We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location,”
Review of Ormonde House

Ormonde House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weston-super-Mare
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ormonde House
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good location,”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have just arrived back from a 2 night stay in this bed and breakfast, firstly it was an impressive house from the outside, we had to ring the bell 3 times before a young lady answered who did not seem to know who we were! she did not introduce herself so we did not know if she was the owner i had to ask her her name, we were showed to our room which we expected to be victorian but was very disapointed the decor is so outdated, perhaps they want to keep the old feel but it really does need some decorating, the smallest en suite ever could not even sit on toilet without your arm touching the smallest sink ever, the shower was tiny the oldest shower in history, we could hear the people above us when they went to the toilet! there were lots of kids running around which we have nothing against kids but we wanted to just relax, well the tv was so tiny old fashioned and always had a buzzing noise which we could not watch,also there was lots of dust behind it,the floor boards on the one side of the bed creaked and the bed was very squeeky to, the tea station well, tea bags i thought should be wrapped in bed and breakfast, they were just pj tips in a sandwhich bag. not really sure who the owner was as she never introduced herself,The pool is a good idea but we never went in as people were saying how cold and cloudy it was but it looked a nice pool.Breakfast was ok lots of choice sets you up for the day could not fault that.Our overall stay was ok as we did not spend a loot of time there,we noticed there were no fire action notices and fire extinguisher was out of date, we only noticed as thats what my partner does for a living, felt as if there was a fire we would not have known exits etc bit of stange comment but surely they should have some fire cover! if it had not have been bank holiday we would have looked for another, came home clothes smelt very damp and old, there was a basket on our floor with hairdryers etc nice touch but there was also spare toilet rolls but not all new ones there was half used ones strange, the carpet outside our room was curly and we kept tripping over it.Would we stay again??? probably if improvements are made the internet showed lovely rooms perhaps we were just unlucky as everyone seemed happy with there rooms, please dont be put off by this but its best to see for yourself, lovely building but as we say needs improving.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Visited same time last year and our stay this time was equally enjoyable! Again made to feel welcome and at home by owner Anne and her team. Room spotlessly clean and the swimming pool and sauna most appreciated, especially as the weather was a bit mixed! Great choice at breakfast and the cooked breakfast was excellent! Lovely Edwardian house in a great location as only 5 minutes walk from beach and 20 minutes walk to the Grande Pier and town centre (bus stops are also directly outside the guest house). Would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oelde, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Ormonde House ,Anne your host was friendly and bent over backwards (not literally) to make our stay as pleasant as possible ,there was myself my wife and our 11 year old ,we had to change rooms on the second day but only because we booked on the day we arrived the cases were moved for us and both rooms were of a good standard.
The breakfast was hearty with a good choice.
The pool was great for a refreshing dip after a day sightseeing but don't expect it to be Olympic size it is big enough for its swim.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who does not expect five star standards but is looking for a good base with a friendly welcome ,we would stop again.

Room Tip: Ground floor annex rooms are smaller than the main building but nearer the pool so the options are y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluenoseGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed as a family in August 2012. This was our second stay in this B&B. The room we stayed in this year was a beautifully decorated family room, with a double bed and two single beds. We had the jacuzzi room. It was good value for money and the breakfast left us full until dinner time. Can't really complain about anything - staff where lovely, the location was brilliant (30 minute walk to the pier). There where lots of other families there too, and everyone seemed happy! Didn't get time to try out the pool during this stay - but last time it was lovely! Overall, had a wonderful stay and can't wait to stay again. :-)

Room Tip: Go for the luxury room with jacuzzi - it's the most expensive but the room is very big and if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 718ElinorB718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

On arrival we were greeted by an Eastern European  lady (review said family run business) who wasn't aware of us booking in advance and when we were shown to our rooms I was shocked that the room we had was worth £70! It had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen and made it very awkward when getting out the shower as the door would hit the light fixture. The rooms were meant to be indivually Edwardian furnished but it was basically some outdated OAPs room if I'm being brutally honest. The room had a very old fashioned tv and a very basic tea station which provided no biscuits. As we were settling in for the night we could hear other people flushing their toilets and and hear people going up and down the stairs above our bedroom, our room was extremely hot and stuffy and even when we had the window open fully it made no difference. As we woke up looking forward to our English breakfast I personally think it wasn't worth getting out of bed for, it was indefinitely the worse breakfast I've ever had. The bacon and sausage was over cooked as was my fried egg and burnt! Quite inedible. I genuinely believe the rooms aren't worth what she's selling them for, not even close. Avoid staying here at all costs.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hazziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and had a very warm welcome. Good location, beautiful house, comfortable rooms and good value for money. I have stayed in a lot of b and bs and small hotels in the area and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned from having a lovely weekend break in this beautiful house.
it is full of olde worlde charm and the pool and sauna were very relaxing.
En-suite could with a power shower and a credit/debit card machine would be useful as we had to pay for our room by cheque or cash. However overall it is very good value and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weston-super-Mare hotels
0.8 mi away
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
The Grand Atlantic Hotel
#19 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
585 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
425 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hotel
Travelodge Weston-super-Mare hot...
#4 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
798 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sandringham Hotel
The Sandringham Hotel
#15 of 28 in Weston-super-Mare
570 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Park B&B
The Park B&B
#26 of 63 in Weston-super-Mare
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ormonde House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ormonde House

Property: Ormonde House
Address: 19 Uphill Road North, Weston-super-Mare BS23 4NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston-super-Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Weston-super-Mare
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our indoor heated pool and sauna. Traditional English breakfast, served in homely surroundings in our gracious Edwardian Home. 2 minutes from the beach & close to town. All En-suite & Our Master suite features a Jacuzzi for 2. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ormonde House Hotel Weston Super Mare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing