We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced but good location , read before you book !”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Weston-super-Mare
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“overpriced but good location , read before you book !”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hotel is very dated with clean rooms , helpful staff but food very average , friday nights great if you like a noisy busy bar. Carvery on sunday best left alone unless you like over cooked veg , and limited choice.
2 mins from pier and some rooms with good views , beach 2 mins away , as are shops.
Hotel needs update and l consider over priced with many better choices close by.

Room Tip: High room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    162
    105
    54
    42
See reviews for
135
286
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here again this year with our family including small grand children for one night.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff very helpful. We ate a super breakfast
and had dinner in the evening. We ate in the bar which was busy and the food was tasty
with good service.
Get the impression that this hotel is thriving - would always stay here if in Weston.

Room Tip: First floor if you have children, so can keep an ear and eye on them at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catlover013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel is very elegant looking from the outside and just as impressive inside, room 209 was very nice, more antique looking than modern, the check in was very easy, we was not told where the lift was and decided to carry the luggage and baby up two flights, rather than ask, ASK if i was you.
We had food in the bar and the restaurant and both meals was very well served and cost was not too bad, the staff where very polite and we enjoyed the two day stay.
Perking is ample, very close to beach and all the main attractions, the main shopping arcade is only 200yards from the hotel front.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajon3s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

my partner and i stayed here for two nights for a friends wedding, we were allocated a room on the top floor at the front of the hotel, for around £90 a night.
on the positives list is the parking, we were given a pass to park, even though we arrived several hours too early for check in, no flexibility on the 3pm time,
the location is great, and the back of the hotel looks out onto the sea,
it was a very hot weekend and we joyfully found a fan in the wardrobe to cool the room a bit, and extra pillows, which you'll need later....
however, our room at the front was laughable, dated and a bit shabby, but clean enough, once you've stripped off the minging bedspread, the actual sheets and duvet cover were nice and clean, the bed was lumpy, and worn out and had broken legs, though we suspect it had been done deliberately to try and make the fact the floor slopes so terribly less noticeable, good thing there were those extra pillows to make you feel like you're almost sleeping flat not head down.
the bathroom was clean ish i would say, the floor could have done with a deep clean, and the grouting was a bit fusty and mouldy, sling the mouldy non slip bath mat out of the way and you're set for a nice hot shower, which to be fair you do get......once you've got over laughing at the fact the shower control is actually hanging off the wall, plenty of nice clean towels to dry off with though,
whilst you're in the bathroom it's worth mentioning that again due to the sloping floor you may need a safety net to go to the loo, it's at a hilarious angle, thankfully we have a good sense of humour but that did come close to failing when the bar across the road was still knocking out the karaoke and shouty people until about half two in the morning, then of course the seagulls pipe up about five so you might be lucky and get a couple of hours sleep, ready for breakfast, which is fine, though if you ask for tea with the teabag out this may confound the staff, and it's not really made clear what you're allowed to help yourself to and what you have to order, but it was tasty enough. on the whole we wished we had known there was a travel lodge just down the road, but we made the best of it, and the wedding was fabulous!

Room Tip: don't take a room at the front!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elusive_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at end of July for 3 nights on B&B basis.
Parking no problem large pay and display crapark in hotel ground. We were given apass for free parking for the duration of our stay. Check in was speedy and simple reception staff efficient and friendly. Nice large roomwith 2 windows overlooking main entrance no problem with road noise. Very hot while we were there after opening the windows and using fan provided room was soon comfortable.room decor and fittings in keeping with age and style of the building En suite clean and well stocked.Lovely to have a t-pot in the room for early morning cuppa.
Had drinks in Feathers bar reasonably priced and my husband enjoyed sampling the guest real ales(Discount if you are a member of CAMRA)
I cannot understand the previous comments about breakfast. The menu explains the full English Bacon,Eggs ( cooked how you want them)sausage,half grilled fresh tomato,mushrooms, fried bread(which was crisp and gorgeous) choice of an extra item hash brown,beans or black pudding. what isn't full about that all good quality ingredients beautifully cooked and served on a red hot plate. As for a 2cm sausage (this person needs their eyes testing) i have never seen a sausage as small as that! The staff were speedy and efficient and very friendly. Had a great stay and will not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

As many other reviews have to say just a bit disappointed on our visit yesterday. Staff very polite and attentive. Bit dated surroundings mens toilet could defo do with a overall. Very hot in the bar even though not a particularly hot day. Aspects of cream tea were good. Loads of jam and cream and scones fresh. Sandwiches ok but so badly let down by cheap synthetic cupcakes which just ruined the whole appearance of the unstable slate cake stand such a shame nice cake stands really cheap these days.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Two of us used a Groupon voucher which was .$17 (no pound sign on my phone!). Nice view out to sea where we were put a bit away from the bar. The barman who doubled as waiter for quite a few guests was full if character and we were charmed. Comfy run down hotel which wad charming because it wad like nothing had changed there for at least fifty years. We laughed a lot at the very wobbly cake stand, at guests and waiter pushing and banging door to try and get in (.we opened it ). Three types of sandwich but dome of the bread stale ish. Shop cup cakes and scones and nicely made pot of tea. My daughter does not drink tea so asked for a soft drink instead but was told no.! So she had water instead. $.17 my be half price but enough to swap a drink for a teen but no
After we asked the barman was frostier ad if he had been imposed on! We.were tired due to it being very hot so enjoyed rrelaxing on the leather club chair and sofa. At the end we thanked the barman as we left and I complimented the pot if tea at which e started to complain about strange people not liking his tea AND annoying people who did not drink tea.(ie my daughter who he did not openly accuse!) His name turned out to be Pedro which was a sho k given how English he seemed and looked. I would not pay double what the voucher cost if that us the full price ad it wad just about worth the voucher price. Very charming very clean loo. Pedro aka Manuel is worth visiting for his eccentric ways. We enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank noddyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.1 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#4 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
553 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lauriston Hotel
Lauriston Hotel
#13 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 1 South Parade, Weston-super-Mare BS23 1JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Weston-super-Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing