We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
228
77
22
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
77
22
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakeslle harinorth walesdeluxe roomlovely hotelhair straightenersmaple syrupmain roadbetws y coedshort drivefamily roomstayed longerthe young ladybed was very comfortabletea and coffeeowners and stafffood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After seeing 'Four in a Bed' we stayed two nights in room 4 with its exceptional view of the distant hills. The room is of a decent size with its own settee and lovely mahogany furniture. The bed, with its drapes, added a touch of luxury. The shower room/loo was of a clever design, worked perfectly and delivered a good shower.

Room 4 is on the front of the hotel, overlooking the, at times, busy road but it did not interfere with our stay. I am a light sleeper and any traffic after 10pm/before 7am did not keep me awake as the bed was so comfy.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and everything was really nice. Relaxed, friendly, but efficient with lovely food. There was mixture of tourist and locals dining in there. The choice of food was good. The steak was perfect as was my fish. There is not a huge wine list but my Chilean Sauvignon was very nice.

Breakfast was just as it should be - plenty of choice of cereals, yoghurts, fruit and fruit juice. Hot food was perfectly cooked and of good quality. Service was efficient and friendly.

Some of the furnishings are a little worn round the edges, but everything was perfectly clean. We loved the cafetiere of coffee, the small bottles of sparkling wine, the chocolates and the toiletries in the room very much.

The hotel was run efficiently, if you asked for something you got it with no problems at all.

The village is lovely too: plenty of places to eat or go shop at the local Co-op store. The roads are good and can recommend visiting Bodnant Gardens only 8 miles away. Shame we did not get the chance to have afternoon tea at the nearby picturesque Ty Hwnt I'R Bont Cafe.

Room Tip: If you want a great view over the mountains ask for a room on the front. If you want to get away from the traffic ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Room 4 ws double aspect.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaWte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting relatives in Llanrwst. It's an area we know well but we had not stayed or dined before. On arrival staff were very welcoming, we had a drink in the bar and were able to sit and enjoy the lovely views. Although the restaurant was full and we hadn't booked a table was immediately made available for us in the bar, which was spacious and comfortable. Menu is varied and produce locally sourced. All our meals were fantastic.
Our room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. Bathroom was small but shower had good water pressure, nice towels etc.Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Range of teas / coffee etc to have a drink in your room. Breakfast was good - plenty to choose from and tasty. My two small (very) complaints would be that we weren't offered brown toast and the coffee with breakfast wasn't great and may have been instant. I'd have preferred a cafetiere. We will definitely be back - a really great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent three nights here - the location is ideal for exploring North Wales and the small town of Llanrwst has nice walks and stunning views. Dinner at 'The Meadowsweet; was delicious, as was the hearty breakfast. All public rooms ( and our bedroom) are tastefuly decorated with attention to detail - we loved it and would recommend to anyone who enjoys a small, friendly, clean and well run hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cas443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We booked this hotel after it appeared on Channel 4's 'Four In a Bed'. We knew we wanted to head to the Snowdonia area, and this hotel was perfectly placed.

Rooms are available at differing prices, and we decided to pay the little extra for a deluxe double. This was well worth the extra, as the room was great and the view from the oversized windows was breath-taking.

Arrival - For Sat Nav purposes the postcode provided takes you straight to the hotel, and there is ample free parking on site. Check-in we were greeted by a smilie, and helpful young lady. We were not offered to be shown to our room, but I am sure if we had asked it would have been no trouble. We arrived on a Wednesday, and I asked if I needed to book a table for the restaurant. I was advised I did not need to book, and just turn up. We did this on the Wednesday without any issues, but be warned on Thursdays the restaurant is extremely busy, so booking is advisable. We did not book for the Thursday, but the owner did very kindly manage to squeeze us in.

The Room - The room is decorated in keeping with the property, and is well equipped, with some added extras of sparkling wine, bottled water, sweets and biscuits. The shower room is a practical size. The bed was stunning, and extremely comfortable, and to wake up to such a fantastic view was an added bonus.

Breakfast/Dinner - A great Breakfast, with great options. The food at this hotel in general was excellent. The Full Welsh option was very tasty (with very good quality product) and set us up nicely for the day ahead. The local residents seem to frequent the restaurant (they obviously know where to get the best food in town), and are very pleasant and friendly.

The staff and owners of this hotel give excellent customer service, both Mary and Nelson (the owners) will try and accommodate your needs as much as physically possible. We both felt so welcome in our short stay at Meadowsweet, and definitely recommend, and return ourselves.

Room Tip: Spend the little extra on the deluxe doubles, it is well worth it for the view alone.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JokerCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed as a couple with a young child in a family room on the second floor. One slight disappointment was that there appeared to be some unfinished maintenance work going on which had left an undecorated patch on the wall next to a radiator. maybe there had been a problem, but no apology was offered. Such things do happen but I think if I was running the hotel I would have offered a slight reduction or a free bottle of wine! The room generally was fine, but the bathroom was infact a shower room only which was adequate rather than spoiling. The room was a good size and although on the side had views. We ate in two nights, once with a local friend and the evening meals and breakfast were good. The staff were very welcoming and friendly, even when we lost our key only to find it under a car seat after our return to France. The hotel is well located and away from the madding crowd and some of the tat of the north Wales coast. Would stay again. Lack of a lift at this level a slight minus.

Room Tip: Best to ask for a room overlooking the valley, although looking over a road. No heavy traffic though. Think about asking for a first floor room.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews