We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, ideal location”
Review of The Eagles Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eagles Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We have just returned from a one night stay at The Eagles Hotel in Llanrwst and would thoroughly recommend it to others. The owners and staff were really pleasant and accommodating. The room was very comfortable and although we did not have enough time to eat in the restaurant the Sunday carvery looked and smelt delicious. We will definitely be returning for a walking weekend later and look forward to booking in at The Eagles.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliemoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

The Eagles Hotel is at the centre of the town both geographically & socially. A great place to relax, have a drink & people watch. When we were there we dined on fresh trout that was caught that day. The food is fresh & beautifully cooked & the bar & restaurant areas both welcoming & comfortable. Staff were both enthusiastic & helpful. Makes a nice change from staying at a chain hotel.
Surrounding areas for walks along the river up to the lakes are all within easy reach

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryJane69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Called in as it was the first place we could find serving food on an evening after a day on the hills. We 'hit lucky' decent beer, friendly staff with helpful advice, good food served quickly and at reasonable prices. The the placed filled up rapidly as Wales were playing rugby and there was a large screen. Not an empty seat and plenty stood at the bar. All speaking Welsh and in good humour. We are retired old fogies but the young people around us switched to English and included us in their chat. Well worth the visit. I had to go through to the hotel reception to use my credit card and that looked quieter and a delightful place. I'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Beautiful settings in the market town of Llanrwst overlooking the river. The hotel is still being refurbished but this should not put you off trying it out, our room was clean and spacious but it could have done with an extra bin for papers and the tea and coffee wrappers because there was only a small bin in the bathroom and my wife needed a hair dryer which they do no provide but apart from this we enjoyed our stay. Bar food was good, breakfast menu was also good and there is a carvery for your Sunday lunch each weak. All the staff were very friendly so all in all a very nice base for a visit to a wet! but beautiful Snowdonia.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have read numerous reviews on this hotel and feel compelled to add mine.
PRO'S - Clean, tidy, busy (which always a good indicator) good value for money, attentive staff.
CON'S- We were in a big group and sometimes service was slow, nature of the beast (place was very busy) staff congregated at the bar on mobile phones (nit picky point)

Benchmark for us, would you go back? answer- yes and would look forward to it.
must book though, saw numerous people turned away as full and additional bar space had been opened to accommodate people.
As we only stayed for lunch i can't comment on the sleep/rooms etc.

Room Tip: For sunday a lunch a booking is a must, and worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We had seen the hotel about 3 months ago when we stayed locally, the rooms were being refurbished, there was a lot of work visible. This time we chose to stay at the Eagles Hotel as the rooms were recently opened: it was a real surprise, so beautifully done, in keeping with the age and character of the building, with gorgeous furniture. We had dinner and breakfast on both days and really enjoyed the food , great selection of Specials ! Love the surroundings rivers and lakes, we'll definitely be back.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DoddsieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is my second visit. The completely refurbished bedrooms are all individual and certainly have a wow factor. The food is fantastic , staff great and the new owners could not be friendlier or more accommodating.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grumpy3329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
332 reviews
3.3 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
785 reviews
3.2 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
2.6 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagles Hotel

Address: Ancaster Square, Llanrwst LL26 0LG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £80 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagles Hotel is a charming 18th century hotel, bar and restaurant that offers a warm welcome, excellent food, with a carvery every Sunday, plus superb accommodation and a private function room for parties, meetings and weddings. Set in the beautiful old market town of Llanrwst on the banks of the River Conwy it is conveniently situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, central for major tourist attractions.The Eagles Hotel is your chance to escape and relax in the stunning Welsh countryside.Having been recently refurbished, The Eagles Hotel is now back and once more the very centre of Llanrwst's social and commercial life.If you've been to The Eagles Hotel in the past, now is the perfect time to come and see for yourself just how much it's changed! And if you've never been before, then come and discover what all the fuss is about - new owners Rhonda & Rupert Stevens, head chef Albie and the team will be pleased to see you! What could be better than warming yourself with a winter ale, enjoying a slap-up meal on a weekend, or unwinding with a glass of wine outside and enjoying a warm summer's evening.The defining characteristics of the frontage, including the Italianate tower, date from the mid-Victorian era when tourism was a major growth industry in the Conwy Valley.The building is named after the three eagles displayed in the coat of arms of the Wynn family, the principal local landowner in the Tudor age. It is currently an independent hotel, bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Eagles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Eagles Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing