We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sleep on the beach instead!”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sleep on the beach instead!”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

my partner and i stayed here for two nights for a friends wedding, we were allocated a room on the top floor at the front of the hotel, for around £90 a night.
on the positives list is the parking, we were given a pass to park, even though we arrived several hours too early for check in, no flexibility on the 3pm time,
the location is great, and the back of the hotel looks out onto the sea,
it was a very hot weekend and we joyfully found a fan in the wardrobe to cool the room a bit, and extra pillows, which you'll need later....
however, our room at the front was laughable, dated and a bit shabby, but clean enough, once you've stripped off the minging bedspread, the actual sheets and duvet cover were nice and clean, the bed was lumpy, and worn out and had broken legs, though we suspect it had been done deliberately to try and make the fact the floor slopes so terribly less noticeable, good thing there were those extra pillows to make you feel like you're almost sleeping flat not head down.
the bathroom was clean ish i would say, the floor could have done with a deep clean, and the grouting was a bit fusty and mouldy, sling the mouldy non slip bath mat out of the way and you're set for a nice hot shower, which to be fair you do get......once you've got over laughing at the fact the shower control is actually hanging off the wall, plenty of nice clean towels to dry off with though,
whilst you're in the bathroom it's worth mentioning that again due to the sloping floor you may need a safety net to go to the loo, it's at a hilarious angle, thankfully we have a good sense of humour but that did come close to failing when the bar across the road was still knocking out the karaoke and shouty people until about half two in the morning, then of course the seagulls pipe up about five so you might be lucky and get a couple of hours sleep, ready for breakfast, which is fine, though if you ask for tea with the teabag out this may confound the staff, and it's not really made clear what you're allowed to help yourself to and what you have to order, but it was tasty enough. on the whole we wished we had known there was a travel lodge just down the road, but we made the best of it, and the wedding was fabulous!

Room Tip: don't take a room at the front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elusive_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    171
    106
    55
    43
See reviews for
144
296
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at end of July for 3 nights on B&B basis.
Parking no problem large pay and display crapark in hotel ground. We were given apass for free parking for the duration of our stay. Check in was speedy and simple reception staff efficient and friendly. Nice large roomwith 2 windows overlooking main entrance no problem with road noise. Very hot while we were there after opening the windows and using fan provided room was soon comfortable.room decor and fittings in keeping with age and style of the building En suite clean and well stocked.Lovely to have a t-pot in the room for early morning cuppa.
Had drinks in Feathers bar reasonably priced and my husband enjoyed sampling the guest real ales(Discount if you are a member of CAMRA)
I cannot understand the previous comments about breakfast. The menu explains the full English Bacon,Eggs ( cooked how you want them)sausage,half grilled fresh tomato,mushrooms, fried bread(which was crisp and gorgeous) choice of an extra item hash brown,beans or black pudding. what isn't full about that all good quality ingredients beautifully cooked and served on a red hot plate. As for a 2cm sausage (this person needs their eyes testing) i have never seen a sausage as small as that! The staff were speedy and efficient and very friendly. Had a great stay and will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

As many other reviews have to say just a bit disappointed on our visit yesterday. Staff very polite and attentive. Bit dated surroundings mens toilet could defo do with a overall. Very hot in the bar even though not a particularly hot day. Aspects of cream tea were good. Loads of jam and cream and scones fresh. Sandwiches ok but so badly let down by cheap synthetic cupcakes which just ruined the whole appearance of the unstable slate cake stand such a shame nice cake stands really cheap these days.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Two of us used a Groupon voucher which was .$17 (no pound sign on my phone!). Nice view out to sea where we were put a bit away from the bar. The barman who doubled as waiter for quite a few guests was full if character and we were charmed. Comfy run down hotel which wad charming because it wad like nothing had changed there for at least fifty years. We laughed a lot at the very wobbly cake stand, at guests and waiter pushing and banging door to try and get in (.we opened it ). Three types of sandwich but dome of the bread stale ish. Shop cup cakes and scones and nicely made pot of tea. My daughter does not drink tea so asked for a soft drink instead but was told no.! So she had water instead. $.17 my be half price but enough to swap a drink for a teen but no
After we asked the barman was frostier ad if he had been imposed on! We.were tired due to it being very hot so enjoyed rrelaxing on the leather club chair and sofa. At the end we thanked the barman as we left and I complimented the pot if tea at which e started to complain about strange people not liking his tea AND annoying people who did not drink tea.(ie my daughter who he did not openly accuse!) His name turned out to be Pedro which was a sho k given how English he seemed and looked. I would not pay double what the voucher cost if that us the full price ad it wad just about worth the voucher price. Very charming very clean loo. Pedro aka Manuel is worth visiting for his eccentric ways. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank noddyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Went here on Sunday for a family lunch, we have been many times in the past but this was one of the worst Sunday roasts ever. The gammon was overlooked, the beef tough & the turkey pretty tasteless. The vegetables were uninteresting & not much flavour, the yorkshire puds were flat, & I am pretty sure they were off the frozen type! The white wine by the glass was revolting & not chilled. The whole place has an atmosphere of an Old Folks Home. It's about time this place was bought into the 21st century as the decor is very dated & there is a complete overload of plastic flower arrangements. Also the place was dead, no atmosphere, no ambience, in fact no good!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrissyj51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

My partner booked two nights b&b for us as I was appearing at a nearby theatre. Location is very good as is parking. The room, though dated, was reasonable. It was very hot and stuffy having two windows and at the corner of the building (room 105). We only had breakfasts but both the service and the quality of food was poor. Firstly, you have to hang around before you are seated. The menu is misleading in that a "full" English breakfast isn't that at all as you have to choose either/or eg beans OR black pudding etc. As for the salmon and scrambled eggs you have to pay an extra cost which is naughty. The portions were child sized eg a 2cm sausage and a tiny rasher of bacon. The food was if low quality and poorly cooked. On the first morning there was hardly any fruit at all as "the delivery hadn't arrived"! I did complain to reception but they were disinterested. At £110 per night you would expect better and the hotel really needs to up its game food-wise though this has been reported on this site before though no progress appears to have been made.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We used a Groupon voucher for our afternoon tea yesterday. We had asked to sit in the lounge, but on arrival, there was a table overlooking the seafront, and as it was a lovely day, we elected to sit in the bar as there are no windows overlooking the front in the lounge.The young lady that served us couldn't have been more attentive, and asked us several times if everything was ok. We were served very quickly, without any delay, although we were early.The sandwiches were lovely - really fresh bread with one tuna, one beef (could have done with a bit of mustard or horseradish, but very tender meat), one grated cheese and one turkey and cranberry sauce. Lovely! We had requested plain scones when I booked the tea, and these duly appeared, but were very obviously out of a packet, and not home made. The strawberry jam was some of the tastiest we have been given. We had two very nice cup cakes between us, which, too, were obviously bought in. My coffee was not at all pleasant - not in a pot, but in a cup and very stewed, but my husband's tea was fine. Overall, as cream teas go, it certainly wasn't the worst we have had, but didn't come near being the best. However, I don't think it deserves some of the harsh reviews it has received on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinkybristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Smiths Hotel
Smiths Hotel
#13 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing