We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can see why they have won awards”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to stay again or recommend. We stayed in the four-poster room at the front of the hotel. It was very spacious, clean, and the bed slept well. It was nicely decorated and up-to-date with a flat screen tv. We never heard neighbors through the walls as you do in some hotels. The staff and owners (Nelson and Mary) were helpful and friendly without being intrusive. In fact, coming from America, I had been told not to take my hair styling tools due to electrical differences. I was pleasantly surprised to find the room had not only a hairdryer but a flat iron in it! They aim to please! Food was plentiful and excellent tasting. There was lots (castle, waterfalls, historic church etc.) to see within walking distance as the hotel sits on the edge of a village so also has the wonderful advantage of facing the postcard-like views of the Welsh countryside. Other attractions were only a very SHORT drive away.

Room Tip: Front rooms are equipped with en-suite bathrooms including a shower. Tubs are available, if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2013

The Meadowsweet is a friendly family-run hotel which exceeded my expectations on all counts. I stayed for over a week, joined by friends with kids during my stay. The rooms were not only beautiful ('it's like a princess room' was the comment from my friend's little girl) but comfortable and spotless. We enjoyed a fabulous selection at breakfast and I can strongly recommend the American pancakes, which were to die for. In order to work off the yummy breakfast, we made the most of the local attractions as the hotel is easy driving distance to the coast, Conwy castle (which the kids loved), Bodnant Gardens and of course Snowdonia. The walking close to the hotel was beautiful and my favourite was spot was down by the river. In the evenings, the bar is a perfect spot for a relaxing drink, where you can snuggle down into the comfy chairs and relax, looking out across the fields. The dinner menu was comprehensive and delicious. Throughout my stay, I found the staff to be attentive, friendly and full of suggestions of things to do and places to visit. It is a truly lovely hotel and I will definitely be visiting again in the hopefully not too distant future. My thanks to all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeG713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We were 4 people on the trip to snowdonia. Its a good hotel maintained well by a hard working family. They have a horse farm just opposite the hotel. The main problem is the hotel is far from most attractions such as the lake or Betsy-Cowed town centre where you have great walking tours and also far from the railway museum. If you are looking for peace & quiet then i would surely recommend it. Otherwise , with kids maybe you wanna stay someplace closer to attractions.

Room Tip: The family room we good was really nice. But make sure you get out before 1.30 or else the room wont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huks1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My husband booked this hotel as a birthday treat for me and some friends, after seeing the good reports on your website. What a let down, Faulty Towers eat your heat out. Overpriced + shambolic. The Premier room was shaby, the carpet stained, the mattress did not fit the Fourposter bed. Our friends waited 2 days for soap, the room had a hole in the wall.
The very young and untrained staff were very pleasant but this was outweighed by a rather dour and unfriendly boss (Nelson?). He showed zero interest in his guests, never speaking to us.
Food, all meals, was a disgrace, Only go there if you like everthing deepfried and do not mind if they run out of bread. You only get 3 pieces for 4 persons and the soup without a roll.
A very sad and overpriced experience.
Last but not least, do not be fooled by the website, the hotel is not in a meadow but has the main road to Conway in front.

Room Tip: dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowsweet4, Owner at The Meadowsweet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Dear Mrs. Jervis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us, and to Trip Advisor, with a critique of our restaurant and hotel. In our short time here we have been rewarded with a variety of warm wishes and compliments. We also value just as highly those opinions and reviews that are less than enthusiastic. We have certainly shared your letter with all of our staff in an ongoing effort to make every stay here a rewarding experience. Additionally, I sincerely apologize if you feel your birthday was not a happy one.

Sincerely,
Nelson Haerr

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This family run hotel in the Conwy valley provided a most excellent service throughout our wedding, from providing accommodation for our guests, beautiful quality food, perfect location and such friendly, helpful staff. The managers suggested locating our reception in their field opposite the hotel, where they also have a holiday cottage. They provided gazebos' to shelter us any weather, which as it turned out, provided shade from the sun that we were blessed with. The children were able to run around and let off steam safely whilst adults enjoyed the refreshments, which were plentiful. This venue comes highly recommended to both visitors and prospective engagements such as ours. The family facilitate with care to detail and you personally.
Perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Our son and his new wife stayed in this small hotel and had their small family wedding meal meal there. The staff were professional and friendly. Environment intimate yet with a roomy table setting.. Would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Annette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

First stayed in the standard room, which is not really up to scratch. Tired interior, view on the backstreets of Llanrwst. For last two days upgraded to the four poster bedrooms. Much, much nicer! Back garden is a depressing yard, that's all. No garden. Views from front are wonderful.
Hotel is straight on the main road, busy.
Restaurant is very good and the staff are very welcoming and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't book the standard room. Location of the hotel matters less outside summer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
209 reviews
3.5 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
37 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
799 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
552 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £48 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing