We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap last minute deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Bought this on groupon for my boyfriends birthday and decided to visit somewhere a little different.
Didn't know it had appeared on Four Rooms but I can see why it won. The room we stayed in was small with a small bathroom but for what I paid it didn't bother me. Whilst I can't fault the cleanliness of the room, there were stains on the bathroom floor and a grouting around the shower needed looking at. Little things that would make the hotel room that little bit better.
Ate twice in the restaurant at night which was gorg. Breakfast has a choice between omelette, pancakes or full English. The bar connected is small and cosy which we liked. Not too expensive for drinks and wood recommend the welsh toffee vodka coffee- so good!! And the chocolate bag dessert if they do it as a special.
Llanwrst is a little out of the way, we couldn't get a taxi to near by Baest-y-coed on Saturday night until 9 because we hadn't pre booked one.Llandudno is about twenty mins away- definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiaisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Staying on local caravan site so just called for a meal. Pleasant obliging staff and really good food. I had lasagne with salad and garlic bread, hubby had beef and ale pie. Both really good. Sweets nice as well.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank GenuineDabber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just home from a midweek break at the meadowsweet, we had room 4 which was lovely lots of extra little touches like wine in the room and slippers and dressing gowns, no need to take toiletries as ample are supplied for you as is a hairdryer and hair straightners . Ate breakfast and had an eveving meal in the hotel all were exceptional. The view over the hills from the large sash window in the room was a delight, will be going again in the summer.

Room Tip: Recommend paying the small fee to upgrade to room 4 you wont be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank didimliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Booked through a groupon so didnt expect too much because it was so reasonably priced, our room was nothing short of excellent, very clean, well decorated and furnished, great shower and toilet, en suite, very comfortable bed, great night's sleep !!

Room Tip: Room 4 was excellent with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlthebuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for two nights on a groupon deal which gave excellent value, although we did upgrade to a luxury room which was well worth the extra. The room was very large with a huge comfortable double bed. There was still plenty of space for a sofa in front of the lovely big window with views over the meadow and towards the hills. There was some road noise but the double glazing meant that this was not enough to disturb you. The bathroom was clean and well provided with toiletries and nice fluffy towels although there is no bath the shower is fine. Complimentary wine and water was also provided and we really enjoyed our glass of wine while admiring the view each evening. The restaurant was rather quiet but the food and service were excellent and we enjoyed both our evening meals. Breakfast was also good and we enjoyed the omelettes on offer. We often stay in the area when visiting Bodnant gardens and would certainly stop here again

Room Tip: A room at the front gives the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I didn't know until the day before we set off for the Meadow Sweet, that it had appeared on the 4 in a bed TV programme & won!! But having been, I know why it won. We booked the hotel through Groupon, and having read previous good reviews on here. We chose to pay the additional charge to upgrade our room, and this was a good decision, as our room was beautiful. We stayed in room 4, which enjoyed lovely views, and though the furniture is old, its old in a good way, quite antique looking, and gave the room a really homely feel. The addition of two bottles of wine on arrival was a lovely touch, and there were ample supplies of good quality toiletries, different tea's coffees etc with the added bonus of a cafetiere. The bed itself was very comfortable, and we were certainly not disturbed by any noise from the road outside. The shower cubicle in the room is fine with ample hot water, and nice quality towels. The room was nicely serviced while we were out on the Saturday. We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night, and the quality of the food was excellent, with a good varied menu. The dining room and bar looked a little dingy when we first looked in during the day, but the colour scheme added to the ambiance throughout the evening. Breakfast was very good, with cereals, juices, fruit etc and a very good full "Welsh" which is very similar to a full English but using Welsh products!! Free copies of the TV programme were available on reception, which we managed to watch on the DVD player in the room, and which gave a good feel of the place. There is also a nice lounge area with a piano etc.

The village of Llanrwst is very very nice with a beautiful bridge crossing the river, and some very good pubs to visit, with very friendly locals. We visited three castles in one day on the Saturday, using an explorer pass. All three castles were very different, and I'm pleased that we saw them all (Beaumaris, Caernarfon & Conwy) but it was certainly tiring. All are within easy reach of the hotel, and the road through to Anglesey via Betws y Coed was quite spectacular.

So to summarise, if I had been judging the hotel for the 4 in a bed programme, I would award 10 for the hosts, 9.5 for cleanliness (half point lost for the cobweb above the bed!!) 10 for facilities, 10 for a good nights sleep, and would I stay here again - YES most definitely - the sooner the better

Room Tip: Room 4 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevg1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and my husband booked this hotel through Groupon and thought it looked like a good deal (it was also close to family we were visiting in the area). We were not disappointed. Our room was really nice, very comfy bed, and was spotless. The selection of teas was particularly good (plenty of herbal teas as well as a choice of various other teas - very generous). We were at the back of the hotel which meant we had slightly less beautiful views than at the front but could still see the hills rising over the rooftops of Llanrwst which was very nice. As someone has already said - i think all the rooms are equally lovely so no need to worry about which room you get! :-)
We ate at the restaurant both nights and were very impressed - especially with the steaks we had on our second night, absolutely delicious (and very local - from just down the road we were told by the ever helpful and informative owner). Breakfast too was delicious.
Cant write this review without mentioning the owner - fantastic guy! Very helpful, smooth, efficient and friendly service and he was also very interesting - we were very impressed when he told us about all the efforts to have as much local produce as possible. We especially enjoyed the local Snowdon Lager and the Welsh Toffee Vodka (try the Welsh coffee - amazing!!). The bar area was a lovely place to retire to after a big, tasty dinner and we very much enjoyed spending a good few hours relaxing there. As mentioned by a previous reviewer the bar tab system was handy as we didnt have to worry about having enough cash when getting our drinks.
All in all was an absolutely wonderful stay and we will most definitely be back. Have already recommended it to many friends. :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsStageman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
202 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
769 reviews
3.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
2.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
321 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing