We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow”
Review of The Old Tannery - CLOSED

The Old Tannery
Cuisines: Welsh
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Slow”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Visited on a quiet Saturday, and sat outside on a pleasant deck. A very likeable waiter, nice starters (chicken wings and goat's cheese parcel), great coffee, but bland burgers and we waited an inexplicable age - I think an hour or so - for our main courses. A shame.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank drbenmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Do make sure you have their contact details as it is a bit tricky to find, but it is worth the search. Good selection of dishes and well presented by friendly and helpful staff. The decor in the restaurant is nice and adds to the experience and enjoyed the food and overall experience. Make sure you book as very popular.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Homely”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

Spur of the moment luncheon, so glad we went, excellent service exquisite food to die for, would highly recommend this restaurant.


Aldean Channer/ Adele Clarke (Channer)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank aldean c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

While exploring the Conwy Valley, we stopped here for lunch. The ambience was great (the building is interesting and historic), the setting on the Conwy River is lovely and the food was delicious. The host welcomed us as soon as we arrived, gave us a nice table and a big pitcher of water, and we were served promptly. Although not on the menu (which had many delicious options), they were able to provide one of us with a lamb dish that he especially wanted and I had a wonderful grilled vegetable sandwich. I don't remember prices, but it seemed reasonable at the time. I would definitely return. With the exception of our hotel in Betws-y-Coed (the Craig-y-Dderwen), it was far better than any restaurant we tried in that more tourist-oriented town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“We've been back again”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Yes it was a lovely July evening so we booked a table.
As it was so pleasant we sat on the extensive veranda to have our meal - and in the still of the evening we could hear the river flowing past and the trill of the housemartins overhead, which all added to the ambience.
The food and service from Dougie and his team was excellent as it was on our last visit, so attentive to your needs and enjoyment.
Talking to Dougie about my favourite subject "beers" he informed us that he has a good selection of bottled local beers in the cooler - ask the waiters if you visit as it is not readily apparent that they have them - so we sampled a couple, which rounded the evening off nicely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rasbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Tannery also viewed

Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 
Llanrwst, Conwy County
Llanrwst, Conwy County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing