We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food”
Review of The Eagles Hotel

The Eagles Hotel
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Llanrwst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Exceptional food! I recommend the homemade cottage pie and the cheesecake for dessert! Great atmosphere, hotel, owners and location.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherinemaddocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    23
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Much improved!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having been a visitor, at least annually for the last 45 years, we'd tended to avoid the eagles which had become increasingly run down. The new owners have done a great job. Fresh feel, nice atmosphere and good food. Great friendly service. If anything, for us, the portions were too big. Puddings clearly home made, always a good sign. We would recommend, and would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Siansteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent carvery”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

With my husband originally being from the town, we got to hear that there were new owners and some changes to the hotel. We heard good things about the food and decided to have a family get together there for a Sunday carvery. There were 13 of us, including 3 small children. Everything about it was excellent with the attentive service and the high quality of the food in particular. The choice of meats and vegetables was very good. I feel it is quite pricey for a carvery but the quality of the food and service just about justifies the price tag.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Phoenix-like resurgence”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

Very glad to see the work being put in by the new owners to rescue this prominent hotel after a period of decrepitude and closure. We wish them every success. Judging from what's been done already they're setting a high standard. There's still much to do inside and out but we enjoyed spring sunshine on the terrace with views of the old bridge and a decent meal in the upgraded restaurant. Oh - and the local Llandogget bitter is worth the trip too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank meirionydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“MOTHERS DAY TREAT”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Being locals we have dined at the Eagles Hotel & it has been our local watering hole for many years & we were very sad to see the departure of the previous owners Alan & Roz, an end of an era.
However, the Hotel has been taken over by wonderful hosts Rupert & Rhonda & they have really transformed the Hotel & the Sunday cavery meals are a phenomenal success.
Just what was needed to give the Hotel a boost.
Booking is essential as the carvery is very popular & excellent value for money

My husband & I treated our Mother's to a Mother's Day meal 30/3/14 & we were not dissappointed.
The food was delicious & plentiful, The Waiting-on Staff are very friendly & attentitive, a credit to the Hotel.
Albi & his team are excellent chefs & work very hard to provide an excellent meal. Well done!!
The Waiting-on Staff are very friendly & attentitive, a credit to the Hotel.

The amazing young Harpist strumming her soothing tunes in the background is an amazing touch, giving a lovely relaxing ambience,she is incredible

Keep up the good work Rupert & Rhonda you are all doing a great job at the Eagles & wish you every success

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank DELAWYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Eagles Hotel also viewed

Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 
Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 
Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 

Been to The Eagles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing