We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Meadowsweet Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Meadowsweet for 3 nights and had a lovely time. Hotel in a good location for both Snowdonia and the coast. Room 3 was very comfortable with a lovely view across the meadow to the hills but a little noisey from the road, didn't bother us but might bother you if you're after total quiet. Dinner was great and the breakfast good. Staff were all friendly and helpful, we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kezymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
There are newer reviews for The Meadowsweet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My partner and I came to the Meadowsweet back in February and absolutely loved it. We felt right at home and loved our room and the location overall. The hotel is facing a huge meadow and is just lovely to wake up and walk out to in the morning. The mushroom appetiser in there restaurant is to die for! Breakfasts were delicious and the pub was so cozy and lovely. Wifi was excellent and fast throughout the place. They also had a selection of DVDs to choose from! Only downside was the TV was tiny (but we weren't there to watch TV obviously!) and some of the food wasn't that good on the menu (very slim choices for a vegetarian). We had one of the best trips here and we miss it and talk about it all the time. We will definitely stay at the Meadowsweet whenever we visit Snowdonia! Loved it :) HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Oh and not to mention we absolutely loved the bed that we even checked where the mattress was from because it was that comfortable!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed at the meadow sweet from the 11th - 15th April, room was lovely staff are great and great service. Food was excellent and of a high standard along with the breakfast was wow. The hike to the top of snowdonia was great. Location of meadow sweet excellent great work by Nelson and wife. Enquired about a booking in May fully booked speaks for its self hey, the locals all say how nice this is. Go for it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon deal and had upgraded to a deluxe room. We got room 8. Bedroom was lovely, bed being very comfortable! Didn't realise it faced the road, got a stunning view but also heard all the traffic, yes not loads but if yr a light sleeper like me...The bathroom was small but adequate but the sink wobbled and comes away from the wall..Lots of toiletries in there. Little extras in the room added to a very pleasant stay. Every member of staff we spoke to were very nice. The young girl at breakfast shone out...Great base to explore North Wales...Recommend :)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Toyah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Visited this hotel on a kgb deal after reading previous reviews and hence the title of this review. Arrived on Sunday afternoon around 4.00pm in terrible weather - it brightened up a little later!. At reception was a young man who was pleasant enough but would not describe him as particularly friendly. Unusually, in our experience, we were not shown to our room, no.4, which was up two flights of stairs, but were simply handed the key. Almost as an afterthought the receptionist did ask if we needed help with our bags but we declined. The room, which was described as deluxe (£10 extra per night), had a lovely bay window and sofa as well as a 4 poster bed, with a small en suite shower room with toilet, and was very clean with what looked like new carpet. Two complimentary small bottles of white wine, and bottles of water were laid out on the chest of drawers and tea and coffee facilities were placed by the bed. However,little things such as a large ominous damp stain on ceiling, several scuff marks on the walls which showed white through the overall green, and a detached sink plug to the sink in the shower room would not now have impressed 4 in a Bed which I understand the hotel won 2 years ago. Because my wife is coeliac we asked before booking whether this could be catered for when dining and were assured by email from the head chef that 'if we have a problem or don't like any of the dishes on the menu our chef would make something special for you.' In fairness, a separate menu of dishes from the main menu which were, or could be, gluten free was presented to us on both nights, but the promise outlined by the head chef was not followed through by whichever chef(s) were on duty at the time. Another cause of some irritation on the first night was the lack of sufficient staff to cover both the bar area and restaurant which left us waiting for a pre-meal drink for several minutes while the same person who was on reception on our arrival, endeavoured to cope with both areas. Breakfasts consisted of omelette, full cooked, or American pancake with maple syrup. Cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and fruit juice were also available.
Our meals on both nights were somewhat disappointing, my wife having to contend with a beef and ale pie minus the non gluten free crust on the first night, and a small salmon fillet on the second night, minus non gluten free sauce, and Mediterranean vegetables which rather than roasted had been tossed around in a pan with oil and served virtually uncooked. Al dente was in this instance taken to unacceptable lengths, and my wife could have made a much better job of it herself, as it is one of her signature dishes at home. My steak was large, and the dauphinoise potatoes were good, although the whole mushrooms were oozing oil. The difference in size of the two meals was marked.
I am conscious that this review is not particularly in tune with others which we have read, but we
always speak as we find and report honestly on our experiences.
Llanrwst is a good base from which to visit places such as Betws-y-Coed, Llanberis, Conwy etc. and if you like visiting old buildings try the medieval Gwydir Castle which is over the Conwy River just outside Llanrwst. It is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Notwithstanding the minor faults outlined, room 4 was most acceptable, with a sunny aspect in the af...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silversurfer5956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just back from a very competitive priced one night stay. Booked via Groupon and was attracted by the fact the Hotel had won Four in a Bed 2 years ago. Great bedroom small shower room. Excellent welcome and evening meal, breakfast whilst generous was on the cool side but apart from that would recommend staying at the Meadowsweet as the area is ideal for visiting National Trust properties/gardens and the Welsh coast. .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smarttonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Bought this on groupon for my boyfriends birthday and decided to visit somewhere a little different.
Didn't know it had appeared on Four Rooms but I can see why it won. The room we stayed in was small with a small bathroom but for what I paid it didn't bother me. Whilst I can't fault the cleanliness of the room, there were stains on the bathroom floor and a grouting around the shower needed looking at. Little things that would make the hotel room that little bit better.
Ate twice in the restaurant at night which was gorg. Breakfast has a choice between omelette, pancakes or full English. The bar connected is small and cosy which we liked. Not too expensive for drinks and wood recommend the welsh toffee vodka coffee- so good!! And the chocolate bag dessert if they do it as a special.
Llanwrst is a little out of the way, we couldn't get a taxi to near by Baest-y-coed on Saturday night until 9 because we hadn't pre booked one.Llandudno is about twenty mins away- definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgiaisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
0.2 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
199 reviews
3.4 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
755 reviews
4.0 mi away
Craig-y-Dderwen Riverside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
538 reviews
3.7 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
749 reviews
2.4 mi away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meadowsweet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meadowsweet Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanrwst LL26 0DS, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Meadowsweet Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowsweet Hotel is inside the town of Llanrwst just off the A470. It has ten lovely bedrooms and a fabulous little restaurant called Lle Hari. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Meadowsweet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst
The Meadowsweet Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing