We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent 3 days at this hotel for our Silver Wedding Anniversary. On arrival the approach to the hotel was stunning, gardens well kept, having booked room 3, we were also given the choice of room 6 by David (manager). Throughout our stay the service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. All staff were very helpful and willing to tend to anything we needed. The room and food at Maenan Abbey were beyond our expectations. Special thank you for the Swans and Wedding cake !!!. recommend Maenan Abbey to anyone.

Room Tip: pick room 3 four poster bed or room 6 bridal room (super)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for four nights. Very animal friendly. The price for the stay was good value. The hotel from the outside was what you would expect for a listed building of this age.
It was clean and the gardening staff hard at work.
Once we stepped inside you are faced with a fairly grand staircase. The hotel foyer was large and uncluttered .
The staff were very friendly and welcoming. nothing was too much trouble. the room we had was spacious and fresh.. The room was decorated in a manor suitable for the period of the hotel . The bed was large and very comfortable. Spare pillows and blankets available in the wardrobes. The on-suite bathroom was clean with a walk in shower cubicle (not over a bath)
The bar and lounge area were comfortable and we spent many evenings in conversation with other guests and the manager David, who took great pride in the hotel and his staff
The breakfast was filling, hot and of a very good standard as were the evening meals
This is a hotel that I and the other guests will be returning to in the future.
The only negative thing we found about the hotel were the reviews written by people who wanted to have a go at the hotel for some personal reason or simply had nothing better to do than whinge about a broken light bulb for example. Get a life, enjoy your holiday and the quiet countryside.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank david4489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Upon the reviews we read and the well taken marketing pictures we decided to stay for 3 nights as the hotel allowed dogs.
We do stay in many hotels, cottages & of all standards and this seemed to fit our needs.
Our £255.00 for 3 nights seemed on paper to be on par with our usual costs but on reflection this was not good value.
The hotel from the outside was in need of a clean up party, gardiner & general bod to make the overall look less messy..
I took the dogs for a stroll around the grounds to be confronted with overflowing sewage around the manhole at the back of the hotel!!
Once we stepped inside the general feeling was tired and cluttered and cleaning was obviously not on the agenda!
The welcome staff were nice and showed us to our room. The smell of drains was very apparent, hence why the windows were open no doubt.. The room was grubby but nothing a good clean and a fresh paint wouldn't cure. Bathroom needed slightly more attention!
The continual mess and clutter that was presented in every area of the hotel was horrible and not necessary.
The breakfast was acceptable albeit slightly greasy..
The staff did their best with what they had to work with.
We never leave feedback on any of our other stays, but felt we had to as others need to know..
We just hope the owner does justice to the hotel and staff and puts some effort back in!
Sad!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baters65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

My Husband and I would like to say a huge Thank You to Everyone at The Maenan for making our Wedding Day so perfect. The food was amazing and everyone who joined us on our special day, complimented the Staff, Chef, and the Manager. The hotel is beautiful and would recommend to anyone. Also a big thanks to the owner for our special car ride! Xx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoCymraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for two nights with our two large Spinones and they were made to feel as welcome as we did. David the manager was so helpful and was very attentive. The food was great with a good choice both breakfast and evening meal. Will definitely visit again.

Only complaint was it was very warm in the hotel and room.

Room Tip: Room 6 was roomy, four poster bed and jacuzzi, we didn't use the jacuzzi but would have been goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HORWICH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just stayed one night (should have been two but luckily we have had to rush back to Birmingham at short notice) in Room 5. I can't speak for other rooms, but avoid this one at all costs. The bathroom stinks of damp or something equally unpleasant. The staff seem bemused and unorganised. We also had two really small (about hand towel size) towels between me and my wife, which is a) two towels too little and b) completely inadequate sizes.

The service at breakfast this morning was utterly laughable. What should have took 20 minutes took almost 45 minutes because the woman taking the orders regularly didn't bother to take them, when she did, she didn't take them in the order people had arrived - just in the order of who shouted the loudest due to waiting soooo long. They didn't refill the orange juice until people complained. They didn't bother to ask how you wanted your eggs when they took the order - they had to keep coming back out of the kitchen to ask. No ketchup or other sauces were offered, no refills on the tea or coffee. All in all just really bad, slow, unorganised service. And there were only 7 tables with people on them.

They are pet friendly which is a big plus, and the staff are nice - it's just that for the price, it's not worth the rate. It needs a lot of TLC - with it, it could be a fantastic hotel. But right now, it needs more staff, better organisation, and some serious cleaning.

If the staff weren't so friendly and it wasn't a pet friendly hotel, it would have been a 1 star from me. Real shame.

Room Tip: Do not choose Room 5 - or at least ask them if you can check the room before agreeing to take it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhattBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We were overjoyed by our stay at this hotel nd if just a few details were picked up on this would have been given an outstanding rating. The abbey is very impressive both inside d out. Our room (10) was gorgeous. Our family's room (14) was nice but they encountered a problem with the bed which was broken. There was some spare furniture, sheets, etc left in corridors which let the hotel down as it felt there was no attention to detail, which is odd when detail is given t room decoration, including a rise on the toilet roll.
We enjoyed dinner at the hotel which was reasonably priced and delicious. The dining room was beautiful BT let down by holes on the extravagant seat covers.
The hotel is home to some pets so be aware if you not like cats and dogs- this didn't bother us as we love them.
Some of the rooms are smoking rooms, which is convenient for those who smoke but I felt could affect the rooms in terms of smell. However, I have to say that although our was a smoking room I couldn't smell smoke.
Thank you for our stay I would definitely return.

Room Tip: The Caernafon room (which we got. Glimpse of) was stunning - beautiful king bed with a room off for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
203 reviews
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
787 reviews
5.8 mi away
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
Glan Aber Hotel & Bunkhouse
#7 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
784 reviews
5.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
546 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £84 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing