We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Originally found this hotel via Groupon and purchased it as a gift for my boyfriend, however we will definitely return in the summer as we enjoyed our stay so much.
We ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and had breakfast also, the food was delicious. The hubby was very impressed with his pancakes :-)
We also loved the bar area, very cosy and intimate and the bar tab just made everything so much easier and that little bit more special & comfortable, the manager was very attentive (we didn't have to keep running back and forth to the bar).
Room was lovely, we stayed in room 4 and had such a pretty view. The hotel was always quiet of a night, even being on a main road we were never disturbed!!! We particularly liked the amenities in our room, everything was catered for...we were even treated to two little bottles of wine on our arrival :-) little things go a long way and this hotel certainly pays attention to detail (dvd collection, hairdryer and straighteners, lots of toiletries too if you need anything extra!)
It's a 20 min drive to Conwy castle and only 5 mins to Gwydir so it's location was also ideal, we had our car.
The reason we gave a 4 star review was that other than the price of the room, our groupon was not made very clear when we arrived. We didn't really like to ask as we had already got the room at a bargain price so felt a little cheeky asking about our free drinks and whatnot. (This does not however take away the fact that the staff were lovely and always happy to help.)

Room Tip: The rooms are probably all as lovely as eachother! I wouldn't worry about picking a particular r...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca2688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for The Meadowsweet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

stayed here for Saturday evening on way back to Cheshire ,strongly recommend immaculate throughout pleasant staff , room 15 lovely four poster worth the extra superb views to front . eat in town evening but had breakfast here pleasant fab American pancakes if you have a sweet tooth !!!! all together excellent and comfortable.

Room Tip: front rooms benefit charming views on clear day !!! shower cubicle may be little small if you are l...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merc593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

After battling through the constant rainstorm that is North Wales at this time of year, we were so happy to walk into a warm, cosy and welcoming hotel. The receptionist was lovely and our deluxe room was beautifully made up and already had the radiator turned up full. We booked dinner late so ended up having to eat in the bar that evening rather than the restaurant but actually, I'm very glad we did! We had excellent service because we were right next to the barman (who I believe was also the owner). It was also quieter and when we finished we were able to move into armchairs closer to the fireplace with our wine. Exactly what we needed in the weather conditions. Lovely! The food was amazing and well worth the good cost.
The bed was very comfy and the window looked out over the field of horses. 2 small negative points - Don't flush the toilet at the same time as the person in the en-suite next to yours because it won't work. And also we had a large gap in our window frame which let in some draft and noise but was nothing that stuffing a flannel through the gap couldn't fix :)
The hotel is in a great location, we went down to Blaenau Ffestiniog and up to Conwy Castle in one day - it's all much closer than it looks and everything is so beautiful. Even when driving, I found it hard to keep my eyes on the road and not get distracted by the waterfalls and mountains. I'd definitely stay again and pretty sure I can say the same for my boyfriend!

Room Tip: The free wine and free posh hand cream in the Deluxe Rooms makes up the extra money you spend on it...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

The hubby and I stayed here for two nights last week to celebrate my birthday. The weather was unfortunately shocking but the hotel was pretty much faultless. We booked on a KGB deal and ungraded to a deluxe room which was really lovely...warm, comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated with a great view. The only downside would be that the loo didn't flush too well but this aside it was perfect.
Breakfast on both mornings was of a very high standard. We had a drink in the bar and dined on our second evening there and the food and service were both excellent and the menu very reasonable. To top it off they very kindly posted my make up bag which I left in the room on departure and would not accept any payment for postage costs! Exceptional service!

Room Tip: Room 8 is really lovely and worth the upgrade.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L0ubiel0u72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Meadowsweet is a great place to base yourself if passing through or spending holidays there, the decor is boutique style and the owners are very accommodating with a great bar and menu to boot. The food and ambiance is class leading, and of course the geographical setting makes it the perfect place for almost any get away. I have stayed many times and always enjoyed the experience. I travel extensively with my work and this has a real homely feel, where everything is just right from breakfast through to dinner, and trust me that is something you don’t find in many places.

Room Tip: Great views from the front of the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowsweet4, Owner at The Meadowsweet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for your recent review. It's truly appreciated especially coming from someone who travels extensively.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

A warm welcome as storms descended on the beautiful Conwy valley. Drinks around a roaring fire followed by a lovely pork and black pudding set me up for a chat with Nelson and a few locals. The room was spacious and welcoming with all the comforts needed. A Harry breakfast completed a lovely stay. Then off to brave the storms.

Room Tip: Only I used one room on second floor, no lift so stairs are an issue if you have a dodgy knee
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadowsweet4, Owner at The Meadowsweet Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to record your thoughts. The evenings conversation was as enjoyable as your review warm and appreciated. We thank you very much and look forward to your return should work/travels bring you back to North Wales.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

One word sums up our stay at this hotel, and that is excellent. Both my sister and I had a two night stay here in October in the twin room, which was quite spacious and clean, with a good sized en suite too. On both nights we dined in the restaurant and we were well impressed with the choice of dishes on their menu. All the food was cooked to perfection and tasted delicious, and the ice cream (made locally) was to die for. It was a shame that we were unable to stay for any longer so that we could sample more of their dishes. If there is a down side, it would be the size of the car park, although we had no problem in getting a spot on the car park, I would imagine it could get very busy in the height of the season.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuffty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
757 reviews
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £80 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing