We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dog friendly hotel”
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for two nights with our two large Spinones and they were made to feel as welcome as we did. David the manager was so helpful and was very attentive. The food was great with a good choice both breakfast and evening meal. Will definitely visit again.

Only complaint was it was very warm in the hotel and room.

Room Tip: Room 6 was roomy, four poster bed and jacuzzi, we didn't use the jacuzzi but would have been goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HORWICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just stayed one night (should have been two but luckily we have had to rush back to Birmingham at short notice) in Room 5. I can't speak for other rooms, but avoid this one at all costs. The bathroom stinks of damp or something equally unpleasant. The staff seem bemused and unorganised. We also had two really small (about hand towel size) towels between me and my wife, which is a) two towels too little and b) completely inadequate sizes.

The service at breakfast this morning was utterly laughable. What should have took 20 minutes took almost 45 minutes because the woman taking the orders regularly didn't bother to take them, when she did, she didn't take them in the order people had arrived - just in the order of who shouted the loudest due to waiting soooo long. They didn't refill the orange juice until people complained. They didn't bother to ask how you wanted your eggs when they took the order - they had to keep coming back out of the kitchen to ask. No ketchup or other sauces were offered, no refills on the tea or coffee. All in all just really bad, slow, unorganised service. And there were only 7 tables with people on them.

They are pet friendly which is a big plus, and the staff are nice - it's just that for the price, it's not worth the rate. It needs a lot of TLC - with it, it could be a fantastic hotel. But right now, it needs more staff, better organisation, and some serious cleaning.

If the staff weren't so friendly and it wasn't a pet friendly hotel, it would have been a 1 star from me. Real shame.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 5 - or at least ask them if you can check the room before agreeing to take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhattBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were overjoyed by our stay at this hotel nd if just a few details were picked up on this would have been given an outstanding rating. The abbey is very impressive both inside d out. Our room (10) was gorgeous. Our family's room (14) was nice but they encountered a problem with the bed which was broken. There was some spare furniture, sheets, etc left in corridors which let the hotel down as it felt there was no attention to detail, which is odd when detail is given t room decoration, including a rise on the toilet roll.
We enjoyed dinner at the hotel which was reasonably priced and delicious. The dining room was beautiful BT let down by holes on the extravagant seat covers.
The hotel is home to some pets so be aware if you not like cats and dogs- this didn't bother us as we love them.
Some of the rooms are smoking rooms, which is convenient for those who smoke but I felt could affect the rooms in terms of smell. However, I have to say that although our was a smoking room I couldn't smell smoke.
Thank you for our stay I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The Caernafon room (which we got. Glimpse of) was stunning - beautiful king bed with a room off for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We are a middle aged couple having a four night break to explore Snowdonia and North Wales. First impressions were very good. The location and exterior is impressive and the reception was very nice with the stair case running up the middle and splitting off to both sides of the landing. We stayed in Room 1 as it was non smoking, again it was nice on first impression BUT once unpacked and had a look round it had a lot of short comings, thick dust behind the bed, bed smelt stale, generally dusty, stool was ready to fall apart, soft furnishings losing trim ect ect, toilet didn't flush properly, bath taps were wrongly marked cold was hot and hot was cold and the tile grout was mouldy around bath. We both thought that the staffing levels was low especially at breakfast there was only 2 including the cook even when most rooms were occupied. Food was fair to good but after one evening meal there we ate out for the rest of our stay. We both thought the rate for room 1 was over priced for the standard of accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue and Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Three of us stayed in the family room in the attic for one night. We were having pre dinner drinks in the residence bar when a waitress came to take us and our drinks to our table. She accidentally spilled a glass of red wine over the clothes of the two ladies (all over). We had to enter the dinning room with both women covered in red wine until the manager came to our table. After a conversation the ladies left the table to change into their day clothes worn all day and the manager took the stained clothes to wash. During the evening he interrupted our meal several times to show us the progress in cleaning the clothes causing considerable embarrassment. He did succeed in removing the stains. We did not want to add to the embarrassment at the time and therefore made no demands. At the bar after the meal the manager was present and we had conversation with him, but he failed to even offer us a drink 'on the hotel'.
On our return home I emailed the hotel to express my disappointment and request some recompense for our stress and embarrassment but have not even received a reply!!
The hotel looks great outside, particularly at night. Inside it is tired and in need of refurbishment. The carpets in our room appeared to be dirty and stained, urine stains around the toilet. The shower was awful - took ages to get warm water and barely a dribble.
Would we stay there again - absolutely not.

Room Tip: To choose a good room - stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronmonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The first impression of turning in to this hotel is stunning, it has a real wow factor. First impression of the reception is a lovely elegant staircase and a real period charm. First impression of our room was very nice. The slight problem I have with giving a five star rating is that behind these first impressions you can't get away from a feeling that some things aren't quite right. Firstly the room was a suite for 3 people. The second bedroom, however, was just a box room with no natural light or ventilation and it had the en-suite attached to it so we all had to travel through the box room to use the bathroom. Also being up in the rafters ( with no lift ) there was a lot of odd shaped and low structures and ceilings to contend with. While everyone working in the hotel were friendly and attended to any needs you had it felt that this was done very much with a mind to watching the pennies. Due to the hot weather I asked for a fan for each of the two rooms but could only be provided with one, toast of a morning came only half a rack at a time, limited supplies of juice seemed to be provided with breakfast. I just felt a bit like Oliver always asking for more. It also seemed that there was a lack of staff. I lost count of how many different jobs I saw the guy running the place doing from sorting the internet to watering the gardens to waiting on tables. The latter is why unusually i'm letting my heart rule my head. Because yes there were issues with the place, yes most of the high light fittings had cobwebs, yes ( not being an animal lover ) there was a cat everywhere (including the dining room) but some how I loved the building and it's ambience so much that they kind of added to the character. This alone may have led me to give 4 stars but i'm afraid the guy running it worked so hard and remained so friendly and so cheerful throughout our stay that I feel i would be letting his dedication down by not going completely with my heart and saying that I got 5 stars of enjoyment from the place despite some areas for improvement.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We look back on our stay with a certain fondness because all of the staff were so nice to us. However, they seem to be running to stand still. On our arrival there was no-one at reception. After striking the traditional bell and still no response, the untended mail, room keys on the counter and topsy-turvy appearance reminded us of tv reality series that now started to worry us. Eventually, we got to our room which was quite dark and with small windows which didn't allow us much fresh air during what was a very warm period. Nevertheless, it was clean, spacious and comfortable. We dined on our first night and, for the cost, it was OK. However, not having an alternative to the set meals, such as bar snacks, was disappointing. Breakfasts were fine with fresh fruit and well cooked hot options (good portions strangely served on small plates). Then they lost our key for a day and the bell at reception, by that time, had given up. Virtually no wi-fi needs sorting. The location is good for visiting Snowdonia but the stay was epitomised by not being able to get an online connection to pay by credit card. The term 'Fawlty' was used by another guest . . .

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GridSystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
203 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
788 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
786 reviews
5.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Conwy
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £84 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing