We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better in person!”

Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better in person!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

My significant other had shown me pictures of this bridge and the ivy covered cottage next to it. I fell in love and said I HAD to see this when I got to Wales. It was more breathtaking in person! I can't wait to go back to take summer pictures of it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TopsAMtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hassocks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
982 reviews
448 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Beautiful picturesque bridge and river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

When passing we always stop to admire the view or have tea at this beautiful bridge. Great for taking pictures or paddling in the river.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Edwin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Went in the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Quirky bridge where you have to give way if a vehicle came up opposite. it was fun to reverse everytime after meeting a car suddenly in the middle!!! we went in to the river under the bridge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nagindth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Picturesque historic bridge.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

This bridge is just a beautiful piece of architecture - best viewed from thatched roof tea rooms on the far side of the river.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely Bridge - but Watch the Traffic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

This ancient bridge is probably the most photographed place in Llanrwst and deservedly so. The best view is probably from the North where you can see the Tu Hwnt i'r Bont tea rooms on the other side of the river (spectacular in the autumn when the ivy is bright red.

The only down side is that is a narrow bridge that still carries cars and buses (up to 18 tons) so if you plan walking over it you need to be careful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JMitchell56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Y Bont Fawr - Llanrwst Bridge also viewed

Llanrwst, Conwy County
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Y Bont Fawr - Llanrwst Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing