We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday carvery”
Review of The Eagles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Eagles Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sunday carvery”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have read numerous reviews on this hotel and feel compelled to add mine.
PRO'S - Clean, tidy, busy (which always a good indicator) good value for money, attentive staff.
CON'S- We were in a big group and sometimes service was slow, nature of the beast (place was very busy) staff congregated at the bar on mobile phones (nit picky point)

Benchmark for us, would you go back? answer- yes and would look forward to it.
must book though, saw numerous people turned away as full and additional bar space had been opened to accommodate people.
As we only stayed for lunch i can't comment on the sleep/rooms etc.

Room Tip: For sunday a lunch a booking is a must, and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    38
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
54
58
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We had seen the hotel about 3 months ago when we stayed locally, the rooms were being refurbished, there was a lot of work visible. This time we chose to stay at the Eagles Hotel as the rooms were recently opened: it was a real surprise, so beautifully done, in keeping with the age and character of the building, with gorgeous furniture. We had dinner and breakfast on both days and really enjoyed the food , great selection of Specials ! Love the surroundings rivers and lakes, we'll definitely be back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DoddsieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is my second visit. The completely refurbished bedrooms are all individual and certainly have a wow factor. The food is fantastic , staff great and the new owners could not be friendlier or more accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grumpy3329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conwy
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Have been a couple of times since its been refurbished and I thought it was about time I wrote a review, its a absolutely must if you are in the area there is good choice from the special board and the menu, I have got to say the chips are the nicest I have ever had you can tell they are home made, every time we have been we have had a sandwich (with a portion of chips)but the next time when we go we are going to try something off the special board, also they do a carvery on a Sunday all the dishes are very good value. My husband and father-in-law said they both enjoyed the beer. It wont be long before we will be going back
Well done the Eagles keep up the good work. A ****

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank suzy2011conwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Never normally write reviews but I have to write about our new year experience. We had a fantastic evening new owners Rhonda and rupert went all out fantastic new year finished off with fireworks. It's nice to see a venue which is the heart of a town going all out. Cannot wait to see the place this summer and what you guys have to offer in 2014. Thank you :)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Joneswayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have dined at the Eagles Hotel many times over the years and were very sad to see it close. The fantastic news is that is has re-opened and the service and welcome is excellent. The present owners have spent a lot of money and effort on the refurbishment and the end product is of the highest standard. The wood panelling in the dining room is a pleasure to see. We were welcomed today by the owners and they made us feel at home immediately. The Sunday carvery of 2 courses for £9.95 was excellent and we could not find room for a third course! The room was full of local people and this says a lot about the hotel. The employment provided for local people is also to be welcomed and there was a lovely Welsh atmosphere throughout. Excellent and very best wishes for the future. Gwych - llawer o ddiolch.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have just had a super evening at the refurbished Eagles. Great food from local suppliers and being a real ale junkie I was over the moon to find the local brewer at the bar asking me what I thought of my pint! What an advertisement for a super drink .
We were lucky enough to meet the new owners who are clearly enjoying putting the customer first because nothing is too much trouble and the staff follow their lead.
We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
3.7 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagles Hotel

Property: The Eagles Hotel
Address: Ancaster Square, Llanrwst LL26 0LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagles Hotel is a charming 18th century hotel, bar and restaurant that offers a warm welcome, excellent food, with a carvery every Sunday, plus superb accommodation and a private function room for parties, meetings and weddings. Set in the beautiful old market town of Llanrwst on the banks of the River Conwy it is conveniently situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, central for major tourist attractions.The Eagles Hotel is your chance to escape and relax in the stunning Welsh countryside.Having been recently refurbished, The Eagles Hotel is now back and once more the very centre of Llanrwst's social and commercial life.If you've been to The Eagles Hotel in the past, now is the perfect time to come and see for yourself just how much it's changed! And if you've never been before, then come and discover what all the fuss is about - new owners Rhonda & Rupert Stevens, head chef Albie and the team will be pleased to see you! What could be better than warming yourself with a winter ale, enjoying a slap-up meal on a weekend, or unwinding with a glass of wine outside and enjoying a warm summer's evening.The defining characteristics of the frontage, including the Italianate tower, date from the mid-Victorian era when tourism was a major growth industry in the Conwy Valley.The building is named after the three eagles displayed in the coat of arms of the Wynn family, the principal local landowner in the Tudor age. It is currently an independent hotel, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Eagles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eagles Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing