We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation with superb cuisine and attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our son and his new wife stayed in this small hotel and had their small family wedding meal meal there. The staff were professional and friendly. Environment intimate yet with a roomy table setting.. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

First stayed in the standard room, which is not really up to scratch. Tired interior, view on the backstreets of Llanrwst. For last two days upgraded to the four poster bedrooms. Much, much nicer! Back garden is a depressing yard, that's all. No garden. Views from front are wonderful.
Hotel is straight on the main road, busy.
Restaurant is very good and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't book the standard room. Location of the hotel matters less outside summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This review restricts itself to Lle Hari (Harry's place) restaurant alone.

We phoned for a table reservation last minute and were given a warm and welcoming reply and shortly afterwards turned up . The bar and restaurant were quiet , as you would accept on a hot Monday evening in Snowdonia. We were immediately attended to and service throughout was attentive without being intrusive , just what we like
My wife and I treated ourselves to a full three course meal which we both thoroughly enjoyed, I devoured my pâté which came with a wonderful relish and also managed to sneak a piece of my wife's delicious chicken tandoori strips.
On to main course and a delightful pork tenderloin stuffed with black pudding and wrapped in bacon was soon demolished, my wife enjoyed her piri piri pork although I personally do not enjoy anything piri piri .
I tend to judge a chef by their ability to turn out a creme brûlée and the sizeable portion afforded was an absolute delight, I was almost jealous of my wife's selection but was too busy relishing my choice of sticky toffee pudding
Overall I found the service was good and the food better than good and I have no hesitation in recommending the meadowsweet as an excellent restaurant if your looking to tingle your taste buds in a welcoming environment .
Doesn't quite get the five stars , this is not a complaint but I do reserve five stars for somewhere I consider as exceptional, this I classed as very very good

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WelshDragon93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hotel has parking, and is within walking distance to the local shops (and a picturesque stone bridge and tea house). Service is friendly, and the person at the reception was more than happy to recommend some good local eats if the hotel restaurant isn't to our tastes.

Rooms were comfortable, bright, and airy, if a little dated. The shower area was basically a tiled area in the bathroom. Nonetheless, it is a good hotel for a short stay, and the breakfasts are good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the meadow overlook the main road, so may be noisier at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank map_maestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed for two nights at the meadowsweet after checking tripadvisor we were not disappointed
The staff , actually one of the owners couldn't do enough for us to make our stay really enjoyable.
The dinner menu was delicious and belly busting. The location was great with quiet walks by the river

Room Tip: Rooms on second floor good views but a bit of a hike with suitcases no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geniejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Lovely location. Owner very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was great, especially the American pancakes! Evening meals were tasty but nothing special. The two issues were: (1) the room was rather tired - stained carpet, flaking paintwork, wardrobe door didn't shut properly etc; and (2) there was no desk to work at, and as I was there on a business visit this was important.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

stayed 4 nights in this hotel 10th-14th june 2013...excellent hotel,great location,every member of staff was polite and professional..rooms were very clean and everything catered for,food excellent...would definately stay there again..very pleased

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
203 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing