We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genealogists welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Firs Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanrwst
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Firs Cottage
Ranked #3 of 7 Llanrwst B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Genealogists welcome”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is a lovely home we found while travelling through Wales for the first time. A simple B & B sign on the house gate lead us to stay in one of the quietest and picturesque parts of the countryside. Our hostess is a keen genealogist and I was glad to be able to help answer a question on scanning in of old photos to make them easier to read. A wonderful breakfast cooked for us in the morning and an introduction via a phone call to the local across the river for our evening meal was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Go with your gut instinct
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwi in T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prifmawr, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Thank you Kiwi! I enjoyed meeting you both and your visit was serendipitous! The family photo was new to me, my great uncle in Merchant Navy uniform and what I found to be a New Zealand cap badge, thanks to your help. The pub across the river is a good example of home cooking, so pleased you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Mary, made my family so welcome during our one night stay, we had the run of the house it was just like visiting a relative our daughter could sit and watch one tv whilst we were in the other lounge and our dog was more than welcome. The rooms were a great size with comfortable beds. The breakfast was excellent I even bought some jams to take home they were so good. Mary is a friendly host who gives you a warm welcome in to her cottage style home. A place I will definately visit again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prifmawr, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
It was lovely to see your review Jan and I enjoyed meeting your family, and dog!
Well behaved, all of them!
You'll be very welcome when you make your planned return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Mary made me feel welcome with a fantstic cup of tea as soon as i arrived. I booked a year in advance and was glad i did. Mary kept in contact throughout the year and i felt as if i knew her well before i arrived. This b and b is for those who love the 'real' feel of a building built many years ago ( as in 1600 and something). Becuase of this it does not have the 'wow' factor of the modern b and b's BUT that is it's charm. And Mary just adds to that charm. The rooms are small and low and have low ceilings, as it should. Of you love cats, you will be warmly welcomed by three of them. The views are worthwhile as well. The postioning of the b and b is great as i spent a few days here and went north and south and saw lots with always a cup of tea on hand when i returned. Mary was always there to give advice and i would highly recommend this place to anyone who knows old world charm when they see it. Breakfasts where great as well! Thanks Mary. I look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mardeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
Thank you Mark, for taking the trouble to do a review on Firs Cottage. The year between your booking and visit passed very quickly and like you, I felt as if I had known you and your travelling family, for ever! A cottage with a long history is a very special place and I'm so glad you appreciated that. Last night we had a glorious sunset over the hills opposite and today promises sunshine! The cats and I look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, USA
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I highly recommend a stay at this lovely B&B. The owner, Mary, is so welcoming and you will feel from the very beginning that you are a guest in her home. She is also knowledgeable about the local sights and can even help you with your Welsh pronunciations, if necessary. Firs Cottage has great breakfasts, a sun room, pretty grounds, and a quiet, country setting. On top of everything else, it is close to the main road and only a short drive to any of the sights in north Wales. One of the great joys of travel is meeting new people and experiencing a different part of the world. Don't stay at an impersonal hotel or hop from place to place. Stay at Mary's cottage for a base and then drive out to see Bodnant, Conwy, Caernarvon, Snowdonia, Llangollen, etc. When you get home after your day Mary will make sure you are comfortable. John M. Seattle, WA

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prifmawr, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you John for your appreciative review.
I shall look forward to that return visit with your family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you want a friendly welcome this is the place for you!
Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Mary, the owner.
We only stayed one night but wish it could have been more!
Room not en suite, but facilities more then adequate.
Ann and John Hodgkin

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prifmawr, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Thank you Ann and John for your thoughtful comments. It may have been only a one night stay this time but my one night guests are all important to me. Hope to see you for a longer break!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed here for the night as our friends were getting married nearby and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay.
Mary was very friendly and an extremely good host. She went out of her way to make sure we had a nice time, which we certainly did. From the lovely cups of coffee, awesome breakfast selection, comfy bed and the wonderful views to the cute cats, this is a great place to stay.
We'll definitely be staying here again someday soon.
Chris and Veronica

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prifmawr, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 18 February 2012
Thank you for your review, your comments are appreciated and it will be lovely to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Wonderful welcome with excellent breakfast, Superb beds, every need catered for with a wonderful smile. Splendid views and useful advice about local aminities. We couldn't have wished for a better place for a new year break. We we would encourage you all to go and try for yourselves. Barbara and Mike

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prifmawr, Owner at Firs Cottage, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your appreciative review, I'm looking forward to welcoming your family later in the summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.0 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
289 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
305 reviews
7.3 mi away
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conwy) Hotel
Premier Inn Llandudno (Glan-Conw...
#1 of 1 in Llandudno Junction
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
172 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
645 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Firs Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firs Cottage

Property: Firs Cottage
Address: Maenan | North Wales, Llanrwst LL26 0YR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Firs Cottage Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing