We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Home From Home”
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Somerset
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Home From Home”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Recently my father died in a fire at his bungalow in Llanrwst. Having nowhere to stay, I contacted the Maenan Abbey Hotel and my wife and I stayed there for a few days while we tried to sort things out. The welcome which greeted us could not have been equalled anywhere and we received personal and very considerate attention from the Manager, David, who went to extraordinary lengths to ensure we the very best service was put at our disposal to meet our needs at this very traumatic time. The hotel was delightful, full of history and had the most beautiful grounds. The meals, particularly evening dinner, were excellent, with a very full and varied menu. We couldn't fault a single member of staff and felt that they really were delighted to see us. Two weeks later we returned to the hotel for a second stay with our daughters and their families to attend the funeral and once again our stay was made perfect - a nice little touch being David's offer of one of the four-poster bedrooms. Even my oldest daughter's dog was catered for, removing the worry of what to do with her while we were at the funeral on a boiling hot day. What a place! We will definitely be going back there to stay in the future and I can't recommend the hotel enough.

David Hodges

Room Tip: Go for a four-poster room, if you can. Roomy and very comfortable. But our first stay in an ordinary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somersetboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    67
    38
    32
    29
See reviews for
84
132
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llansanffraid Glan Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

The reason for our stay , a wedding just a mile up the road. We arrived at the hotel and trotted up to reception where it quickly became apparent that they had cocked up our room. We thought of sitting down on the reception settees but thought best of it ( really need a clean)!!! The only other chair was occupied by a cat. W e waited and waited and then a dog appeared from upstairs, again needed a clean! So eventually the alleged manager arrived who could not assist with our room cock up so we were shown the alternatives, small bed, bright room, painted furniture in an attempt I guess to be boutique style - you failed. The alternative a dark room with a teeny weeny shower. We had to accept the room thinking we had no alternative. We did not unpack the car thankfully we went for a ride and found a clean hotel with lovely staff and a great restaurant ( the quay at deganwy ). The was no attempt by the manager to compensate for his cock up and frankly as the dying flowers in the reception there was no hope of saving the situation. I would never recoemmend this hotel and I would certainly advise anyone to look further afield. Great shame but honestly true.

Room Tip: Go to the Quay at Deganwy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We used the hotel as a base to travel into Conway,Betws-y-coed and Snowdonia and could reach all within a short drive by car. The hotel provided a friendly and helpful service and the food was excellent with delicate starters, tasty main courses and superb deserts that tasted as good as they looked. Enjoyed a comfortable bed with sheets and pillows into which you melted asleep. I was on the top floor which had a skylight and which introduced a lot of light in the early June morning but then I noticed the internal blind you need to close up in the evening. The hotel is charming complete with entrance staircase and balcony and the whole house and gardens are picturesque. We were lucky with the sunshine and could relax after our travels with a cool drink on the huge lawns and admire the flowers and trees.

Room Tip: My room was good value but I saw some of the slightly more expensive rooms and would recommend payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for one night with my wife to celebrate our anniversary .
Positives the staff all seemed friendly .
Negatives were there just didn't seem like enough staff . Service in the restaurant was extremely slow for what seemed like a quiet period only counted 5 other couples/families in the whole hotel . The food was ok nothing special the chocolate sauce on my pudding had been put on hours before and set in the fridge it was basically moulded onto the plate . Portions were also far to small and was presented on big plates which on closer inspection made it all look a bit daft . Service was very disjointed the young lad who was in charge seemed all over the place he was also in charge of reception and the bar so no wonder .
After we decided to retire to our room I tried to watch the Tele but no channel seemed to work after playing about with the aerial lead to try and get a signal I decided to phone reception to see if they could sort it out . The bloke who was working the bar answered the phone I told him the problem and he said he would speak to the duty manager . Now I recall from earlier hearing the duty manager say he was clocking off at 8 pm . Anyway the guy behind the bar quickly called me back and said he had spoke to the manager and there was nothing they could do it was as he quoted "Atmospheric" and it was down to the location . What a load of rubbish it's just not good enough especially when your paying a high price for the room you at least expect the TV to work .
Breakfast was just a disaster what should have taken 20 mins nearly took over an hour due to the slow service . Any slower and they would have been going in reverse . Paid the bill with the lad who was at the time working in reception , bar , restaurant , housekeeping and potwash heck he was probably the chef as well . We won't be returning. My advice is change your manager and employ more staff .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dood29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torbay
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

What a fantastic meal a large group of my Family experienced at this high class hotel.
Following on from a Family funeral a table had been booked for a large group in advance. There was no problem adding an extra 4 to this number and we were honoured to have the rear lounge bar reserved entirely for our group.
The food in the main dining hall was just amazing! Presentation could not have been higher - the staff were all first class & fully attentive to our two tables throughout.
Every course was perfectly set out on the plates - the sweets almost looked too good to eat.

After what had been a somewhat emotional day for us all .. the atmosphere and ambiance of this first class venue could not have brought the day to a close in any better way.

A perfect place to unwind.

Room Tip: We did not stay here - but looking at the brochure it is very tempting to return one day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One_Devonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

After 40+ years since mothers Welsh honeymoon she wanted to revisit on our tour in the area. Maenan Abbey is a charming Hotel in a beautul settng with plenty of character. The food was to a high standard, plenty of it and great value. The rest of our evening was very enjoyable and thank you to all the staff as we were made to feel very welcome.

The sumptuous Caernarfon Castle family suite has to be seen and crowned our stay. Couldn't have asked for more. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JThom490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We used the hotel as a base for climbing Snowdon. Stayed in the Caernarfon Castle Suite for two nights with our two teenage sons.

+ Fantastic staff, great service.
+ Food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent quality and good value
+ Dog friendly - was able to eat dinner in the bar area without having to leave the dog upstairs (not allowed in the main dining room which is fair enough)
+ Great night's sleep - bed was very comfortable
+ Big room with space to dump your stuff etc.
+ Wii in the kids' room
+ 'wow' entrance hall
+ decent drinks choice e.g. if you're a G&T drinker they had Gordons, Bombay, Tanqueray, 10 and Rangpur.

- radiators were on 24/7 and we couldn't seem to turn them off
- slightly tired interior in places
- corridors double up as store rooms
- WIFI was ropey in the room but fine downstairs

When we go back to North Wales we'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GM12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.4 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
6.3 mi away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Property: Maenan Abbey Hotel
Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing