We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swallow Falls Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Royal Oak Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gwydyr Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Waterloo Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ty Gwyn Hotel(Betws-y-Coed)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
228
77
22
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
228
77
22
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspancakeslle harinorth walesdeluxe roomlovely hotelhair straightenersmaple syrupmain roadbetws y coedshort drivefamily roomstayed longerthe young ladybed was very comfortabletea and coffeeowners and stafffood was amazing
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at the meadow sweet from the 11th - 15th April, room was lovely staff are great and great service. Food was excellent and of a high standard along with the breakfast was wow. The hike to the top of snowdonia was great. Location of meadow sweet excellent great work by Nelson and wife. Enquired about a booking in May fully booked speaks for its self hey, the locals all say how nice this is. Go for it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon deal and had upgraded to a deluxe room. We got room 8. Bedroom was lovely, bed being very comfortable! Didn't realise it faced the road, got a stunning view but also heard all the traffic, yes not loads but if yr a light sleeper like me...The bathroom was small but adequate but the sink wobbled and comes away from the wall..Lots of toiletries in there. Little extras in the room added to a very pleasant stay. Every member of staff we spoke to were very nice. The young girl at breakfast shone out...Great base to explore North Wales...Recommend :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Visited this hotel on a kgb deal after reading previous reviews and hence the title of this review. Arrived on Sunday afternoon around 4.00pm in terrible weather - it brightened up a little later!. At reception was a young man who was pleasant enough but would not describe him as particularly friendly. Unusually, in our experience, we were not shown to our room, no.4, which was up two flights of stairs, but were simply handed the key. Almost as an afterthought the receptionist did ask if we needed help with our bags but we declined. The room, which was described as deluxe (£10 extra per night), had a lovely bay window and sofa as well as a 4 poster bed, with a small en suite shower room with toilet, and was very clean with what looked like new carpet. Two complimentary small bottles of white wine, and bottles of water were laid out on the chest of drawers and tea and coffee facilities were placed by the bed. However,little things such as a large ominous damp stain on ceiling, several scuff marks on the walls which showed white through the overall green, and a detached sink plug to the sink in the shower room would not now have impressed 4 in a Bed which I understand the hotel won 2 years ago. Because my wife is coeliac we asked before booking whether this could be catered for when dining and were assured by email from the head chef that 'if we have a problem or don't like any of the dishes on the menu our chef would make something special for you.' In fairness, a separate menu of dishes from the main menu which were, or could be, gluten free was presented to us on both nights, but the promise outlined by the head chef was not followed through by whichever chef(s) were on duty at the time. Another cause of some irritation on the first night was the lack of sufficient staff to cover both the bar area and restaurant which left us waiting for a pre-meal drink for several minutes while the same person who was on reception on our arrival, endeavoured to cope with both areas. Breakfasts consisted of omelette, full cooked, or American pancake with maple syrup. Cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and fruit juice were also available.
Our meals on both nights were somewhat disappointing, my wife having to contend with a beef and ale pie minus the non gluten free crust on the first night, and a small salmon fillet on the second night, minus non gluten free sauce, and Mediterranean vegetables which rather than roasted had been tossed around in a pan with oil and served virtually uncooked. Al dente was in this instance taken to unacceptable lengths, and my wife could have made a much better job of it herself, as it is one of her signature dishes at home. My steak was large, and the dauphinoise potatoes were good, although the whole mushrooms were oozing oil. The difference in size of the two meals was marked.
I am conscious that this review is not particularly in tune with others which we have read, but we
always speak as we find and report honestly on our experiences.
Llanrwst is a good base from which to visit places such as Betws-y-Coed, Llanberis, Conwy etc. and if you like visiting old buildings try the medieval Gwydir Castle which is over the Conwy River just outside Llanrwst. It is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Notwithstanding the minor faults outlined, room 4 was most acceptable, with a sunny aspect in the afternoons, although being on the front of the hotel road noise at certain times of the day/night was noticeable.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversurfer5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just back from a very competitive priced one night stay. Booked via Groupon and was attracted by the fact the Hotel had won Four in a Bed 2 years ago. Great bedroom small shower room. Excellent welcome and evening meal, breakfast whilst generous was on the cool side but apart from that would recommend staying at the Meadowsweet as the area is ideal for visiting National Trust properties/gardens and the Welsh coast. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarttonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Bought this on groupon for my boyfriends birthday and decided to visit somewhere a little different.
Didn't know it had appeared on Four Rooms but I can see why it won. The room we stayed in was small with a small bathroom but for what I paid it didn't bother me. Whilst I can't fault the cleanliness of the room, there were stains on the bathroom floor and a grouting around the shower needed looking at. Little things that would make the hotel room that little bit better.
Ate twice in the restaurant at night which was gorg. Breakfast has a choice between omelette, pancakes or full English. The bar connected is small and cosy which we liked. Not too expensive for drinks and wood recommend the welsh toffee vodka coffee- so good!! And the chocolate bag dessert if they do it as a special.
Llanwrst is a little out of the way, we couldn't get a taxi to near by Baest-y-coed on Saturday night until 9 because we hadn't pre booked one.Llandudno is about twenty mins away- definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiaisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews