We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the Doctor ordered”
Review of Maenan Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My Wife and I have just had the most relaxing 5 days we could only wish for but due to David and his wonderful staff they made our stay a very relaxing and enjoyable rest. The service was first class as was the cuisine with a fantastic menu served by very cheerful staff who couldn't do enough for us, the rooms are clean ,well maintained and decorated to a good standard all in all a great place to stay in such lovely surroundings. Many thanks to everyone involved for leaving us so very well fed and rested we will return hopefuuly sometime in the future,well done to all staff and of course David.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 but did look at other rooms which were all of similar quality, only problem at t...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Maenan Abbey Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from a Fantastic weekend at this Amazing hotel.
My husband and I went for a relaxing Valentines weekend and that is exactly what we got.
The rooms are comfortable and extremely clean, beds comfy (too comfy!) and the food is out of this world.
The manger David and his team at the hotel made it, with the extra touches on Valentines evening especially, candles on all the tables an open fire,and Canapes handed out...nothing was to much trouble and with it being a very wet and blustery weekend here was the place to be nestling in the heart of the beautiful North Wales countryside.
Than you all for an Amazingggg stay see you soon

Room Tip: A good tip is look out for the special offers the hotel has on offer stay four nights pay for two
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The Hotel is in a beautiful area and is a beautiful hotel the three course meal we had in the evening was exceptional. We would stay again, BUT staffing would have to improve in certain ways, for example, I went to reception at 18.00 approx and saw the manager to say we had NO hot water for a bath. He told me it would be rectified. Our meal was booked for 20.00, so at 19.15 we decided to get ready in cold water in the sink !! Hot water came back on about 19.40. But not one of the staff or the manager came to explain anything or to apologise for delay. Other than that the staff were very good and do a good job in general.We all know problems can happen but a call or explaination can make all the difference. So I would not be put off going again.

Room Tip: Ask when booking
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virgil1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked for a meal only, food was piping hot and was very good, as was the service. Loved the piano playing in the corner of the dining room.The grounds of the Abbey are lovely, we enjoyed our visit there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunSearcher225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

just returned from a lovely stay at the "Abbey". Couldn't beat the value of the winter special offer, the price for the quality was superb. Bedroom warm and comfortable, everything clean. Cosy communal areas. Staff friendly, nice relaxed atmosphere. Had dinner one night which was very nice, plain cooking, lots of veg, good reasonably priced wine list. A big thank you to Dave the manager for making us and our dog Daisy feel so welcome. If you want a dog friendly hotel this is for you :) It's a good 3 star hotel.
Location is practical for exploring the area.
If you like Indian food the Asha in Llanwrst is good. the Pen Y Bont pub in Llanwrst is small and cosy with a roaring fire and friendly customers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janetdavies9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Me and my husband went for a romantic break and had such a lovely time the manager David was so lovely and made our stay enjoyable and the staff were really helpfull we will defo go back soon and the food was amazing :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeMaycock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Went to maenan abbey hotel with hubby for new years eve, had a lovely time there. The food was lovely, & so were the staff. Unfortunately i think that they were rather short staffed at the time. The d.j. did not turn up. so the manager david had t o do all the work,& put the music on, which he was very good at. We had fireworks on the patio at 12.pm, & i beleive at about 1.30 am, bacon butties were served, i am afraid that hubby & i were in bed by then.!! The bed was lovely & comfortable, the room was nice, the only bugbear was that we had the room with the leaking roof.!! but we were offered another though, we did decline it though, because it was a smaller room, & on the next floor up.!! So we just put the waste bin under the drip & it was not too bad.!! We did have a lovely cooked breakfast the next day though.! We stayed there last year with friends, & hope to go back again next new year.! I must add we are locals, & we do not have to travel far.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123sylvia19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanrwst
2.6 mi away
The Eagles Hotel
The Eagles Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llanrwst
199 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Meadowsweet Hotel
The Meadowsweet Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llanrwst
327 reviews
5.2 mi away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
756 reviews
6.1 mi away
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
750 reviews
7.4 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maenan Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maenan Abbey Hotel

Address: Maenan LLanrwst, Llanrwst LL26 0UL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Conwy County > Llanrwst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Llanrwst
Price Range: £92 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maenan Abbey Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maenan Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maenan Abbey Llanrwst
Maenan Abbey Hotel Llanrwst, Wales - North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing