay at the Royal was absolutely splendid and we look forward to returning for another weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We last stayed here about 18 months previously when I gave it the same score, but it was now let down by a different aspect.
The superb location and the classy ambience remain. The staff are again excellent; the food and service is better than it was last time, and it was good then. The breakfast has significantly improved, well cooked, served and presented (shame about the 'plastic' sausage which survives!). The cold buffet is extensive and attractive. A good experience.
The room (201) is of reasonable size, with a sea view. Acceptable decoratively but the peeling paint in the bathroom lets it down.
I hope that by the time the next guests have this room the hotel has replaced the bed; this was of dos-house quality. It had clearly started out as pretty cheap-jack affair totally lacking in providing any degree of support, and over the years (many) it has degenerated, having probably passed through secondhand furniture dealers and house clearers hands.
I filled in the 'snag list' and left it on Reception, and the staff seemed genuinely sorry.
Having had a bad experience of staying at a hotel, again in Weston, where I was required to pay up-front, I had pledged never to stay at such an establishment again. I was appalled to find that the Royal had now adopted this insulting practice. Could be that they expect all their guests to be the type who bugger-off without paying?
Terrible bed but the rest is OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay in this excellently positioned hotel. We found the hotel itself well presented and very clean. Our room (216) was quiet, spacious and comfortable with a good view to the sea and pier. We didn't have much interaction with the staff but what little we saw of them they seemed friendly enough. However, we had booked 2 of our nights to have dinner there and were looking forward to our meal based on previous reviews - unfortunately we were a bit unlucky as on the Sunday night my deep fried brie was cold, the Schnitzal was tasteless and a little soggy and the creme brulee too sweet with no proper brulee topping - we decided at that point not to have our evening meal there again. But then the bacon at breakfast was chewy and overcooked to such an extent that my husband decided only to have a continental breakfast from then on (very unusual for him), but I soldiered on until Tuesday morning when I had to return my cooked breakfast because the bacon was 'grey' on the underside - I returned it to the kitchen and after a long wait I received a replacement breakfast but the bacon on this one was undercooked - so on the last day we didn't even bother to have breakfast at the hotel before we checked out. On checkout we told the Receiptionist about our experience with the food quality and that we hadn't had all the meals we had paid for upfront, but although she appeared concerned about our disatisifaction with the meals there was no offer of a refund. In summary the hotel is great, but the meals seem to be a little 'hit and miss' as we spoke to other guests who had had a lovely meal!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Just got back from Weston Super Mare after staying a night in this hotel. We have stayed here every time we come to Weston which has been at least 4 times a year for the past 40 years! The staff are always friendly and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We stayed in room 217 which has an excellent sea view. It looks like they are gradually refurbishing the bedrooms. Our room had a new double glazed window. We had noticed on past visits that the old wooden windows had seen better days and rattled away especially when it was windy. We learnt that they had a new chef but could not stay for our evening meal as we had booked to go to a show at the Playhouse Theatre which is just a short walk away. However, the breakfast was very good. It is useful to know that you can park your car in the carpark right outside the hotel. When you book in the receptionist will give you a ticket to put in your car window so that you do not get charged. The situation of this hotel is excellent. When you go out of the main doors at the back of the hotel you are right by the main shopping area. On the other side you are right by the sea. The promenade is very flat and ideal for people who have any walking difficulties. We would recommend this hotel to anyone as you would not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view at the top of the hotel. There is a lift so you don't have to worr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

I stayed with my Husband for a weekend in February, we have stayed in Weston many times before but never at The Royal. We stayed in room 216 on the second floor, it was sea facing, clean and spacious. The breakfast was good and all the staff from reception to the night porter were friendly and helpful. As I said this was the first stay here but it definitley won't be the last, this is the best hotel we have stayed in when staying in Weston and can't wait to go back, hopefully for longer than a weekend. All in all a great place for a very reasonable price!

Patti

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattishebamarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORT TALBOT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Everything about the hotel is brilliant...location on the seafront. cleanliness of rooms and friendly helpfull staff.
would not think about boooking another hotel, This is a bit more expensive but well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYNDAPortTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing