We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel that smiles!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Somerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The hotel that smiles!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I, being disabled, have just enjoyed a week's holiday at the Royal. Although they do not have a fully modified bedroom for disabled, I was given a room as convenient as I could have wished and there is a fully equipped toilet by the Reception desk. My mobility scooter was welcomed and a power point is available. Wonderful location close to Promenade and Sovereign shopping centre, but away from traffic noise. Two points prevent me from giving an excellent rating--the Feathers bar is not congenial for a relaxing drink - far too much like a standard pub bar and certainly not ideal for older generations to spend an evening. It is such a shame that the "Birnbeck Bar which was the main bar in the hotel years ago is now reserved for functions.
The other point is the restaurant - breakfasts excellent, but the dinner menu does not change so a week's stay meant repeating meals, which were not cooked as well as I would have expected
though the ingredients were good quality
The highlight of my stay was the sea of smiles in every department. The extreme courtesy from the manager down to the kind fellow who fed the fish in the aquarium tanks was most unusual and most welcome. If I can get back some time, I certainly will!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    177
    108
    57
    43
See reviews for
146
304
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I have just returned from a family weekend which we organise every year at a different location to enable all of our very large family to all get together with our Mum( six sons and two daughters- and their families) This year we had 39 family staying at the Royal Hotel. All the hotel staff were excellent and couldn't do enough to help starting with the long process of booking the weekend( Many thanks to Carla and Carley from reception). When we arrived at the hotel all the checking in was stress free and enjoyable. The rooms were comfortable with lovely sea views. The food over the weekend was excellent- a special thank you to Andrew and his team for the Saturday night 3 course meal which was also excellent and the service was superb.
I would like to finish by saying it was so good that we are thinking about going back there next year for the 2014 family weekend. Many thanks again to all at the Royal Hotel for making our weekend so special.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

this hotel has had a lot of good reviews but in the spirit of tripadvisor I have to write as I find.
Hotel has nice features and good location and car park and the staff are great.
However when we arrived with the family, my daughter and husband were allocated a room which looked great, but within 2 minutes of unpacking realised there was a horrible noise in the room, the vibrations were so bad it was actually shaking the bed and a small hand rail, I thought this might have been an additional extra, some kind of massage therapy for old folks. We mentioned this to reception and with a blank look they allocated the couple to another room which they were told was deluxe but the upgrade was free, are they having a laugh at our expense the so called luxury room was up and down some small flights of stairs and along a very narrow corridor to an annexe, navigating through a submarine would have been easier.
and the room apart from a feature wall and a blue light was not much better than a back room in a friends bedroom. We eventually saw the cause of the noise, 2 rather large ventilation towers bolted to the outside wall above the kitchen area, you can't tell me they did'nt know.
Restaurant prices were very high so we ate in the bar, food ok but quality seem a little erratic, again same with breakfast first morning ok, second morning my wife picked up a very hard stale role which could have filled a pothole it was that hard.
Bedroom floorboards creaked on every step and the bathroom shone out onto the bunk beds not good if you have kids with you.
menus were dirty and the whole place is filled with out of date certificates claiming membership of various hotel organisations along with way out of date tourist info in the guests welcome packs.
Finally get the flags outside sorted they look like a bunch of old mens hankies.
This could be a really nice hotel it's just lost it's way and does not do anything for english tourism.
also I have to agree with catcc post why do you have to pay up front on your credit card

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianmetcalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very comfortable rooms and excellent helpful staff. Both dinners - second one formal were very tasty and expertley served. Good choice at breakfast which included smoked haddpck and poached egg - delicious. Friendly bar staff, Pedestrian access to promenade and easy access to the Winter garden where we held our conference. Overall a good weekend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashover47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 10th for one night. Room was big and was in very high condition. Bathroom was clean with all items you would need soap ect. Room had a kettle with tea and coffee milk. Flat screen TV with free-view. Bed was nice felt a bit odd as i have a foam mattress at home.
Could hear music from our room but was very quite and my finance feel asleep no problem. I stayed up on the ipad using the free wi-fi which was good. We did have some problems connecting to it though. We had a lovely view of the pier and was in room 118. All of the hotel we seen was tidy and looked well looked after. In the morning we had a full English breakfast. The food was fine but i would recommend going out for food as it wasn't much for the money. There was plenty to choose from . Cereal, toast and some pastry. Checking in out was a breeze. Thanks for reading my review hope it helps.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomfrancis1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnham-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The gteam at The Royal Hotel organised our Wedding for us on the 5th April 2013. They made a very stressful time totally magical for us both and put on a beautiful Wedding Breakfast in their magnificent room overlooking Weston Bay.
The room was decorated with style and artistic thought and the food and service were sedcond to none.
We stayed in one of their luxurious honeymoon suites, agian overlooking the Weston Bay and there was no more anyone could have asked for.
Maria and Emma basically made our perfect day for us and we will always highly recommend The Royal Hotel and all they have to offer to everyone.
Jonathan, the Manager has a wonderful team working with him and may it continue for ever.
A|sa foot note, The Sunday Carvery is gorgeous and usually we eat there in The Feathers Bar and listen to the live Jazz when it is on.
11/10 and guys "you have FOUR yes';s"

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I have previously contacted The Royal Hotel regarding my problems and have had no reponse.
We ate at the Royal Hotel as part of a birthday party and although the menu was a little pricey i was looking forward to the meal as the menu options looked great. this however is where it all went down hill.

I ordered Fresh Seafood Risotto and my Fiance ordered steak with a side of Garlic Bread.
The waiting staff brought me Salmon which was wrong. the girl took the food back i then waited 15minutes for my food to come out. The meal that they brought out was discusting. The risotto was cold in the centre with a few prawns in it. The menu suggested the seafood was fresh however when i complained about the food being cold i was told that its ok i wouldnt get sick because the fish was pre cooked and then frozen. The side of garlic bread we ordered never turned up.

after serving me my cold risotto the staff began setting up for breakfast and did not even offer us a desert menu.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
797 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#14 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing