We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Richmond Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Richmond
East Molesey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Last night we stayed at the RHH, fantastic location and an easy walk in to Richmond. The room was spotless with a small double bed, although it was a very very small room. Also our 'outstanding view' was the car park and backs of other houses. I think the price you pay is definitely for the location and for a similar price you could stay in a bigger hotel.
We used the 'spa' facilities this morning, the pool was packed, the jacuzzi doesn't work and is also full of grit/sand on the floor & the sauna and steam room where average.
I'm unsure if we will return to the hotel.
Very friendly front of house staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    427
    266
    127
    68
See reviews for
250
575
55
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed here mid June 2012 and had an absolutely amazing weekend! The staff were friendly and very attentive.
We arrived Saturday afternoon and was pleased to find out that we could check in early as our room was ready. There was a slight queue but the reception staff were very apologetic for any inconvenience and the wait. Once checked in we were shown to our room which was wonderfully clean and extremely well presented. The bed was amazingly comfortable! I did not want to get up!
Once we checked in we went off in to central london using the tube which was about a mile from the hotel but a very simple pleasant walk.
We came back for our three course dinner and were offered a choice of tables, we were offered drinks within a minute of being seated and was provided with all of the menus to choose from. The food was to die for, excellently presented and delicious! I can not fault the chef!
The next morning we checked out early and kindly they held our bags throughout the day so we were free to explore London suitcase free! The breakfast had an excellent choice from cereal, fruit and yoghurt to full English breakfast!
Its safe to say that I would definitely recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank x_pumpkinpie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Good quality hotel with fantastic views looking at the river thames and richmond park.

Room Tip: when you book ask for the rooms in the front of the hotel as they are larger and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjorndalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

Stayed here in a small group for a wedding in May. On check-in none of our bookings were to be found. One suite especially reserved for the bride and groom over 6 months previously had been allocated to another couple to the distress of my daughter-in-law to be. The staff did their best and waived all charges for the smaller suite she was given but this was not a good start. Rooms varied greatly although we all paid the same rate. My room was very small and I really think a 4ft 6inch as a standard double is small for a hotel of this class (I overheard another customer expressing the same opinion). Staff were good but they shouldn't have to compensate for such basic problems with the booking system. Disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

I arranged to meet up with an old friend in Richmond in June this year. We were looking for a two night stay including a SPA package. The Richmond Hill Hotel seemed to fit the bill perfectly. We booked a Junior Suite which was lovely. It had two bedrooms and shared a bathroom. We had no complaints about the room, the hotel or the food. HOWEVER.... we had major complaints about the so called SPA. It is not a SPA. At best it is a leisure centre. It is located in the car park behind the hotel and is actually owned by the next door hotel, The Richmond Gate. The pool is used for children's swimming lessons most of the day resulting in a decibel level which is not conducive to relaxation. Several of the bed chairs around the pool were broken and all had badly stained cushions. The whole place felt unclean. The only saving grace was the treatment which we had in the upstairs balcony treatment rooms which were good. The hotel is in a great position for visiting Richmond, the reception staff were very friendly but do take my advice and do not believe the description of the SPA it is blatantly untrue.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Atilla-the-Hen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Rooms are lovely if small, quaint labyrinth to move around but staff are surly and in attentive

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltachange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

It's a shame that tripadvisor don't have a 3.5 star option. This hotel is better than 'average', but falls a little below 'very good'.

We booked a weekend romantic getaway package which included full breakfast for both mornings, a 3 course evening meal on one of the evenings, and use of the leisure club facilities. This was £259 all in, which was a competitive price and included an upgrade to a 'superior double room'.

The room, though classed as superior, was very small. However, it was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, and it did have a balcony. Unfortunately, this overlooked the kitchen fans at the back of the hotel, and the windows were not double glazed, so a constant, although not too obtrusive, gentle hum was audible in the room.

While the hum didn't prevent us sleeping, there were *two* weddings going on on the Sunday, both of which had a late night wedding disco. These both finished around quarter past midnight, which was a bit of an annoyance. For a Sunday night wedding, an 11 pm finished would have been a bit more reasonable.

However, the location of this hotel is perfect, you are a short walk from Richmond park and the town centre. The restaurant was really first class, we ate there both evenings. Breakfast was great, the self-service buffet was of good quality and had plenty of options. The staff were efficient and friendly. As for the leisure facilities, the spa pool is *huge*, the biggest jacuzzi you've ever been in! And the swimming pool was excellent.

Overall, this was a good value package which we would recommend. If booking again, we'd probably try to avoid a weekend where weddings were happening, and try to get a room not over the kitchens. I also think the hotel should probably invest in double glazing for all the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Richmond hotels
0.1 mi away
Richmond Gate Hotel
Richmond Gate Hotel
#4 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Petersham Hotel
The Petersham Hotel
#5 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Coach and Horses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel
0.4 mi away
Bingham
Bingham
#6 of 12 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kew Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 144-150 Richmond Hill, Richmond TW10 6RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Richmond
#4 Family Hotel in Richmond
#6 Business Hotel in Richmond
#6 Romantic Hotel in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming town of Richmond, Surrey, and only seven miles from Central London, London’s West End and Heathrow Airport, Richmond Hill Hotel is a 4 star hotel that features accommodation, restaurant, meeting and event rooms and a fabulous leisure centre. The hotel is near Richmond Station which is on the District line and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing