We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed 19 October 2007

My family and I stayed at this wonderful hotel for 3 nights. Mary and Nelson (the owners) were wonderful. We were greeted by Mary who insisted that Nelson carry our luggage up to our room.

Our room was a family room (slept 4) and it was very comfortable. The bathroom was newly renovated and everything was lovely and clean.

Breakfast was superb - we could have a huge range of delicious food.

Our children were looked after with the free loan of DVD's from a great collection.

Our room looked over a very pretty field and we could see rabbits each morning playing together.

The hotel is in a very handy location, walking distance to shops and restaurants. We enjoyed eating in at the hotel - great dinner.

We wished that we could have stayed longer and would love to return here.

  • Liked — The friendly hosts.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    71
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
64
171
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

Didn't know what to expect of a small hotel in the middle of north Wales. When I spoke to the hotel to book they were very friendly and helpful and were able to confirm that they were "veggie friendly".
When we arrived the man remembered us from the conversation the week before. Our room was well decorated and very clean. The bathroom (with a shower only) was again clean and tidy, if small. The only critiscm would be that the shower wasn't very powerful.
We ate both dinner and breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed both - the menu had a good variety for both meat eaters and veggies.
The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and nothing appeared to be too much trouble. It was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely go back as and when we are in the area. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Messkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2007

Myself and six or seven friends stayed with Mary and Nelson (very friendly owners!) for two nights...(and have done previously but only just started using this site so felt it appropriate to review The Meadowsweet as my first review!!)

To say that the service here is fantastic is an under estimation.

The welcome is warm and immediately the atmosphere is inviting and friendly. We stayed in one of the rooms over looking one of the beautiful meadows. We arrived at night and therefore were not sure what was ahead of us as we opened the curtains in the morning. To our excitement the view was like something out an Enid Blyton book...truly magnificent!!

Our bedroom was extremely comfortable with all facilities. certainly exceeded all expectations. Breakfast was superb, fit for a king and a welcome start to the day. We spent the rest of the day away from the hotel but returned for our evening meal. Nelson took in to consideration one of our parties food requests (nut allergy) and a very happy group of people ate what must have been one of the best meals ever!! The menu is varied enough to make you feel you're away from home but still has the traditional dishes that give the homely feeling!!

Overall, our mini break was wonderful. May I say if you are to visit anywhere in North Wales 'The Meadowsweet' is the place to stay. We even had our dog with us and he totally approved!!

I also noticed at breakfast a young family of four being catered for and looking extremely happy!! A smile from a child says a lot dont you think?!!

Happy travelling,

Craig

  • Liked — everything was great, rooms, food, drinks, staff, etc
  • Disliked — it was full and two friends had to stay in another hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craigcymro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2007

We were touring Wales for a week stopping for one night at each area. We loved the Meadowsweet as it had everything we were looking for. The location was ideal for visiting many places of interest and the welcome received was great. Nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were light, bright and clean. We soon felt part of the family even though we are retired and nearing 70 yrs old. They catered for all ages including babies and the atmosphere made you feel very much at home. Oh, how we wish we could have stayed for a week! AND the food was the best we had during our whole trip even superior to the 4 star hotel in which we commenced our journey.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the road
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2006

We were delighted with the room. The service was very prompt, and the staff was friendly and attentive! We found the room quite large and the fixtures were new and fresh. A very pleasant stay!

Rick and Joanne - Dryden, NY

  • Liked — The room
  • Tips/Secrets — If travelling by train, use the station at North Llanrwst
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rick_and_joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Ok room & I did like the complementary mineral water bottles but the bathroom was a little bit tired & the breakfast a bit basic. Reasonable location on the edge of town with mostly off street parking

The good thing was that unlike B&Bs during the high season you could book just for the Saturday night rather than 2 nights.

Possiby the best in town but probably a bit too expensive to represent good value for money. I felt a 2 star rather than a 3 star rating was closer to the mark

Return visit? Unlikely to make it a return destination

Helpful?
Thank Tastydogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
186 reviews
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
709 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
658 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Property: The Meadowsweet Hotel
Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing