We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memory Lane”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Memory Lane”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

After 40+ years since mothers Welsh honeymoon she wanted to revisit on our tour in the area. Maenan Abbey is a charming Hotel in a beautul settng with plenty of character. The food was to a high standard, plenty of it and great value. The rest of our evening was very enjoyable and thank you to all the staff as we were made to feel very welcome.

The sumptuous Caernarfon Castle family suite has to be seen and crowned our stay. Couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JThom490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    67
    37
    32
    27
See reviews for
83
130
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

We used the hotel as a base for climbing Snowdon. Stayed in the Caernarfon Castle Suite for two nights with our two teenage sons.

+ Fantastic staff, great service.
+ Food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent quality and good value
+ Dog friendly - was able to eat dinner in the bar area without having to leave the dog upstairs (not allowed in the main dining room which is fair enough)
+ Great night's sleep - bed was very comfortable
+ Big room with space to dump your stuff etc.
+ Wii in the kids' room
+ 'wow' entrance hall
+ decent drinks choice e.g. if you're a G&T drinker they had Gordons, Bombay, Tanqueray, 10 and Rangpur.

- radiators were on 24/7 and we couldn't seem to turn them off
- slightly tired interior in places
- corridors double up as store rooms
- WIFI was ropey in the room but fine downstairs

When we go back to North Wales we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

This is a little gem of a hotel, the entrance is grand with a huge staircase that welcomes you in. The rooms are well decorated and very comfortable. Food here is of a high standard and could not be faulted. It was great to retire to the cosy lounge with a roaring fire to try a couple of their outstanding local ales. The staff could not be more friendly and approachable. Our only critism was the time it took for breakfast to arrive but when it did it was spot on.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeanF669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Following our earlier visits to the hotel, we chose to have our wedding and reception in this venue. I cannot praise David and his staff enough for their attentive, friendly yet unobtrusive service, for the high standards of the cuisine, and for his hotline to the weatherman which resulted in the sun coming out just as the registrar finished the ceremony. Yes, it was that good, and every one of our guests were highly complimentary about the whole day. Such was the quality of service, it is almost believable that David did, in fact, have some divine intervention to organise the weather. However, it would have been just as enjoyable and smooth an operation without the sun. It is with some embarrasment I admit to this being wedding number three, and whilst the previous two were memorable, this one really was excellent, and those guests who booked in to stay were just as enthusiastic in their praise of the staff, the venue, and the service. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for any occasion, and I would defy anybody to find another venue within the North Wales and North West of England capable of being this good, and offering unbeatable value for money. They might be marginally better, but would be far more expensive, and match the price, but offer less in service and quality. Even the proprietor, who chauffeured my bride to the ceremony in his classic Rolls Royce, was engaging, charming, and obviously, with David the manager, sets the very high standards this hotel achieves.

Room Tip: Just book, it is all, in Lloyds Shipping List parlance, A1++.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, staff very friendly and helpful, room very clean. Only gripe is with the shower not being as clean or as big as expected and the standard of service at breakfast was not as attentive as was at dinner. Dinner was exceptional and we would definitely stay and eat there again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 783Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Pros:
Large rooms with reasonably comfortable beds.
Nice restaurant with tasty food and good value all inclusive menu.
Resident's lounge/bar with traditional open fireplace.
Great breakfast with a number of cooked options - included in the room rate.
Very pleasant and friendly staff who were eager to help.

Cons:
Our room had an enormous Jacuzzi bath which, putting aside any environmental concerns, was a bit of a white elephant as the water pressure was so low (despite the non-stop rain outside) that it would have taken most of the night to fill it.

Free wi-fi but impossible to get a connection. Also no mobile phone signal – my husband had to drive several miles along the road to make a phone call.

Nice views over the Welsh hills but rather ugly caravan park surrounding hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the Jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmfcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Great looking place from the photos, but don't be deceived. Went for a two day break with another couple for some light walking in the area. On arrival there was only one young staff member trying to look after the reception, bar, room issues, etc etc. Our friends had a room with non working TV, shower and lumpy bed with springs felt through the bed surface. Our twin room (booked and confirmed a double, but never mind!) was old, shabby and unclean with no soap or toiletries.
Dinner was cheap and cheap quality for a 3* hotel, but edible. Ate out the second night.!
Glad the weather was good and we spent most of the time out.
On the plus side the staff were very friendly and as helpful as they could be given their work load. Shame, its a great location, apart from the mobile home park view to one side and rear. Probably great for dog owners, but won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitsi511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.4 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Property: Maenan Abbey Hotel
Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing