We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas for two!?”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Like another reviewer we had a Groupon deal on Tapas & cocktails. It was a very good deal but....it took well over 25 minutes for them to make our cocktails. We do realise the bar staff were rather busy but they obviously decided to serve everyone else who just walked in after us & went straight upto the bar, totally forgetting us sitting at a table where they had taken our order! It is also a little disconcerting to be called " my darling", or "my lovely" all the time?! The tapas when they eventually arrived, looked quite good, in traditional tapas style dishes, but actually were all microwaved or deep fried from frozen. The piri piri prawns were just awful, smelling & tasting of strong fish paste. We decided not to eat them in case they were "off" & in all fairness, the waitress changed the whole dish for something else. However, there is just no reason for us to return here for a second experience of The Royal, which is a pity really, as it is in such a good spot in WsMare.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janeshakey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (678)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 678 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked through a Groupon deal,did upgrade the room with the hotel.Fantastic hotel ,spotless,friendly staff and excellent location with freecarparking for hotel guests.Arrived on a sunday when there carvery was available looked fantastic with huge joints of meat,we had bed and breakfast as part of the deal.Breakfast was very good,hot plates and freshly cooked choice of breakfast,dinner was ok but grills offered you had to pay a supplement which was abit steep,bar menu looked good.Reasonable bar prices for hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Princess Anne room ,did look at some other rooms209 was fantastic,bath and separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spurrett814291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Lovely food, great sea view, helpful staff, good location.

As we left, our taxi driver confirmed our opinion that we had visited the best hotel in Weston. with easy access to both town and sea front, a very pleasant three night stay.

Book with confidence

Room Tip: Sea view rooms bathed in light at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Our first visit to this hotel we were warmly greeted at reception, and soon found our room 116 the room was very nicely decorated and large and the fittings were first class. Only complain was that the room was very hot over night with no rad on. The breakfast was excellent and so was the evening meal good menu and good service. Entertainment was good on Friday evening but nothing on Saturday evening this was a disappointment. Hotel position good for access to shopping centre and sea front, also good parking in hotel grounds. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room over kitchen.I think this was the reason it was hot. Also views better if higher than fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rod D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

The room was ok but the service was terrible. We stayed there for our wedding night and were walked in on not once, but twice by a cleaning lady. She walked fully into the room and demanded we leave as we were supposed to have checked out by 10am and it was now 10.30am. We told her that we had booked a late check out but she stood there adamant until we told her we would pack up and go. It was our wedding night and we were basically thrown out of the room even though we had paid for a late check out!

The reception staff didn't care either and upon asking to speak to the manager we were told "they aren't in yet". Surely all good business's have a manager on at all times. We did write a letter of complaint but never heard anything back. Utterly disgusting service, personally I wish we had stayed at the premier inn! But given it was our wedding night I decided to splash a little extra cash (£200!) for a room we barely spent 8hours in. Truly disappointing and I w old never recommend, if you want decent service, a room with a working shower and not to be kicked out by a cleaner barging into your room and shouting at you then just book a stay somewhere else!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Back to The Royal again (3rd?+ visit). Booked at the last minute but hotel is still on-the-ball! Our favourite hotel in the SW. No complaints again, as usual ... bedroom great with sea view and room to swing-the-cat (couldn't catch him this trip ;-)); food excellent (dinner and breakfast) with very good menus and choices and, to the Lady who served us dinner, may I say, "Dziękuję za doskonałą obsługę i rozmowy na obiad".
Prices are very good too.
Keep it up, The Royal, and as the former Governor of California said, "We'll be back!".

Room Tip: 1. Read some of the other reviews ... the Hotel is in a seaside holiday environment and it does get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeeMarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I recently took advantage of a groupon offer for tapas for £10 for 2. While I appreciate that because of the price it wasn't going to be amazing but tapas to me is olives, bead, dips etc but this was no less than buffet food from Icelands despite the advertising picture showing what I class to be traditional tapas. Yes it filled a hole but I wouldn't necessarily recommend it. On a plus point the bar area was ok the staff were friendly.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mayolite99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
871 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#20 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queenswood Hotel
Queenswood Hotel
#9 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#12 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
273 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#5 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range: £87 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing